BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2017 Rund um Köln (1.1), Germany

(Tour of Cologne)

101st Edition: Sunday, June 11, 2017

Rund um Köln podium history | 2016 edition | 2018 edition

Köln - Köln, 206.3 km

Gregor Muhlberger

Gregor Mühlberger wins the 101st Tour of Cologne

The race: Here's the story from winner Gregor Mühlberger's Bora-hansgrohe team:

Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle

The young Austrian rider Gregor Mühlberger takes the win at the one day UCI 1.1 race in Germany. After being part in today's breakaway groups, Gregor made the final move shortly before the finish and took the well-deserved victory.

The famous one day race "Rund um Köln: covered more than 200 kilometres through the surrounding area of Cologne. Several climbs and lots of hilly sections awaited the peloton before they arrived at the finish.

After some attempts to build a breakaway, a group of about 40 riders went up the road. BORA–hansgrohe was part of the front group and made the race very fast right away from the start. They controlled every move in the breakaway.

After the 90 kilometers of racing, the group fell apart and a duo formed the front of the race. BORA–hansgrohe rider Gregor Mühlberger was in the chasing group of 9 riders. After some kilometres the chasing group was able to catch the two escapees.

The last hour of racing showed many attacks from the breakaway. One of the active riders was BORA–hansgrohe rider Gregor Mühlberger, who tried several times to distance himself from the group. Shortly before the finish he tried again and was able to build a small gap to his opponents taking today's win. After his solid performance at the Giro d´Italia, Gregor showed an excellent performance at today's race.

“We dominated the race right from the start. The boys and especially Gregor showed a strong performance today. We deserved the victory, after being in the several breakaway groups and all the attacks in the finale. Two days ago, I said to him, after your great efforts during the Giro d´Italia, that’s your day today, and he did it. I am very proud!” – Jens Zemke, sports director

"I am so happy with this victory. I tried it many times to build a gap and in the finale kilometres I was able to distance myself from the group and finished first. It's really great and I am very happy. I also want to thank my teammates for today´s great support." - Gregor Mühlberger

Complete results:

