BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2023 Circuito de Getxo (1.1), Spain

78th edition: Sunday, July 30, 2023

Circuito de Getxo podium history | 2022 edition

Bilbao - Getxo: 193.3 kilometers

Alexey Lutsenko takes an impressive solo victory in Getxo.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Weather at the start/finish city of Getxo at 2:15 PM, local time: 23C (74F), mostly cloudy, with the wind from the northwest at 6 km/hr (4 mph). There is just a 1% chance of rain.

The race: Here's the report from winner Alexey Lutsenko's Team Astana Qazaqstan.

Astana Qazaqstan Team lived a nice day at the Circuit de Getxo, a one-day race in Spain. After a very active race and a phenomenal teamwork, the National champion of Kazakhstan Alexey Lutsenko took a solo win, while the Italian champion Simone Velasco finished third.

Alexey Lutsenko finishes almost a half-minute ahead of his nearest chaser.

“It was such a good day for us as a team, we were focused from the start, we had a great motivation and, finally, all our work paid off. I want to thank my teammates for a great support and absolutely amazing job during the day and, especially, in the final. Yevgeniy Fedorov and Simone Velasco were just incredible today!”, – said Alexey Lutsenko.

“It was our plan to be active right from the start and we always stayed up there in front attacking and trying to break away. Finally, we found ourselves in a strong group of seven riders together with Yevgeniy Fedorov and Simone Velasco. They both were so strong today. Then, I found a moment to attack on the penultimate climb, getting a good gap. Well, in a moment on the descent I took a wrong way, but, fortunately, shortly, I came back on the right way, still having some seconds ahead of the chasers. I continued pushing hard, trying to keep the pace and my gap, while Simone Velasco did a great job behind, closing all attacks of my rivals. Everything worked out perfectly and I won. I am really happy with this victory; it gives me a lot of motivation ahead of my next goals. Also, it is important and well-deserved result for our team”, – added Alexey Lutsenko.

“I am happy for Alexey; he was the strongest today. Also, I am really satisfied with my result today. I was able to finish on the podium and it is a good way to finalize this block of racing here in Spain. It was nice to get back to racing here, we had a great team and we worked really good all together. So, now we have win and a third place and we can be happy with it. Now, it is time to look forward ahead to the next important goals”, – said Simone Velasco.

The podium, from left: Tony Gallopin (2nd), Alekey Lutsenko (1st) & Simone Velasco (3rd). Photo: Sprint Cycling

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Complete results:

193.3 kilometers raced at an average speed of 44.748 km/hr

1 Alexey Lutsenko Astana Qazaqstan 4:19:11
2 Tony Gallopin Lidl-Trek @ 24sec
3 Simone Velasco Astana Qazaqstan 0:32
4 Matteo Trentin UAE Team Emirates 0:35
5 Toms Skujins Lidl-Trek 0:49
6 Eduard Prades Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:56
7 Ion Izagirre Cofidis 3:29
8 Bart Lemmen Human Powered Health 3:37
9 Diego Ulissi UAE Team Emirates s.t.
10 Gonzalo Serrano Movistar s.t.
11 Frederik Wandahl BORA-hansgrohe s.t.
12 Alex Martin EOLO-Kometa 3:42
13 Raúl García Equipo Kern Pharma 3:53
14 David González Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 6:43
15 Jetse Bol Burgos-BH 6:44
16 Jose Manuel Diaz Burgos-BH 6:48
17 Gotzon Martín Euskaltel-Euskadi 6:51
18 José Joaquin Rojas Movistar 6:55
19 Mattéo Vercher TotalEnergies 7:18
20 Yevgeniy Fedorov Astana Qazaqstan 8:04
21 George Bennett UAE Team Emirates 9:20
22 Jesus Ezquerra Burgos-BH 9:24
23 Sjoerd Bax UAE Team Emirates 9:31
24 Unai Iribar Euskaltel-Euskadi 10:22
25 Cyril Barthe Burgos-BH s.t.
26 Alejandro Ropero Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
27 Gorka Sorarrain BAI Sicasal-Petro de Luanda 10:30
28 Jon Barrenetxea Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
29 Alejandro Franco Burgos-BH 10:33
30 Nicolas Sessler Global 6 Cycling s.t.
31 Diego Sevilla EOLO-Kometa s.t.
32 Javier Serrano EOLO-Kometa s.t.
33 Enekoitz Azparren Euskaltel-Euskadi 10:37
34 Txomin Juaristi Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
35 Jose Maria Garcia Electro Hiper Europa 10:53
36 Marc Hirschi UAE Team Emirates 11:05
37 Jose Mendes NSJBI Victoria Sports 11:59
38 Ben Perry Human Powered Health 12:06
39 Orluis Aular Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 12:08
40 Mikel Mujika BAI Sicasal-Petro de Luanda 12:17
41 Antonio Angulo Burgos-BH 12:29
42 Xavier Cañellas Electro Hiper Europa 12:42
43 Pablo Garcia BAI Sicasal-Petro de Luanda 15:24
44 Thibau Nys Lidl-Trek s.t.
45 Evan Russell Global 6 Cycling 15:42
46 Manabu Ishibashi JCL Team UKYO s.t.
47 Thomas Champion Cofidis s.t.
48 Alexandre Delettre Cofidis s.t.
49 Julien Simon TotalEnergies s.t.
50 Emilien Jeannière TotalEnergies s.t.
51 Victor Martinez Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
52 Fabien Grellier TotalEnergies s.t.
53 Benjami Prades JCL Team UKYO s.t.
54 Ivan Moreno Global 6 Cycling s.t.
55 Nurbergen Nurlykhassym Astana Qazaqstan s.t.
56 Michal Schlegel Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
57 Nathan Earle JCL Team UKYO s.t.
58 Ivan Cobo Cayon Equipo Kern Pharma s.t.
59 José Manuel Gutiérrez BAI Sicasal-Petro de Luanda s.t.
60 Fernando Barceló Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
61 Danny Van Der Tuuk Equipo Kern Pharma s.t.
62 Stephen Bassett Human Powered Health 15:53
63 Thomas Bonnet TotalEnergies s.t.
64 Xabier Azparren Euskaltel-Euskadi 15:55
65 Unai Cuadrado Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
66 Igor Arrieta Equipo Kern Pharma 16:08
67 Francisco Galván Equipo Kern Pharma 16:12
68 Vinicius Rangel Movistar 16:15


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!