BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1975 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

42nd edition: Sunday, August 31, 1975
Yvoir, Belgium

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1976 edition | 1974 edition |

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

79 riders started, 28 classified finishers.
20 laps of 13.3 km totalling 266 km. Winner's average speed: 39.97 km/hr

Hennie Kuiper

Hennie Kuiper winning solo in Yvoir. Only Kuiper, Ercole Baldini and Paolo Bettini have won both the Olympic road race and the world professional road race.

Complete Results:

The 1975 world's course went over a 3-kilometer climb 21 times!

Winner Hennie Kuiper fnished solo, 17 seconds ahead of the first chase group. And look who he held off! A chasing group with Roger de Vlaeminck, Joop Zoetemelk, Eddy Merckx, Francesco Moser and a couple of other near-immortals. Kuiper was a worthy owner of the Rainbow jersey that year.

  1. Hennie Kuiper (Netherlands) 6hr 39min 19sec
  2. Roger de Vlaeminck (Belgium) @ 17sec
  3. Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (France) s.t.
  4. Pedro Torres (Spain) s.t.
  5. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  6. Bernard Thévenet (France) s.t.
  7. Régis Ovion (France) s.t.
  8. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) s.t.
  9. Lucien van Impe (Belgium) s.t.
  10. Gerrie Knetemann (Netherlands) s.t.
  11. Francesco Moser (Italy) s.t.
  12. Andres Oliva (Spain) @ 3min 33sec
  13. Frans Verbeeck (Belgium) @ 4min 6sec
  14. Roland Salm (Switzerland) s.t.
  15. Bernard Bourreau (France) s.t.
  16. Felice Gimondi (Italy) s.t.
  17. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  18. Robert Poggiali (Italy) s.t.
  19. Emilio Martin "Cochise" Rodriguez (Colombia) s.t.
  20. André Dierickx (Belgium) s.t.
  21. Freddy Maertens (Belgium) s.t.
  22. Donald Allan (Australia) s.t.
  23. David Lloyd (Great Britain) @ 8min59sec
  24. Domingo Perurena (Spain) s.t.
  25. José Casas (spain) s.t.
  26. Vicente Lopez Carril s.t.
  27. Maurice Le Guilloux (France) s.t.
  28. Hubert Pronk (Netherlands) @ 11min 31sec