BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Trofeo Matteotti (1.1), Italy

74th edition: Sunday, September 19, 2021

Trofeo Matteotti podium history | 2020 edition | 2023 edition (race not run in 2022)

Pescara - Pescara, 13 x 15 km laps for a total distance of 195 km

Matteo Trentin

Matteo Trentin wins in Pescara. Photo: @crisjori

Weather at the start/finish city of Pescara at 2:30 PM, local time: 16C (79F), fair, with the wind from the east at 24 km/hr (15 mph). There is a 2% chance of rain.

The race: Here's the report from winner Matteo Trentin's UAE Team Emirates.

Matteo Trentin couldn’t have asked for a better preparation for the World Championship road race, with the former European Champion claiming victory at the Trofeo Matteotti in Italy .

The UAE Team Emirates rider won ahead of Jhonatan Restrepo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) and Valentin Ferron (Total Energies) in the same race he also won in 2019.

The main action of the race came after 60 km, when a group of twelve escaped. Among those riders were Matteo Trentin and his teammate Alessandro Covi, with Trentin attacking again 50 km from the finish, followed by six riders.

Trentin hit-out again 10 km from home, creating a gap of +21" on the first group of chasers and holding off to the line.

The triumph marks the 29th win of the season for UAE Team Emirates and the first victory for Matteo Trentin for the squad.

Trentin: "The race was very tough all day. I wanted to attack on the last lap on the long climb, but Ferron made the first move, so I joined him and then we pulled together. On the last stretch, I attacked again and, when at – 5km I noticed that Ferron was on the limit and Restrepo was coming back to us from behind, I put in one final dig that brought me to the finish. I’m really happy, it was about time that I won a race again."

Complete Results:

195 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.748 km/hr

1 TRENTIN Matteo UAE-Team Emirates 4hr 40min 15sec
2 RESTREPO Jhonatan Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec @ 21sec
3 FERRON Valentin TotalEnergies s.t.
4 VILLELLA Davide Movistar 0:51
5 GOVEKAR Matez Tirol-KTM 0:55
6 BATTISTELLA Samuele Nazionale Italiana s.t.
7 ZOCCARATO Samuele Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
8 RIVI Samuele Eolo-Kometa 2:59
9 BAIS Mattia Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
10 ENGELHARDT Felix Tirol-KTM s.t.
11 GENIEZ Alexandre TotalEnergies 3:19
12 COLNAGHI Luca Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 3:29
13 SBARAGLI Kristian Nazionale Italiana s.t.
14 ANGULO Antonio Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
15 TOTO Paolo Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
16 ORRICO Davide Vini Zabù s.t.
17 MARTIN Gotzon Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
18 GARAVAGLIA Giacomo Work Service-Marchiol s.t.
19 RIABUSHENKO Alexandr UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
20 BASEGGIO Matteo General Store–Fratelli Curia s.t.
21 MARTINELLI Alessio Colpack-Ballan s.t.
22 RUBIO Einer Movistar s.t.
23 PARISINI Nicolo Beltrami TSA-Tre Colli s.t.
24 COLOMBO Raul Work Service-Marchiol s.t.
25 GOTZINGER Valentin WSA-KTM-Graz s.t.
26 BURGAUDEAU Mathieu TotalEnergies s.t.
27 DIMA Emil Giotti Victoria-Savini Due s.t.
28 MUNOZ Daniel Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
29 DI FELICE Francesco Mg.K Vis VPM s.t.
30 GRELLIER Fabien TotalEnergies s.t.
31 FIORELLI Filippo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
32 MOLENAAR Alex Burgos-BH s.t.
33 OKAMIKA Ander Burgos-BH s.t.
34 TOSIN Ricardo General Store Essegibi-F.lli Curia s.t.
35 MESSNER Martin WSA-KTM-Graz s.t.
36 FORTUNATO Lorenzo Eolo-Kometa s.t.
37 MADRAZO Angel Burgos-BH s.t.
38 SAMITIER Sergio Movistar s.t.
39 TIZZA Marco Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
40 DI GUGLIELMO Fabio Mg.K Vis VPM s.t.
41 ZARDINI Edoardo Vini Zabù s.t.
42 BISOLTI Alessandro Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
43 CHIRICO Luca Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
44 TESFATSION Natnael Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
45 BROGI Adriano Giotti Victoria-Savini Due s.t.
46 PUCCIO Salvatore Nazionale Italiana s.t.
47 ULISSI Diego UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
48 MCLAIN Logan Tirol-KTM s.t.
49 RODRIGUEZ Cristian TotalEnergies s.t.
50 RAVANELLI Simone Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
51 PEDRERO Antonio Movistar s.t.
52 SOLER Marc Movistar s.t.
53 CARBONI Giovanni Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
54 BATTAGLIN Enrico Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
55 SAVINI Daniel Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
56 GABBURO Davide Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 3:44
57 ZANDRI Francesco Work Service-Marchiol 5:52
58 WACKERMANN Luca Eolo-Kometa 6:57
59 CARRETERO Hector Movistar s.t.
60 NESI Nicolas D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.