BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Memorial Marco Pantani (1.1), Italy

Winners, podium, distance, average speed.

The Memorial Marco Pantani is a single-day road race started in 2004 to honor the memory of one of Italy's most-loved racers.

The race, run in the region of Emilia-Romagna, now runs in and around Pantani's home town of Cesenatico and the city of his birth, Cesena.

About Marco Pantani: His career was beset with accidents, particularly his terrible collision with a car late in 1995 and his crash in the 1997 Giro. By early 1998 he was showing good form and delivered jaw-dropping performances in the Giro and Tour. In 1999 he was riding even more powerfully and about had the Giro wrapped up when he was booted after a blood test showed he had an excessively high hematocrit.

Pantani went into depression, became a cocaine addict and was never again the force he had been in cycling. He was found dead of a cocaine overdose in February, 2004.

Originally a summer race, the Memorial Marco Pantani is currently (2014) held late in the season.

Since 2006 the UCI has ranked it 1.1 made made it part of the Europe Tour.

Complete Memorial Marco Pantani podium history :


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

2004 Damiano Cunego
1hr 44min 0sec
Franco Pellizotti
@ s.t.
Luca Mazsanti
@ 13sec
60km 34.615
2005 Gilberto Simoni
2hr 15min 0sec
Luca Mazzanti
@ s.t.
Emanuele Sella
@ 10sec
76.5 km 34.0
2006 Daniele Bennati
4hr 32min 32sec
Luca Mazzanti
@ s.t.
Ruslan Pidgornyy
@ sec
176.6 km 38.879
2007 Franco Pellizotti
@ s.t.
Luca Mazzanti
@ s.t.
Pasquale Muto
@ 38sec
176.6 km 41.189
2008 Enrico Rossi
4hr 33min 50sec
Damiano Cunego
@ 5sec
Ruslan Pidgornyy
@ s.t.
172.1 km 37.709
2009 Roberto Ferrari
4hr 29min 49sec
Giovanni Visconti
@ s.t.
Valerio Agnoli
@ s.t.
183.7 km 40.849
2010 Elia Viviani
4hr 23min 31sec
José Rodolfo Serpa
@ s.t.
Manuel Belletti
@ s.t.
183.7 km 41.827
2011 Fabio Taborre
4hr 25min 31sec
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.
Daniel Martin
@ s.t.
183.7 km 41.512
2012 Fabio Felline
4hr 27min 14sec
Elia Viviani
@ s.t.
Giovanni Visconti
@ s.t.
183.7 km 41.245
2013 Sacha Modolo
4hr 45min 26sec
Enrico Rossi
@ s.t.
Andrea Piechele
@ s.t.
195 km 40.990
2014 Sonny Colbrelli
4hr 34min 49sec
Grega Bole @ s.t. Fabio Chinello
@ s.t.
189.8 km 41.439
2015 Diego Ulissi
4hr 39min 23sec
Giovanni Visconti
@ s.t.
Vincenzo Nibali
@ s.t.
199.5 km 42.884
2016 Francesco Gavazzi
4hr 28min 50sec
Matteo Busato
@ s.t.
Paolo Toto
@ s.t.
189.8 km 42.361
2017 Marco Zamparella
4hr 30min 28sec
Diego Ulissi
@ s.t.
Egan Bernal
@ s.t.
189.8 km 42.105 km/hr
2018 Davide Ballerini
5hr 3min 7sec
David Gaudu
@ s.t.
Francesco Gavazzi
@ s.t.
199.8 km 39.549 km/hr
2019 Alexey Lutsenko
4hr 50min 26sec
Diego Rosa
@ s.t.
Guillaume Martin
@ s.t.
199.8 km 41.276
2020 Febio Felline
5hr 5min 25sec
Ethan Hayter
@ s.t.
Aleksandr Riabushenko
@ s.t.
199.8 km 39.251 km/hr