BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1970 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

37th edition: Sunday, August 16, 1970
Leicester, Great Britain

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1971 edition | 1969 edition |

95 riders started, 69 classified finishers.
18 laps of 15.108 km totalling 271.96 km. Winner's average speed: 41.42 km/hr

Jean-Pierre Monseré

Jean-Pierre Monseré a few weeks before he became world champion. Photo courtesy Firmin Vandorpe

Complete Results:

  1. Jean-Pierre Monseré (Belgium) 6hr 33min 58sec
  2. Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story
  3. Leif Mortensen (Denmark) @ 2sec
  4. Felice Gimondi (Italy) s.t.
  5. Les West (Great Britain) @ 3sec
  6. Charly Rouxel (France) @ 5sec
  7. Alain Vasseur (France) @ 9sec
  8. Walter Godefroot (Belgium) @ 18sec
  9. Frans Verbeeck (Belgium) s.t.
  10. Franco Bitossi (Italy) s.t.
  11. Gérard Vianen (Netherlands) s.t.
  12. Roger de Vlaeminck (Belgium) s.t.
  13. Rolf Wolfshohl (Germany) s.t.
  14. Jan Krekels (Netherlands) s.t.
  15. Cyrille Guimard (France) s.t.
  16. Rudi Altig (Germany) s.t.
  17. Jan Janssen (Netherlands) s.t.
  18. Marino Basso (Italy) s.t.
  19. Michele Dancelli (Italy) s.t.
  20. Jurgen Tschan (Germany) s.t.
  21. Harm Ottenbros (Netherlands) s.t.
  22. Miguel-Maria Lasa (Spain) s.t.
  23. René Pijnen (Netherlands) s.t.
  24. Christian Raymond (France) s.t.
  25. Sid Barras (Great Britain) s.t.
  26. Mauro Simonetti (Italy) s.t.
  27. Evert Dolman (Netherlands) s.t.
  28. Eric Spahn (Switzerland) s.t.
  29. Peter Kisner (Netherlands) s.t.
  30. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) s.t.
  31. Sture Pettersson (Sweden) s.t.
  32. Gösta Pettersson (Sweden) s.t.
  33. Michael Wright (Great Britain) s.t.
  34. Raymond Riotte (France) s.t.
  35. Jan van Katwijk (Netherlands) s.t.
  36. Louis Pfenninger (Switzerland) s.t.
  37. Daniel Rebillard (France) s.t.
  38. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  39. Raymond Saez (Spain) s.t.
  40. Gianni Motta (Italy) s.t.
  41. Ole Ritter (Denmark) s.t.
  42. Firmino Bernardino (Protugal) s.t.
  43. Tomas Pettersson (Sweden) s.t.
  44. José-Antonio Gonzales-Linares (Spain) s.t.
  45. Giacinto Santambrogio (Italy) s.t.
  46. Brian Jolly (Great Britain) s.t.
  47. Bernard Vifian (Switzerland) s.t.
  48. Dieter Puschel (Germany) s.t.
  49. Ernst Strenger (Germany) s.t.
  50. Andres Gandarias (Spain) s.t.
  51. Vittorio Adorni (Italy) s.t.
  52. Marinus Wagtmans (Netherlands) s.t.
  53. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  54. Danny Horton (Great Britain) s.t.
  55. Kurt Rub (Switzerland) s.t.
  56. Peter Glemser (Germany) s.t.
  57. Jesus Aranzabel (Spain) s.t.
  58. Raymond Delisle (France) s.t.
  59. Erwinn Thalmann (Switzerland) s.t.
  60. Herman van Springel (Belgium) s.t.
  61. José Azevedo (Portugal) s.t.
  62. Roland Berland (France) s.t.
  63. Eric Pettersson (Sweden) s.t.
  64. Domingo Perurena (spain) s.t.
  65. Hugh Porter (Great Britain) s.t.
  66. Joseph Huysmans (Belgium) s.t.
  67. Italo Zilioli (Italy) s.t.
  68. José-Luis Pacheco (Spain) s.t.
  69. Georges Pintens (Belgium) s.t.
  70. Winfried Boelke (Germany) s.t.