BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2017 Binche-Chimay-Binche/
Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke (1.1), Belgium

30th edition: Tuesday (Mardi), October 3, 2017

Binche-Chimay-Binche/Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke podium history | 2016 edition | 2018 edition

Binche-Chimay-Binche, 195.2 km

Jasper de Buyst

Jasper de Buyst wins in Binche

The race: Here's the report from winner Jasper de Buyst's Lotto-Soudal team.

Jasper De Buyst killed two birds with one stone today: the Lotto Soudal rider won both Binche-Chimay-Binche and the Belgian Cycling Cup!

The 30th edition of Binche-Chimay-Binche was the last race of the Belgian Cycling Cup. The 197 kilometres course ended with four local laps in the region of Binche. The only difficulties of the day were the Lacs de l’Eau d’Heure, the Côte des Violettes and the 'Petit Poggio', but these were situated too early in the race to have a major impact on how the race unfolded. After almost an hour of racing, 28 riders, including Jasper De Buyst, Moreno Hofland and Nikolas Maes, managed to go clear. Jasper De Buyst, Cavagna, Castelijns, Devriendt, Jansen, Mainard, Pasqualon, Ruijgh, Trentin and Vakoc attacked their fellow escapees, who were rapidly caught by the peloton. De Buyst secured the overall victory in the Belgian Cycling Cup by taking the points available in the different intermediate sprints. The collaboration in the peloton was not efficient enough, and that made it possible for the breakaway to stay in the front until the end. Trentin tried to accelerate at the bottom of the last small cobbled sector but the Italian was unable to shake De Buyst off his wheel. Tom Devriendt also joined the duo at the top of the short climb. De Buyst waited for the perfect moment to launch his sprint and was clearly the strongest rider of this reduced group. This victory is Lotto Soudal’s 22nd this season!

Jasper De Buyst: "I’m very satisfied with my result, of course. Binche-Chimay-Binche is a very difficult race, and if you can still win it at the end of the season, you can be happy. I beat Matteo Trentin, who is probably one of the best riders in the world at the moment, and that makes the victory a little more beautiful. There was a lot of nervousness in the peloton, partly because of the wind. At one point we were with 28 riders at the front. Moreno Hofland and Nikolas Maes were also in that group and the other main teams were well represented. With eighty kilometres to go, Trentin made a great effort to reduce the breakaway to ten riders, and that really worked in my favor, because Kenny Dehaes, my main opponent in the Belgian Cycling Cup, was no longer in the group. I was able to take three intermediate sprints, which put me at the top of the overall standings. From this moment onwards, I could focus on the race victory without any worries. I expected Trentin to try something in the final kilometre and I knew I had to stay in his wheel. When I came to the top of the climb, I had the feeling that my chances were really high in the sprint and I’m glad that I could finish it off."

Lotto Soudal was also active in Germany today. The Münsterland Giro started at 11:55 in Wadersloh. After completing one big and three smaller local laps in the nearby region, the peloton then took the direction of Münster, where four more local laps awaited. The 198.7 kilometres course featured a couple of short hills in its first half, but the profile was otherwise rather flat. Quickly after the start Henn, Martin, Soballa and Van Empel went in the attack and they managed to build a nice 4’45’’ gap after 50 kilometres of racing. In the peloton, the WorldTour teams led the chase and the gap with the breakaway consequently dropped in the last hundred kilometres. Martin and Soballa left their fellow escapees behind with 40 kilometers to go but the race was back together twenty kilometres further. As expected, the race ended in a bunch sprint. The photo finish was needed to determine who crossed the line in first place, and Sam Bennett was ultimately declared the winner. Phil Bauhaus and André Greipel finished in second and third place respectively.

