BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1965 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

32nd edition: Sunday, September 5, 1965
San Sebastian, Spain

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1966 edition | 1964 edition |

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

74 riders started, 56 classified finishers.
14 laps of 19.1 km totalling 267.4 km.
Winner's average speed: 40.18 km/hr

Tom Simpson

Complete Results:

  1. Tom Simpson (Great Britain) 5hr 39min 19sec
  2. Rudi Altig (Germany) s.t.
  3. Roger Swerts (Belgium) @ 3min 40sec
  4. Peter Post (Netherlands) s.t.
  5. Karl-Heinz Kunde (Germany) s.t.
  6. René Binggeli (Switzerland) @ 3min 50sec
  7. Arie den Hartog (Netherlands) s.t.
  8. Franco Balmamion (Italy) s.t.
  9. Francisco Gabica (Spain) s.t.
  10. Jean Stablinski (France) @ 4min 58sec
  11. Antonio Gomez del Moral (Spain) @ 6min 6sec
  12. Bruno Mealli (Italy) s.t.
  13. Sebastian Elorza (Spain) @ 7min 44sec
  14. Edouard Sels (Belgium) @ 9min 6sec
  15. Valentin Uriona (Spain) s.t.
  16. Italo Zilioli (Italy) s.t.
  17. Fernando Manzaneque (Spain) s.t.
  18. Bernard Van de Kerkhove (Belgium) s.t.
  19. Barry Hoban (Great Britain) @ 9min 55sec
  20. Walter Godefroot (Belgium) @ 12min 56sec
  21. Hans Junkermann (Germany) s.t.
  22. Joseph Groussard (France) s.t.
  23. Willi Altig (Germany) s.t.
  24. Winfried Boelke (Germany) s.t.
  25. Joseph Huysmans (Belgium) s.t.
  26. Franco Cribori (Italy) s.t.
  27. Michele Dancelli (Italy) s.t.
  28. Rolf Maurer (Switzerland) s.t.
  29. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) s.t.
  30. Joao Roque Dos Santos (Portugal) s.t.
  31. André Foucher (France) s.t.
  32. Eddy Schutz (Luxembourg) s.t.
  33. Gines Garcia (Spain) s.t.
  34. Adriano Passuello (Italy) s.t.
  35. Alan Ramsbottom (Great Britain) s.t.
  36. Gilbert Bellone (France) s.t.
  37. André Zimmermann (France) s.t.
  38. Werner Weber (Switzerland) s.t.
  39. Cornelius Haast (Netherlands) s.t.
  40. Gianni Motta (Italy) s.t.
  41. Guido De Rosso (Italy) s.t.
  42. Robert Hagmann (Switzerland) s.t.
  43. Jan Janssen (Netherlands) s.t.
  44. Jo de Roo (Netherlands) s.t.
  45. Gerben Karstens (Netherlands) s.t.
  46. Cees Lute (Netherlands) s.t.
  47. Leonel Miranda (Portugal) @ 15min 33sec
  48. Luis Otano (Spain) s.t.
  49. Mario Pereira da Silva (Portugal) @ 16min 0sec
  50. Dieter Wiedemann (Germany) s.t.
  51. Keith Butler (Great Britain) s.t.
  52. Peter Glemser (Germany) s.t.
  53. Vin Denson (Great Britain) s.t.
  54. Bill Lawrie (Australia) s.t.
  55. Jos Van der Vleuten (Netherlands) @ 28min 0sec
  56. Joao Alves Peixoto (Portugal) s.t.