BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1976 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

43rd edition: Sunday, September 5, 1976
Ostuni, Italy

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1977 edition | 1975 edition |

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

85 riders started, 53 classified finishers.
8 laps of 36 km totalling 288 km. Winner's average speed: 40.55 km/hr

Freddy Maertens

Complete Results:

  1. Freddy Maertens (Belgium) 7hr 6min 10sec
  2. Francesco Moser (Italy) s.t.
  3. Constantino Conti (Italy) @ 11sec
  4. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  5. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) @ 26sec
  6. Bernard Hinault (France) s.t.
  7. Felice Gimondi (Italy) s.t.
  8. Jan Raas (Netherlands) s.t.
  9. Donald Allan (Australia) @ 27sec
  10. Mike Neel (USA) s.t.
  11. Miguel-Maria Lasa (Spain) s.t.
  12. Guy Sibille (France) s.t.
  13. Domingo Perurena (Spain) s.t.
  14. Frans Verbeeck (Belgium) s.t.
  15. Patrick Beon (France) s.t.
  16. Bruno Wolfer (Switzerland) s.t.
  17. Jorgen Marcussen (Denmark) s.t.
  18. Javier Elorriaga (Spain) s.t.
  19. Walter Godefroot (Belgium) s.t.
  20. Vicente Lopez-Carril (Spain) s.t.
  21. Hennie Kuiper (Netherlands) s.t.
  22. Gerben Karstens (Netherlands) s.t.
  23. Yves Hézard (France) s.t.
  24. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  25. Walter Planckaert (Belgium) s.t.
  26. Fabrizio Fabbri (Itali) s.t.
  27. Agustin Tamames (Spain) s.t.
  28. Bernard Thévenet (France) s.t.
  29. Julian Andiano (Spain) s.t.
  30. Joseph Bruyère (Belgium) s.t.
  31. Michael Wright (Great Britain) s.t.
  32. Wilheim Singer (Germany) s.t.
  33. José Nazabal (Germany) s.t.
  34. Enrique Martinez Heredia (Spain) s.t.
  35. Pedro Torres (Spain) s.t.
  36. Bernard Vallet (France) s.t.
  37. Giacinto Santambrogio (Italy) s.t.
  38. Roberto Poggiali (Italy) s.t.
  39. Ueli Sutter (Switzerland) s.t.
  40. Roland Salm (Switzerland) s.t.
  41. Bruce Biddle (New Zealand) s.t.
  42. Giambattista Baronchelli (Italy) s.t.
  43. Giovanni Jimenez (Colombia) s.t.
  44. Lucien van Impe (Belgium) s.t.
  45. Walter Riccomi (Italy) s.t.
  46. René Leuenberger (Switzerland) s.t.
  47. Josef Fuchs (Switzerland @ 2min 30sec
  48. Enrico Paolini (Italy) s.t.
  49. Dietrich Thurau (Germany) @ 2min 50sec
  50. Marc Demey (Belgium) s.t.
  51. Michel Pollentier (Belgium) s.t.
  52. Eric Loder (Switzerland) s.t.
  53. Roland Schaer (Switzerland) s.t.