BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2019 Memorial Marco Pantani (1.1), Italy

16th edition: Saturday, September 21, 2019

Memorial Marco Pantani podium history | 2018 edition | 2020 edition

Castrocaro Terme - Cesenatico, 199.8 km

Alexey Lutsenko

Alexey Lutsenko wins another one.

Weather at the finish city of Cesenatico at 2:30 PM, local time: 21C (69F), fair, with the wind from the north-northwest at 5 km/hr (3mph). No rain is forecast.

The race: Here's the report from winner Alexey Lutsenko's Team Astana.

Just two days after his impressive solo victory at the Coppa Sabatini, the Kazakh champion Alexey Lutsenko takes a surprising win in a dramatic final of the Memorial Marco Pantani.

The Astana rider attacked from the bunch inside the last 2 km of racing and catching the 4-men breakaway with just 500 meters to go, he continue his powerful sprint until the finish line, taking his 10th victory in the current season!

"The start of the race was quite intense as it took some time before the breakaway finally went away. They have got a good gap of 6-7 minutes, while some teams decided to chase them back. We stayed safety in the peloton, preferring to wait until the local laps. I want to thank all team for supporting me today, especially Zhandos Bizhigitov, who was always next to me, keeping me on a perfect position in front of the pack.

"With many good sprinters in the bunch, honestly, I did not plan to do something in the final as usually I am not a contender in sprint. But our sports director Giuseppe Martinelli advised me to try to attack with 2 km to go. He knows well the finish town and has a great experience, so I just decided to follow that advice. I attacked exactly where Martinelli told me and quickly took a nice gap over the main group. With 500 meters to go I caught the guys from the breakaway and with 200 meters to go I launched my sprint for a win. Everything worked out perfectly!

"This victory is a bit surprising to me, but I am very happy with it. It is a nice race in honor of a great champion Marco Pantani. I know how this race is important for Giuseppe Martinelli and I am super happy to bring this win to him!", said Alexey Lutsenko.

"Everyone knows what Marco Pantani means for me, so today I am so happy and proud with our team and with Alexey Lutsenko, who did a fantastic race and took so beautiful victory! We are spending an amazing week here in Italy, tomorrow we will close it with another nice race Trofeo Matteotti, while after it our riders will leave for the World Championships in Yorkshire," added Giuseppe Martinelli, sports director of Astana Pro Team.

The daily podium has been completed by two riders from an early breakaway: Diego Rosa (2nd place) and Guillaume Martin (3rd place).

With today’s victory of Alexey Lutsenko at the Memorial Marco Pantani, Astana Pro Team breaks its all-time record, scoring 36th win during a season.

Complete Results:

199.8 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.276 km/hr

1 Alexey Lutsenko Astana 4hr 50min 26sec
2 Diego Rosa Team INEOS s.t.
3 Guillaume Martin Wanty-Gobert s.t.
4 Simone Consonni UAE Team Emirates s.t.
5 Sonny Colbrelli Bahrain-Merida s.t.
6 Giovanni Visconti Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
7 Francesco Gavazzi Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
8 Alexis Guérin Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
9 Kristian Sbaragli Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
10 Simone Velasco Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
11 Enrico Barbin Bardiani-CSF s.t.
12 Cyril Gautier Vital Concept-B&B Hotels s.t.
13 Jhonatan Narváez Team INEOS s.t.
14 Andrea Vendrame Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
15 Mauro Finetto Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
16 Alberto Bettiol EF Education First s.t.
17 Lorenzo Rota Bardiani-CSF s.t.
18 Warren Barguil Arkea-Samsic s.t.
19 Marco Tizza Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
20 Aleksander Vlasov Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
21 Alejandro Osorio Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
22 Fabien Doubey Wanty-Gobert s.t.
23 Merhawi Kudus Astana s.t.
24 Nikolay Cherkasov Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
25 Vadim Pronskiy Astana s.t.
26 Odd Christian Eiking Wanty-Gobert s.t.
27 Davide Gabburo Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
28 Carlos Betancur Movistar s.t.
29 Anthony Delaplace Arkea-Samsic s.t.
30 Rein Taaramäe Total Direct Energie s.t.
31 Romain Combaud Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
32 Francesco Romano Bardiani-CSF s.t.
33 Pierre Rolland Vital Concept-B&B Hotels s.t.
34 Valerio Conti UAE Team Emirates s.t.
35 Salvatore Puccio Team INEOS s.t.
36 Fausto Masnada Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
37 Rubén Fernández Movistar s.t.
38 Tom-Jelte Slagter Dimension Data s.t.
39 Davide Formolo Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
40 Andrey Amador Movistar s.t.
41 Jonathan Hivert Total Direct Energie +8''
42 Simone Ravanelli Biesse-Carrera +10''
43 Luca Covili Bardiani-CSF s.t.
44 Gianni Moscon Team INEOS +11"
45 Alessandro Bisolti Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
46 Mattia Bais Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
47 Diego Ulissi UAE Team Emirates s.t.
48 Egan Bernal Team INEOS s.t.
49 Andrea Garosio Bahrain-Merida +39''
50 Giovanni Aleotti Friuli ASD s.t.
51 Vincenzo Nibali Bahrain-Merida s.t.
52 Giovanni Carboni Bardiani-CSF s.t.
53 Rui Oliveira UAE Team Emirates s.t.
54 Romain Le Roux Arkea-Samsic +1' 33''