BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1964 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

31st edition: Sunday, September 6, 1964
Sallanches, France

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1965 edition | 1963 edition |

62 riders started, 40 classified finishers.
25 laps of 11.6 km totalling 290 km. Winner's average speed: 38.17 km/hr

Jan Janssen

Jan Janssen (wearing glasses)

Complete Results:

  1. Jan Janssen (Netherlands) 7hr 35min 52sec
  2. Vittorio Adorni (Italy) s.t.
  3. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  4. Tom Simpson (Great Britain) @ 6sec
  5. Italo Zilioli (Italy) s.t.
  6. Jo de Haan (Netherlands) s.t.
  7. Jacques Anquetil (France) s.t.
  8. Fernando Manzaneque (Spain) @ 38sec
  9. Jean Stablinski (France) s.t.
  10. Franco Cribori (Italy) s.t.
  11. Benoni Beheyt (Belgium) s.t.
  12. Horst Oldenburg (Germany) s.t.
  13. Michael Wright (Great Britain) s.t.
  14. Adriano Durante (Italy) s.t.
  15. Hans Junkermann (Germany) s.t.
  16. Luis Otano (Spain) s.t.
  17. Peter Post (Netherlands) s.t.
  18. Rudi Altig (Germany) s.t.
  19. Seamus Elliott (Ireland) s.t.
  20. Gilbert Desmet (Belgium) s.t.
  21. Willy Bocklant (Belgium) s.t.
  22. Francisco Gabica (Spain) s.t.
  23. Bruno Meali (Italy) s.t.
  24. Rolf Maurer (Switzerland) s.t.
  25. Georges Groussard (France) s.t.
  26. Angelo Soler (Spain) s.t.
  27. Hubertus Zilverberg (Netherlands) s.t.
  28. Valentin Uriona (Spain) s.t.
  29. Albertus Geldermans (Nethelands) s.t.
  30. Willy Monty (Belgium) s.t.
  31. Edgard Sorgeloos (Belgium) s.t.
  32. Rik van Looy (Belgium) s.t.
  33. Henry Angalde (France) s.t.
  34. Robert Hagmann (Switzerland) @ 1min 11sec
  35. Cees Haast (Netherlands) s.t.
  36. Edouard Sels (Belgium) s.t.
  37. Arie den Hartog (Netherlands) s.t.
  38. Gianni Motta (Italy) @ 5min 18sec
  39. Antonio Suarez (Spain) s.t.
  40. Julio Jimenez (Spain) @ 6min 8sec