BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2022 Rund um Köln (1.1), Germany
(Tour of Cologne)

104th Edition: Sunday, May 22, 2022

Rund um Köln podium history | 2019 edition (race not run in 2020 & 2021) | 2023 edition

Köln - Köln, 199.3 km

Nils Politt

Nils Politt takes a solo win in Cologne.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames
Tour de France: 2021

Bill & Carol McGann's book The Story of the Tour de France, 2021: The Little Cannibal Dominates is available in both Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at Köln (Cologne) at 1:50 PM, local time: 22C (72F), fair, with the wind from the southeast at 6 km/hr (4 mph). No rain is forecast.

The race: Here's the report from winner Nils Politt's Team Bora-hansgrohe.

Rund um Köln (UCI 1.1) was the next race on home soil for BORA - hansgrohe. A 199.3km long circuit on hilly terrain made for an exciting day of racing around the city of Cologne. Six BORA - hansgrohe riders managed to make the jump to the first group of the day from which Nils Politt, teammate Danny van Poppel and Nikias Arndt were able to break away with 55km to go.

At five kilometres from the finish line, on the streets of his home town, Nils Politt launched a decisive attack to take an impressive solo win and his first ever victory at Rund um Köln. With Danny van Poppel in 2nd it was a double strike for BORA - hansgrohe. Sam Bennett and Ryan Mullen completed the super strong team effort in 5th and 10th.

“It’s always been a dream to win Rund um Köln one day, today this dream finally came true! We were able to make the race hard, jump in the group of the day with six riders and so play our cards.  We raced super strong as a team and ultimately managed to take the double win with Danny in 2nd.“ Nils Politt

“An incredible race for us here on home soil! The team did a great job, worked perfectly together and put their stamp on the race. Nils taking the win in his home town, Danny in 2nd and four riders inside the top-10 - I guess that’s a fantastic day for us.” Torsten Schmidt, Sports Director

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Complete results:

199.3 kilometers raced at an average speed of 44.561 km/hr

1 Nils Politt BORA-hansgrohe 4hr 28min 21sec
2 Danny Van Poppel BORA-hansgrohe @ 13sec
3 Nikias Arndt Team DSM 0:18
4 Dylan Groenewegen BikeExchange-Jayco 0:48
5 Sam Bennett BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
6 Jasper Philipsen Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
7 Tom Bohli Cofidis s.t.
8 Hugo Hofstetter Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
9 Pavel Bittner Team DSM s.t.
10 Ryan Mullen BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
11 Joshua Huppertz Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
12 Casper Pedersen Team DSM 0:51
13 Tom Lindner P&S Benotti s.t.
14 Jon Knolle Saris Rouvy Sauerland s.t.
15 Pirmin Benz Rad-Net Rose Team s.t.
16 Miguel Heidemann B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
17 Lukasz Owsian Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
18 Jonas Koch BORA-hansgrohe 1:00
19 Maurice Ballerstedt Alpecin-Fenix 1:27
20 Matis Louvel Arkéa-Samsic 4:42
21 Andreas Kron Lotto Soudal s.t.
22 Alexander Konychev BikeExchange-Jayco s.t.
23 Jan Temmen Dauner-Akkon s.t.
24 Lionel Taminiaux Alpecin-Fenix 4:54
25 Max Walscheid Cofidis 5:01
26 Gilles De Wilde Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
27 Henri Uhlig Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
28 Julien Vermote Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
29 Piet Allegaert Cofidis s.t.
30 Dominik Bauer Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
31 Carlos Barbero Lotto Soudal s.t.
32 Abram Stockman Saris Rouvy Sauerland s.t.
33 Moran Vermeulen Felbermayr-Simplon Wels s.t.
34 Michel Ries Arkéa-Samsic 5:04
35 Jan Hugger Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
36 Luis-Joe Lührs BORA-hansgrohe 5:08
37 Tom Van Asbroeck Israel-Premier Tech 7:23
38 Pierre Barbier B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
39 Milan Fretin Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
40 Taj Jones Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
41 Quentin Jauregui B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
42 Elias Maris Leopard Pro s.t.
43 Daniel Turek Felbermayr-Simplon Wels s.t.
44 Johannes Hodapp Leopard Pro s.t.
45 Kenneth Vanbilsen Cofidis s.t.
46 Florian Kierner Felbermayr-Simplon Wels s.t.
47 Lukas Rüegg Team Vorarlberg s.t.
48 Jordi Meeus BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
49 Johannes Adamietz Saris Rouvy Sauerland s.t.
50 Szymon Sajnok Cofidis s.t.
51 Antonio Puppio Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
52 Lukas Meiler Team Vorarlberg s.t.
53 Alexis Renard Cofidis s.t.
54 Wesley Mol Bike Aid s.t.
55 Mario Gamper Felbermayr-Simplon Wels s.t.
56 Alexis Guérin Team Vorarlberg s.t.
57 Jan Maas BikeExchange-Jayco 7:29
58 Pierre-Pascal Keup Lotto-Kern Haus 7:31
59 Julian Mertens Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 7:32
60 Maxim Van Gils Lotto Soudal s.t.
61 Paul Rudys Maloja Pushbikers 19:14
62 Tim Oelke P&S Benotti s.t.
63 Patrick Reissi Maloja Pushbikers s.t.
64 Julian Borresch Saris Rouvy Sauerland 19:17
65 Louis Coqueret Leopard Pro s.t.
66 Jan Kuhn Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
67 Jonas Messerschmidt Dauner-Akkon s.t.
68 Bartosz Rudyk Santic-Wibatech s.t.
69 Fabian Schormair Santic-Wibatech s.t.
70 Michiel Stockman Saris Rouvy Sauerland s.t.
71 Julian Lino Bike Aid s.t.
72 Roman Duckert Dauner-Akkon s.t.
73 Alexander Evans Maloja Pushbikers s.t.
74 Xandres Vervloesem Lotto Soudal s.t.
75 Stefan Brandlmeier Santic-Wibatech s.t.
76 Moritz Kretschy Rad-Net Rose Team s.t.
77 Guy Sagiv Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
78 Byron Munton Dauner-Akkon s.t.
79 Jannis Peter P&S Benotti s.t.
80 Lucas Carstensen Bike Aid s.t.
81 Max Poole Team DSM s.t.
82 Patrick Haller Santic-Wibatech s.t.
83 Tobias Nolde P&S Benotti s.t.
84 Derek Gee Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
85 Sasha Weemaes Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
86 Riccardo Zoidl Team Vorarlberg 19:24
87 Philip Weber Maloja Pushbikers 20:42


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!