BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2023 Trofeo Matteotti (1.1), Italy

75th edition: Sunday, September 17, 2023

Trofeo Matteotti podium history | 2021 edition (race not run in 2022)

Pescara - Pescara, 13 x 15 km laps for a total distance of 195 km

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

The 2023 Trofeo Matteotti podium from left: Simone Velasco (2nd), Sjoerd Bax (1st) & Lorenzo Rota (3rd.).

Content continues below the ads

Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Bill & Carol McGann’s book The Story of the 2023 Tour de France, 2023: The Viking Again Conquers the Tour is available as a Kindle eBook. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at the start/finish city of Pescara at 2:05 PM, local time: 28C (82F), fair, with the wind from the northeast at 16 km/hr (10 mph). There is just a 1% chance of rain.

The race: Here's the report from winner Sjoerd Bax's UAE Team Emirates.

Sjoerd Bax took an impressive victory at the Trofeo Matteotti in Italy today.

The action kicked off when Lorenzo Rota (Intermarche-Wanty) tried to take advantage of his position in the lead to pull ahead, who was followed by Bax while behind them no one seemed to want to take control of the situation, giving them ten seconds three kilometers from the line. The two worked together, but in the last kilometre they begin to look at each other. A thrilling sprint emerged, which saw the triumph of Sjoerd Bax ahead of Simone Velasco (Astana),with Rota completing the podium.

The win marks the 51st of the year for UAE Team Emirates.

Bax: “Of course I’m super happy with the win. It was a real team victory; first Formolo then Bennett and Hirschi all were up the road until my attack which turned out to be the right one. My sprint was strong enough and I was really happy to finish it off. I hope to continue this shape and take it into the next races we’ll have in Italy.”

Meanwhile at the Vuelta España, Juan Ayuso finished safely in the peloton to secure 4th place and the white jersey for best young rider on the final day of racing in Madrid.

The final stage ended in dramatic fashion with green jersey Kaden Groves (Alpecin Deceuninck) winning from a breakaway which stayed away to the line on the 101km procession from Hipódromo de la Zarzuela to Madrid. Paisaje de la Luz.

Ayuso : “This year I came to the race with big ambitions. We faced a very strong Jumbo Visma team who put on a great display. Our performance has improved from last year, I feel I was stronger and I’m pleased with the white jersey as reward. Last year I wore it but it belonged to Remco so it’s special to step on the podium this year, so I’m going to go out and celebrate tonight.  We have to keep striving for more and we have the ambition to keep improving every year.”

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Complete results:

195 kilometers raced at an average speed of 42.463 km/hr

1 Sjoerd Bax UAE Team Emirates 4hr 35min 32sec
2 Simone Velasco Italy s.t.
3 Lorenzo Rota Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
4 Michael Matthews Jayco-AlUla s.t.
5 Marc Hirschi UAE Team Emirates s.t.
6 Julien Simon TotalEnergies s.t.
7 Vincenzo Albanese EOLO-Kometa s.t.
8 Xabier Berasategi Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
9 Gianluca Brambilla Q36.5 Pro Cycling s.t.
10 Filippo Fiorelli Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
11 Francesco Busatto Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
12 Valerio Conti Corratec-Selle Italia s.t.
13 Lorenzo Quartucci Corratec-Selle Italia s.t.
14 Lilian Calmejane Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
15 Gotzon Martín Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
16 Santiago Umba GW-Shimano-Sidermec s.t.
17 Giulio Ciccone Italy s.t.
18 Davide Piganzoli EOLO-Kometa s.t.
19 Alexis Vuillermoz TotalEnergies s.t.
20 Luca Covili Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
21 Alessandro Fedeli Q36.5 Pro Cycling s.t.
22 Pavel Novak Colpack Ballan s.t.
23 Simon Yates Jayco-AlUla @ 16sec
24 Lorenzo Fortunato EOLO-Kometa s.t.
25 Andrii Ponomar Corratec-Selle Italia 0:46
26 Alejandro Osorio GW-Shimano-Sidermec s.t.
27 Ibai Azurmendi Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
28 George Bennett UAE Team Emirates s.t.
29 Giacomo Garavaglia Work Service-Vitalcare-Dynatek s.t.
30 Jeferson Ruiz GW-Shimano-Sidermec s.t.
31 Filippo Zana Jayco-AlUla s.t.
32 Andrea Innocenti Team Technipes-EmiliaRomagna s.t.
33 Alex Martin EOLO-Kometa s.t.
34 Alex Tolio Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
35 Ben Granger MG.K vis Colors for Peace VPM 1:37
36 Davide Baldaccini Corratec-Selle Italia s.t.
37 Ronan O'Connor Colpack Ballan s.t.
38 Diego Sevilla EOLO-Kometa s.t.
39 Henok Mulubrhan Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
40 Andrea Garosio EOLO-Kometa s.t.
41 Valentin Ferron TotalEnergies s.t.
42 Laurens Huys Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
43 Alexandre Balmer Jayco-AlUla 1:57
44 Elia Viviani Italy s.t.
45 Martin Nessler Team Technipes-EmiliaRomagna 2:59
46 Xabier Azparren Euskaltel-Euskadi 3:49
47 Walter Calzoni Q36.5 Pro Cycling 4:18
48 Niccolo Bonifazio Intermarché-Circus-Wanty 4:31
49 Davide Formolo UAE Team Emirates s.t.