BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2022 Binche-Chimay-Binche/
Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke (1.1), Belgium

34th edition: Tuesday (Mardi), October 4, 2022

Binche-Chimay-Binche/Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke podium history | 2021 edition | 2023 edition

Binche-Chimay-Binche, 198.6 km

Christophe Laporte

Christophe Laporte wins in Binche.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames
Sticky Buns Across America

Les Woodland's book Sticky Buns Across America: Back-roads biking from sea to shining sea is available in print, Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at the start/finish city of Binche at 1:30 PM: 17C (62F), partly cloudy, with the wind from the southwest at 18 km/hr (11 mph). There is just a 1% chance of rain.

The race: Here's the report from winner Christophe Laporte's Team Jumbo-Visma.

Christophe Laporte has won Binche-Chimay-Binche in an impressive way. The vice-world champion crossed the finish line solo after beating Rasmus Tiller in the final.

"It's very nice to take another victory in this successful year. I never expected the season to turn out so successful", Laporte said. He won a stage in the Tour de France, Paris-Nice and the Tour of Denmark earlier this season. In the latter stage race, he also won the overall classification.

With roughly 10 kilometres remaining, the Frenchman of Team Jumbo-Visma broke away from the pack and was joined by Rasmus Tiller of Norway. The pair gained a fifteen-second maximum lead and saw the chasing group barely get closer. On the final cobbled lanes, Laporte rode away from Tiller to cross the finish line solo.

New World Champion Remco Evenpoel finishes with teammate Iljo Keisse, 107th & 108th. Photo: Luc Claessen/Getty Images

"It was a challenging race that saw some early attacks. I intended to finish the race with a compact group, but things went differently than expected. Eventually, I got to the front with Rasmus and in the final, we both had a hard time. I gave everything I had till the finish line with what little energy I had left. Fortunately, it was enough for victory", Laporte said.

The 29-year-old Laporte demonstrated once more that he is in fantastic shape after finishing in second place at the world championships two weeks ago. The Frenchman recorded his fifth win of the season and gave his team its 48th victory.

"The legs were already good at the Worlds and they were strong today as well. In addition, the team was solid and worked hard. I am happy that I was able to finish it off."

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Complete Results:

198.6 kilometers raced at an average speed of 44.752 km/hr

1 Christophe Laporte Jumbo-Visma 4hr 26min 16sec
2 Rasmus Tiller Uno-X @ 3sec
3 Hugo Page Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 0:08
4 Greg van Avermaet Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
5 Toms Skujins Trek-Segafredo s.t.
6 Philippe Gilbert Lotto Soudal s.t.
7 Dries Van Gestel TotalEnergies s.t.
8 Jake Stewart Groupama-FDJ s.t.
9 Florian Dauphin B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
10 Tony Gallopin Trek-Segafredo s.t.
11 Anthony Turgis TotalEnergies s.t.
12 Edward Theuns Trek-Segafredo 0:12
13 Lionel Taminiaux Alpecin-Deceuninck s.t.
14 Paul Penhoët Groupama-FDJ s.t.
15 Alexander Kristoff Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
16 Amaury Capiot Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
17 Jenthe Biermans Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
18 Lewis Askey Groupama-FDJ s.t.
19 Yoeri Havik BEAT Cycling s.t.
20 Arnaud De Lie Lotto Soudal 0:16
21 Axel Zingle Cofidis s.t.
22 Pier-André Côté Human Powered Health s.t.
23 Mike Teunissen Jumbo-Visma s.t.
24 Oliver Naesen Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
25 Daan Hoole Trek-Segafredo s.t.
26 Ward Vanhoof Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
27 Jan Maas BikeExchange-Jayco s.t.
28 Oliviero Troia UAE Team Emirates s.t.
29 Gwen Leclainche GO Sport-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
30 Alexander Konychev BikeExchange-Jayco s.t.
31 Aaron Van Poucke Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
32 Zdenek Stybar Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
33 Lawrence Naesen Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
34 Pierre Gautherat Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
35 Elmar Reinders BikeExchange-Jayco s.t.
36 Jordy Bouts BEAT Cycling s.t.
37 Guillaume Boivin Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
38 Timothy Dupont Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
39 Mikkel Bjerg UAE Team Emirates s.t.
40 Aaron Verwilst Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
41 Stan Dewulf Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
42 Jesse Kramer Jumbo-Visma s.t.
43 Nickolas Zukowsky Human Powered Health s.t.
44 Jens Reynders Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
45 Eliot Lietaer B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
46 Emiel Vermeulen GO Sport-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
47 Cédric Beullens Lotto Soudal 0:24
48 Clément Davy Groupama-FDJ 0:35
49 Martin Svrcek Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
50 Florian Vermeersch Lotto Soudal 0:36
51 Stijn Daemen BEAT Cycling s.t.
52 Edvald Boasson Hagen TotalEnergies s.t.
53 Owen Geleijn Jumbo-Visma s.t.
54 Erik Resell Uno-X s.t.
55 Christophe Noppe Arkéa-Samsic 41
56 Anthony Jullien Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
57 Tim Merlier Alpecin-Deceuninck s.t.
58 Bert Van Lerberghe Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
59 Markus Pajur Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
60 Biniam Girmay Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
61 Evaldas Siskevicius GO Sport-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
62 Gianni Vermeersch Alpecin-Deceuninck s.t.
63 Tom Van Asbroeck Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
64 Victor Campenaerts Lotto Soudal s.t.
65 Daniel Oss TotalEnergies s.t.
66 Kenneth Van Rooy Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
67 Niki Terpstra TotalEnergies s.t.
68 Gijs Van Hoecke Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
69 Sébastien Grignard Lotto Soudal s.t.
70 Connor Swift Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
71 Cyril Lemoine B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
72 Sander Armee Cofidis s.t.
73 Stephen Bassett Human Powered Health 0:49
74 Cériel Desal Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
75 Jack Bauer BikeExchange-Jayco 0:52
76 Omer Goldstein Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
77 Oliver Knight UAE Team Emirates 0:56
78 Sven Erik Bystrøm Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
79 Stan Van Tricht Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl 1:03
80 Alan Riou Arkéa-Samsic 1:13
81 Kevin Geniets Groupama-FDJ 1:22
82 Olivier Le Gac Groupama-FDJ s.t.
83 Hugo Hofstetter Arkéa-Samsic 1:33
84 Jasper De Buyst Lotto Soudal 1:42
85 Laurenz Rex Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces 1:45
86 Bryan Coquard Cofidis s.t.
87 Silvan Dillier Alpecin-Deceuninck 2:02
88 Alex Kirsch Trek-Segafredo 2:03
89 Edoardo Affini Jumbo-Visma 2:04
90 Ludovic Robeet Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces 2:27
91 Alexandre Delettre Cofidis 3:14
92 Clément Russo Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
93 Dries De Bondt Alpecin-Deceuninck 3:16
94 Scott Thwaites Alpecin-Deceuninck 3:30
95 Jelle Wallays Cofidis 4:17
96 Tom Bohli Cofidis 4:57
97 Taco Van Der Hoorn Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 5:36
98 Enrico Dhaeye Minerva Cycling Team s.t.
99 Conn McDunphy EvoPro Racing 5:52
100 Yentl Vandevelde Minerva Cycling Team s.t.
101 Gilles De Wilde Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
102 Tim Van Dijke Jumbo-Visma s.t.
103 Gage Hecht Human Powered Health s.t.
104 Stijn Steels Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
105 Kevin Van Melsen Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
106 Norman Vahtra GO Sport-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
107 Iljo Keisse Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl 6:03
108 Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
109 Karl Patrick Lauk Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
110 Kasper Andersen UAE Team Emirates s.t.


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!