Complete Results:

195.2 kilometers raced at an average speed of 46.590 km/hr

1 De Buyst, Jasper Lotto-Soudal 4hr 11min 23sec
2 Trentin, Matteo Quick-Step Floors s.t.
3 Devriendt, Tom Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
4 Mainard, Jérôme Armée de Terre @ 7sec
5 Jansen, Amund Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
6 Cavagna, Rémi Quick-Step Floors s.t.
7 Pasqualon, Andrea Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
8 Vakoč, Petr Quick-Step Floors + 00' 11''
9 Kirsch, Alex WB Veranclassic + 01' 42''
10 Naesen, Oliver Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
11 Van Keirsbulck, Guill.. Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
12 Claeys, Dimitri Cofidis + 01' 45''
13 Backaert, Frederik Wanty-Groupe Gobert + 01' 48''
14 Turgis, Tanguy Cofidis s.t.
15 Ligthart, Pim Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
16 Petit, Adrien Direct Energie s.t.
17 Lobato, Juan José Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
18 Castelijns, Twan Lotto NL-Jumbo + 02' 04''
19 Roosen, Timo Lotto NL-Jumbo + 02' 21''
20 Guernalec, Thibault Fortuneo-Oscaro + 02' 25''
21 Janssens, Jimmy Cibel-Cebon + 02' 28''
22 Hagen, Carl Fredrik Joker-Icopal + 02' 34''
23 Rickaert, Jonas Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise + 03' 18''
24 Hoelgaard, Markus Joker-Icopal + 03' 25''
25 Nõmmela, Aksel Leopard Pro Cycling s.t.
26 Duculty, Bastien Armée de Terre s.t.
27 De Witte, Mathias Cibel-Cebon s.t.
28 Van Melsen, Kevin Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
29 Duijn, Huub Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
30 Van Gestel, Dries Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
31 Van Genechten, Jonas Cofidis + 03' 28''
32 Tasset, Marvin AGO-AquaService s.t.
33 Jules, Justin WB Veranclassic s.t.
34 Dupont, Timothy Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
35 Godon, Dorian Cofidis s.t.
36 Baude, Arthur AGO-AquaService s.t.
37 Janssen, Adriaan Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
38 Molly, Kenny Fortuneo-Oscaro s.t.
39 Halvorsen, Kristoffer Joker-Icopal s.t.
40 Hoem, Bjørn Joker-Icopal s.t.
41 Riou, Alan Fortuneo-Oscaro s.t.
42 Raibaud, Jimmy Armée de Terre s.t.
43 Guillemois, Romain Direct Energie s.t.
44 Pichot, Alexandre Direct Energie s.t.
45 Denz, Nico Ag2r La Mondiale + 03' 33''
46 Wirtgen, Tom Leopard Pro Cycling s.t.
47 Meijers, Jeroen Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
48 Monfort, Maxime Lotto-Soudal s.t.
49 Van Hoecke, Gijs Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
50 Van Der Sande, Tosh Lotto-Soudal + 03' 38''
51 Vallée, Boris Fortuneo-Oscaro s.t.
52 De Gendt, Aimé Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
53 Druyts, Gerry Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice + 03' 43''
54 Terpstra, Niki Quick-Step Floors + 03' 44''
55 Maes, Nikolas Lotto-Soudal + 03' 51''
56 Štybar, Zdeněk Quick-Step Floors s.t.
57 Smith, Dion Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
58 Dehaes, Kenny Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
59 Tankink, Bram Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
60 Boom, Lars Lotto NL-Jumbo s.t.
61 Vermeltfoort, Coen Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij + 11' 00''
62 Goebeert, Pierre AGO-AquaService + 17' 08''
63 Knotten, Iver Joker-Icopal s.t.
64 Tiller, Rasmus Joker-Icopal s.t.
65 Didier, Antoine T.Palm-Pôle Continental s.t.
66 Debuy, Anthony AGO-AquaService s.t.
67 Loy, Antoine AGO-AquaService s.t.
68 Foti, Carmelo Leopard Pro Cycling s.t.
69 Van Breussegem, Elias Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
70 Vahtra, Norman AGO-AquaService s.t.
71 Hodeg, Alvaro Quick-Step Floors s.t.
72 Pons, Gaëtan Leopard Pro Cycling s.t.
73 Maître, Florian Direct Energie + 19' 00''
74 Geniets, Kevin Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.