BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2023 Sparkassen Münsterland Giro (1.Pro), Germany

17th edition: Tuesday, October 3, 2023

Münsterland Giro podium history | 2022 edition | Course map

Osnebrück - Münster, 194.2 km

Per Strand Hagenes has left everyone else behind.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels

Bill & Carol McGann’s book The Story of the 2023 Tour de France, 2023: The Viking Again Conquers the Tour is available in both Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at the finish city of Münster at 1:40 PM, local time: 18C (64F), cloudy, with the wind from the west at 19 km/hr (12 mph). There is a 20% chance of rain, rising to 70% at 5:00 PM.

The race: Here's the report from fourth-place Nils Eekhoff's Team dsm-firmenich.

Testing weather conditions made for a challenging day out at the Münsterland Giro, where Nils Eekhoff made it into the ten rider group that would fight for the win, taking a strong fourth place at the end of the race.

Rolling out from Osnabrück, it was a steady start to proceedings but the bunch drastically increased the pace after around 20 kilometres, catching the early break and splitting things to pieces. Pavel Bittner, John Degenkolb, Nils Eekfhoff, Niklas Märkl and Casper van Uden made it into a front split of around 35 to 40 riders, while Alex Edmondson and Alberto Dainese kept tabs on things behind. The advantage for the group out front only ever reached around one minute and 30 seconds at most, and entering the hilly section the peloton the bunch increased the tempo. As a result, the same happened out front and Eekhoff followed the attacks well to get into the leading group of ten.

Despite having 70 kilometres to go, the gap hovered at around 50 seconds for the remainder of the day and once they hit the local lap in Münster with ten kilometres to go, it was even clearer those ahead would fight for the win. Eekhoff rode a smart race and let some others close down moves before he latched onto a dangerous attack from Laporte, but the duo were brought back. Eventually the winning move from Hagenes went and the podium positions would be decided in a sprint. Eekhoff gave it his best and showed a strong kick around the outside of the group, coming round some riders and getting up to take a good fourth place at the line.

“It was a fast day straight from the start,” explained Eekhoff. “It looked like the bunch wanted to control for a little while when they let the three riders go. Then quite soon after Bora just drilled it and in the cross-tailwind it was so fast that it split. We had a group of around 30 to 40 guys, with five of us in, and the cooperation was pretty decent and we maintained the gap for quite a while. Then on the hilly circuit, the first two times were at a controlled pace, but on the third time the break went full. I was able to stay with the first guys and make it into a nice group of ten. I think the situation was pretty good for us, as I didn’t need to work in the front as we still had fast guys behind and could play that card. On the final circuit I tried to follow the right attacks and if I saw an opportunity then go for it myself. I went with Laporte, who is a fast guy, and I gambled a bit as I didn’t want to go all-in together with him to the finish. We gambled and then got caught, and I just missed the jump of Hagenes. In the end it came down to a sprint and I could get third in the group, so fourth overall. I’m a little disappointed as I think there was more in it today but that’s bike racing.”

Content continues below the ads

Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles

Complete results:

194.2 kilometers raced at an average speed of 44.553 km/hr

1 Per Strand Hagenes Jumbo-Visma 4hr 21min 49sec
2 Kaden Groves Alpecin-Deceuninck @ 17sec
3 Mads Pedersen Lidl-Trek s.t.
4 Nils Eekhoff Team dsm-firmenich s.t.
5 Christophe Laporte Jumbo-Visma s.t.
6 Danny Van Poppel BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
7 Søren Wærenskjold Uno-X s.t.
8 Edoardo Affini Jumbo-Visma s.t.
9 Edward Planckaert Alpecin-Deceuninck 0:27
10 Jonas Koch BORA-hansgrohe 0:38
11 Gerben Thijssen Intermarché-Circus-Wanty 0:54
12 Alexander Kristoff Uno-X s.t.
13 Tim Torn Teutenberg Lidl-Trek s.t.
14 Rick Pluimers Tudor Pro Cycling s.t.
15 Matyas Kopecky Team Novo Nordisk s.t.
16 Luka Mezgec Jayco-AlUla s.t.
17 Alberto Dainese Team dsm-firmenich s.t.
18 Alex Kirsch Lidl-Trek s.t.
19 Milan Menten Lotto Dstny s.t.
20 Jordi Meeus BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
21 Max Walscheid Nationalmannschaft Deutschland s.t.
22 Julius Johansen Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
23 Etienne Van Empel Corratec-Selle Italia s.t.
24 Cyrus Monk Q36.5 Pro Cycling s.t.
25 Pierre-Pascal Keup Team Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
26 Piotr Pekala Santic-Wibatech s.t.
27 John Degenkolb Team dsm-firmenich s.t.
28 Szymon Tracz Santic-Wibatech s.t.
29 Jesse Kramer Jumbo-Visma s.t.
30 Rick Zabel Nationalmannschaft Deutschland s.t.
31 Tim Van Dijke Jumbo-Visma s.t.
32 Kyrylo Tsarenko Corratec-Selle Italia s.t.
33 Joshua Huppertz Team Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
34 Filippo Ridolfo Team Novo Nordisk s.t.
35 Luis-Joe Lührs BORA-hansgrohe 1:02
36 Casper Van Uden Team dsm-firmenich 1:05
37 Alex Edmondson Team dsm-firmenich 1:07
38 Oscar Riesebeek Alpecin-Deceuninck 1:08
39 Jasper Philipsen Alpecin-Deceuninck s.t.
40 Nils Brun Tudor Pro Cycling s.t.
41 Jos Van Emden Jumbo-Visma s.t.
42 Elmar Reinders Jayco-AlUla s.t.
43 Niklas Märkl Team dsm-firmenich s.t.
44 Mika Heming Tudor Pro Cycling 1:38
45 Julian Borresch Saris Rouvy Sauerland s.t.
46 Lindsay De Vylder Team Flanders-Baloise s.t.
47 Pavel Bittner Team dsm-firmenich 1:47
48 Luke Durbridge Jayco-AlUla 1:57
49 Ryan Mullen BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
50 Olav Kooij Jumbo-Visma s.t.
51 Arnaud Tendon Tudor Pro Cycling 2:58
52 Nils Politt BORA-hansgrohe 3:58
53 Patrick Gamper BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
54 Liam Slock Lotto Dstny s.t.
55 Michael Schwarzmann Lotto Dstny s.t.
56 Jakob Gessne Team Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
57 Moritz Kretschy Rad-Net Osswald s.t.


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

2023 Münsterland Giro map: