BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2020 Trofeo Matteotti (1.1), Italy

73rd edition: Saturday, August 29, 2020

Trofeo Matteotti podium history | 2019 edition | 2021 edition

Pescara - Pescara, 13 x 15 km laps for a total distance of 195 km

Valerio Conti

Valerio Conti wins in Pescara. Sirotti photo

Weather at the start/finish city of Pescara at 2:30 PM, local time: 32C (89F), fair, with the wind from the east at 27 km/hr (17 mph). No rain is forecast.

The race: Here's the report from winner Valerio Conti's UAE-Team Emirates.

With a perfect attack a few kilometers from the finish line, Valerio Conti won the Trofeo Matteotti (1.1), after a race characterized by an undulating course divided into 13 laps of 15km each.

The Italian first infiltrated the six-man breakaway that moved away in the last 20 km of the race, then just 6km from the finish Conti launched with a solo attack that allowed him to cross the finish line first in front of Diego Rubio (Burgos BH) and Daniel Savini (Bardiani CSF Faizanè).

For Valerio Conti it is his first victory in the UAE Team Emirates jersey and the 20th of the team for the 2020 season.

Conti: “It was a very tough race, with a lot of heat and a lot of uncertainty until the end. I played it smart by attacking just before the last downhill stretch, and managing to maintain the advantage until the finish. I am very happy and I dedicate this victory to my girlfriend, my family and the whole team.”

Complete Results:

195 kilometers raced at an average speed of 39.246 km/hr

1 CONTI Valerio UAE-Team Emirates 4hr 58min 7sec
2 RUBIO Diego Burgos-BH @ 1sec
3 SAVINI Daniel Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 4 sec
4 VELASCO Simone Gazprom-RusVelo 13 sec
5 ALBANESE Vincenzo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
6 LIVYNS Arjen Bingoal-WB s.t.
7 FINETTO Mauro Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
8 TOTO Paolo Work Service Dynatek Vega s.t.
9 BAKELANTS Jan Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
10 SERRANO Gonzalo Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
11 GABBURO Davide Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
12 MANNION Gavin Rally Cycling s.t.
13 VANENDERT Jelle Bingoal-WB s.t.
14 ROTA Lorenzo Vini Zabu-KTM s.t.
15 LIETAER Eliot Bingoal-WB s.t.
16 LASTRA Jonathan Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
17 PEYSKENS Dimitri Bingoal-WB s.t.
18 WACKERMANN Luca Vini Zabu-KTM s.t.
19 COLOMBO Raul Work Service Dynatek Vega s.t.
20 CONCI Nicola Trek-Segafredo s.t.
21 CEPEDA Jefferson Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
22 LUCCA Riccardo General Store Essegibi 57
23 DIAZ Jose Nippo-Delko Provence 1:03
24 PUCCIONI Dario Work Service Dynatek Vega s.t.
25 ZAHIRI Abderrahim General Store Essegibi 1:06
26 SOTO Nelson Colombia Tierra de Atletas 1:13
27 ZUKOWSKY Nickolas Rally Cycling s.t.
28 BYSTROM Sven Erik UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
29 JENSEN Mattias Trek-Segafredo s.t.
30 NEKRASOV Denis Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
31 GAVAZZI Francesco Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
32 TIZZA Marco Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
33 DI SANTE Antonio Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
34 ATAPUMA Darwin Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
35 EIKING Odd Christian Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
36 EVANS Alexander Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
37 CAIATI Aldo Colpack-Ballan s.t.
38 AMEZQUETA Julen Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
39 FRAPPORTI Marco Vini Zabu-KTM s.t.
40 RIES Michel Trek-Segafredo s.t.
41 RAIMONDI Alex Casillo-Petroli Firenze s.t.
42 COVI Alessandro UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
43 TOLIO Alex Casillo-Petroli Firenze s.t.
44 RAVASI Edward UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
45 CAPECCHI Eros Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
46 PETILLI Simone Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
47 CARR Simon Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
48 STOCEK Matús Beltrami TSA Marchiol 1:39
49 CANAVERAL Johnatan Giotti Victoria 1:45
50 MARTINELLI Ivan D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.
51 BELLETTI Manuel Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 1:58
52 BARBERO Carlos NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
53 WYSS Danilo NTT Pro Cycling 2:30
54 MOSCA Jacopo Trek-Segafredo 3:08
55 KUZMIN Anton Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
56 FERNANDEZ Delio Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
57 BATTISTELLA Samuele NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
58 ROMANO Francesco Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 5:13
59 KING Ben NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
60 SALVIETTI NiccolO Sangemini Trevigiani 5:43
61 FRAPPORTI Mattia Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
62 ZURLO Federico Giotti Victoria s.t.
63 DI FELICE Francesco Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
64 BROGI Adriano Giotti Victoria s.t.
65 MOLLY Kenny Bingoal-WB s.t.
66 BROWN Nathan Rally Cycling s.t.
67 APPOLLONIO Davide Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.