206.3 kilometers raced at an average speed of 42.441 km/hr

1 Gregor MÜHLBERGER Bora-hansgrohe 4hr 51min 39sec
2 Mads Würtz SCHMIDT Katusha Alpecin @ 1sec
3 Fabian LIENHARD Team Vorarlberg s.t.
4 Jasper DE BUYST Lotto Soudal s.t.
5 Evgeny SHALUNOV Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
6 Twan CASTELIJNS Lotto NL-Jumbo @ 3sec
7 Dimitri PEYSKENS WB Veranclassic s.t.
8 Gian FRIESECKE Team Vorarlberg s.t.
9 Thomas SPRENGERS Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
10 Victor CAMPENAERTS Lotto NL-Jumbo @ 9sec
11 Eliot LIETAER Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise @ 45sec
12 Kris BOECKMANS Lotto Soudal +3:26
13 Alexander KRIEGER Leopard Pro s.t.
14 Marco MATHIS Katusha Alpecin s.t.
15 Cesare BENEDETTI Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
16 Raffael FREIENSTEIN Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
17 Dylan PAGE Switzerland s.t.
18 Preben VAN HECKE Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
19 Felix GALL Sunweb Development s.t.
20 Pirmin LANG Switzerland s.t.
21 Artur ERSHOV Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
22 Nikodemus HOLLER Bike Aid s.t.
23 Szymon REKITA Leopard Pro s.t.
24 Maarten WYNANTS Lotto NL-Jumbo +3:29
25 Lukas PÖSTLBERGER Bora-hansgrohe +4:30
26 Dylan GROENEWEGEN Lotto NL-Jumbo +4:34
27 Reto MÜLLER Switzerland s.t.
28 Enzo WOUTERS Lotto Soudal s.t.
29 Justin JULES WB Veranclassic s.t.
30 Aaron GROSSER Team Sauerland NRW s.t.
31 Gaëtan PONS Leopard Pro s.t.
32 Jan BROCKHOFF Leopard Pro s.t.
33 Aksel NÕMMELA Leopard Pro s.t.
34 Timothy DUPONT Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
35 Konrad GEßNER Rad-Net Rose s.t.
36 Manuel PORZNER Heizomat s.t.
37 Jonas RUTSCH Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
38 Florian STORK Sunweb Development s.t.
39 Thery SCHIR Team Vorarlberg s.t.
40 Jenthe BIERMANS Katusha Alpecin s.t.
41 Lorenz FIEGE Dauner D & DQ s.t.
42 Igor BOEV Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
43 Patrick JÄGER Team Vorarlberg s.t.
44 Patrick HALLER Rad-Net Rose s.t.
45 Roland THALMANN Switzerland s.t.
46 John MANDRYSCH Leopard Pro s.t.
47 Moreno HOFLAND Lotto Soudal s.t.
48 Pascal TREUBEL Heizomat s.t.
49 Kenny DE KETELE Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
50 Mario SPENGLER Switzerland s.t.
51 Cyrille THIÈRY Switzerland s.t.
52 Dorian LÜBBERS Heizomat s.t.
53 Timo ROOSEN Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
54 Jarno MOBACH Sunweb Development s.t.
55 Bert VAN LERBERGHE Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
56 Laurin WINTER Heizomat s.t.
57 Ruben ZEPUNTKE Sunweb Development s.t.
58 Frederik HÄHNEL LKT-Brandenburg s.t.
59 Joschka BECK Bike Aid s.t.
60 Tobias NOLDE Rad-Net Rose s.t.
61 Felix INTRA Team Sauerland NRW s.t.
62 Carmelo FOTI Leopard Pro s.t.
63 Simon REDMERS Heizomat s.t.
64 Christoph SCHWEIZER Team Sauerland NRW s.t.
65 Carl SOBALLA LKT-Brandenburg s.t.
66 Dries DE BONDT Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
67 Floris DE TIER Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
68 Adam HANSEN Lotto Soudal s.t.
69 Moritz BACKOFEN Dauner D & DQ s.t.
70 Robert RETSCHKE Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
71 Sébastien DELFOSSE WB Veranclassic s.t.
72 Thomas DERUETTE WB Veranclassic s.t.
73 Andrei SOLOMENNIKOV Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
74 Sam BENNETT Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
75 Robert KESSLER LKT-Brandenburg s.t.
76 Suleiman KANGANGI Bike Aid s.t.
77 Joann LEINAU Team Sauerland NRW s.t.
78 Louis LEINAU Team Sauerland NRW s.t.
79 Artem NYCH Gazprom-Rusvelo +4:46
80 André GREIPEL Lotto Soudal s.t.
81 Philipp MAMOS Dauner D & DQ s.t.
82 Antoine WARNIER WB Veranclassic s.t.
83 Matteo BADILATTI Switzerland s.t.
84 Robert Thomas WAGNER Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
85 Marcel SIEBERG Lotto Soudal +4:53
86 Leif LAMPATER Rad-Net Rose s.t.
87 Fabian SCHORMAIR Lotto-Kern Haus +4:54
88 Martin SALMON Sunweb Development s.t.
89 Sergey NIKOLAEV Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
90 Maxim BELKOV Katusha Alpecin s.t.
91 Thomas LEEZER Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
92 José GONÇALVES Katusha Alpecin s.t.
93 José MENDES Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
94 Dmitriy KOZONTCHUK Gazprom-Rusvelo s.t.
95 Erik BASKA Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
96 Remy MERTZ Lotto Soudal s.t.
97 Tobias KNAUP Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
98 Gregory HABEAUX WB Veranclassic s.t.
99 Christophe PRÉMONT Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
100 Viacheslav KUZNETSOV Katusha Alpecin s.t.
101 Rüdiger SELIG Bora-hansgrohe +5:10
102 Tom WIRTGEN Leopard Pro +6:07
103 Roman MAIKIN Gazprom-Rusvelo +6:27