BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1978 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

45th edition: Sunday, August 27, 1978
Adenau (Nürburgring), Germany

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1979 edition | 1977 edition |

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

111 riders started, 31 classified finishers.
12 laps of 22.81 km totalling 274.8 km. Winner's average speed: 36.33 km/hr

Gerrie Knetemann

Gerrie Knetemann

Complete Results:

  1. Gerrie Knetemann (Netherlands) 7hr 32min 4sec
  2. Francesco Moser (Italy) s.t.
  3. Jorgen Marcussen (Denmark) @ 20sec
  4. Giuseppe Saronni (Italy) @ 28sec
  5. Bernard Hinault (France) s.t.
  6. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  7. Valerio Lualdi (Italy) @ 39sec
  8. Herman van Springel (Belgium) @ 47sec
  9. André Dierickx (Belgium) @ 50sec
  10. Roger de Vlaeminck (Belgium) s.t.
  11. Ferdi Van den Haute (Netherlands) s.t.
  12. Klaus-Peter Thaler (Germany) s.t.
  13. Jan Raas (Netherlands) s.t.
  14. Dietrich Thurau (Germany) @ 52sec
  15. Josef Fuchs (Switzerland) @ 1min 59sec
  16. Giambattista Baronchelli (Italy) s.t.
  17. Giovanni Battaglin (Italy) s.t.
  18. Claudio Bortolotto (Italy) s.t.
  19. Mario Beccia (Italy) s.t.
  20. Pierino Gavazzi (Italy) @ 3min 32sec
  21. Walter Riccomi (Italy) s.t.
  22. Walter Godefroot (Belgium) @ 3min 35sec
  23. Gody Schmutz (Switzerland) @ 4min 19sec
  24. André Chalmel (France) s.t.
  25. Johan de Muynck (Belgium) s.t.
  26. Johan Van der Velde (Netherlands) s.t.
  27. Jean-René Bernaudeau (France) s.t.
  28. Pedro Torres (Spain) @ 7min 54sec
  29. Roger Legeay (France) @ 20min 26sec
  30. Fridolin Keller (Switzerland) s.t.
  31. Jurgen Kraft (Germany) s.t.