BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Binche-Chimay-Binche/
Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke (1.1), Belgium

29th edition: Tuesday (Mardi), October 4, 2016

Binche-Chimay-Binche/Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition | Course map |

Binche-Chimay-Binche, 194.5 km

Arnaud Demare

Arnaud Démare wins 2016 Binche-Chimay-Binche

The Race: Here's the report posted by 2nd place Zdenek Stybar's Eitxx-Quick Step team:

Tour of Flanders, the Inside Story

The 29th edition of Binche-Chimay-Binche/Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke, which took place over 195 kilometers, witnessed several attacks in the final 30 kilometers, once the breakaway duo of Lars Bak (Lotto-Soudal) and Vegard Stake Laengen (IAM Cycling) got caught, but none of these sticked, as everyone was keeping in mind that in the fight for victory the final cobbled section will prove decisive.

An injection of pace on the penultimate of the four laps saw many riders lose contact with the group and the bunch stretched out, while Fernando Gaviria, Jens Debuscherre (Lotto-Soudal), Jean-Pierre Drucker (BMC), Huub Duijn (Roompot Oranje), Marco Marcato (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Oliver Naesen (IAM Cycling) and Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen) tried to get away, but despite holding 15 seconds in hand at one point, they were reabsorbed by fast-charging peloton.

Then, in the final kilometer, four riders broke clear on the bone-shaking cobbles of Binche – Zdeney Stybar, Arnaud Demare (FDJ), Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto-Soudal) and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) – and rode full gas, as the group splintered, opening a gap on the chasers.

On the second section, Demare put in a fierce acceleration, to which only Zdenek could respond, and went on to take the victory, ahead of the 2014 champion. For Zdenek, a stage winner at Tirreno-Adriatico this year, this was his fourth podium of the season, which came just a few days after another solid result, 8th at Gran Piemonte.

Next week, Etixx – Quick-Step will take part in the final Belgian race of the 2016 calendar, Nationale Sluitingprijs (183.6 kilometers).

Complete Results:

194.5 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.169 km/hr

1 Arnaud Démare FDJ 4hr 32min 28sec
2 Zdenek Štybar Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
3 Jürgen Roelandts Lotto-Soudal @ 2sec
4 Greg Van Avermaet BMC s.t.
5 Amaury Capiot Topsport Vlaanderen @ 4sec
6 Timothy Dupont Veranda's Willems s.t.
7 Jens Debusschere Lotto-Soudal s.t.
8 Adrien Petit Direct Energie s.t.
9 Jonas Van Genechten IAM Cycling s.t.
10 Oliver Naesen IAM Cycling s.t.
11 Baptiste Planckaert Wallonie Bruxelles s.t.
12 Aksel Nõmmela Leopard Pro s.t.
13 Alexander Krieger Leopard Pro s.t.
14 Florian Sénéchal Cofidis s.t.
15 Rick Zabel BMC s.t.
16 Jesper Asselman Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
17 Mike Teunissen LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
18 Borut Božic Cofidis s.t.
19 Tom Boonen Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
20 Tiesj Benoot Lotto-Soudal +10''
21 Jimmy Duquennoy Wallonie Bruxelles s.t.
22 Arjen Livyns Veranda's Willems s.t.
23 Gert Jõeäär Cofidis +13''
24 Martin Elmiger IAM Cycling s.t.
25 John Mandrysch Leopard Pro s.t.
26 Frederik Backaert Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
27 Jelle Wallays Lotto-Soudal s.t.
28 Kevyn Ista Wallonie Bruxelles s.t.
29 Joeri Calleeuw Veranda's Willems s.t.
30 Tom Dernies Wallonie Bruxelles s.t.
31 Jérôme Baugnies Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
32 Maarten Wynants LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
33 Franck Bonnamour Fortuneo-Vital Concept +16''
34 Tim Kerkhof Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
35 Sébastien Delfosse Wallonie Bruxelles +18''
36 Floris Gerts BMC s.t.
37 Gordon De Winter Color Code-Arden Beef s.t.
38 Reinier Honig Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
39 Etienne van Empel Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
40 Preben Van Hecke Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
41 Daniel Hoelgård FDJ s.t.
42 Twan Castelijns LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
43 Jan Brockhoff Leopard Pro s.t.
44 Heinrich Haussler IAM Cycling +23''
45 Niels De Rooze Veranclassic-Ago +25''
46 Loïc Vliegen BMC s.t.
47 Brecht Dhaene Veranda's Willems s.t.
48 Yauheni Hutarovich Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
49 Floris De Tier Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
50 Marcel Aregger IAM Cycling s.t.
51 Thomas Sprengers Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
52 Sam Lennertz Veranclassic-Ago s.t.
53 Dimitri Peyskens Veranclassic-Ago s.t.
54 Christophe Masson Veranclassic-Ago s.t.
55 Enrico Gasparotto Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
56 Dylan Teuns BMC s.t.
57 Marco Tizza D'Amico-Bottecchia s.t.
58 Marco Marcato Wanty-Groupe Gobert +33''
59 Axel Flet Veranclassic-Ago +36''
60 František Sisr Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
61 Huub Duyn Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
62 Eliot Lietaer Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
63 Tom Van Asbroeck LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
64 Michel Kreder Roompot Oranje Peloton +41''
65 Olivier Chevalier Wallonie Bruxelles s.t.
66 Kevin Van Melsen Wanty-Groupe Gobert +43''
67 Florian Vachon Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
68 Ludwig De Winter Wallonie Bruxelles s.t.
69 Iván García Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
70 Maximilien Picoux Color Code-Arden Beef s.t.
71 Steven Tronet Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
72 Arnaud Gérard Fortuneo-Vital Concept s.t.
73 Tosh Van der Sande Lotto-Soudal s.t.
74 Thomas Boudat Direct Energie +47''
75 Mark McNally Wanty-Groupe Gobert +52''
76 Sjoerd van Ginneken Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
77 Dries Devenyns IAM Cycling s.t.
78 William Bonnet FDJ s.t.
79 Yoann Offredo FDJ s.t.
80 Kris Boeckmans Lotto-Soudal +56''
81 Michael Van Staeyen Cofidis +59''
82 Frederik Veuchelen Wanty-Groupe Gobert +1' 01''
83 Sep Vanmarcke LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
84 Iljo Keisse Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
85 Nikolas Maes Etixx-Quick Step +1' 03''
86 Davide Martinelli Etixx-Quick Step s.t.
87 Jonathan Dufrasne Wallonie Bruxelles s.t.
88 Maurits Lammertink Roompot Oranje Peloton s.t.
89 Ignatas Konovalovas FDJ s.t.
90 Dimitri Claeys Wanty-Groupe Gobert +1' 06''
91 Jempy Drücker BMC +1' 10''
92 Jonas Ahlstrand Cofidis s.t.
93 Vegard Laengen IAM Cycling s.t.
94 Bryan Coquard Direct Energie +1' 27''
95 Dennis van Winden LottoNL-Jumbo +1' 35''
96 Simon Sellier Direct Energie +1' 42''
97 Fernando Gaviria Etixx-Quick Step +1' 57''
98 Dries De Bondt Veranda's Willems +2' 08''
99 Kenneth Vanbilsen Cofidis +2' 17''
100 Sondre Enger IAM Cycling +2' 21''
101 Dorian Godon Cofidis +3' 46''
102 Camille Guérin Fortuneo-Vital Concept +4' 11''
103 Antoine Loy Color Code-Arden Beef +4' 44''
104 Benoît Vaugrenard FDJ +5' 37''
105 Matthieu Ladagnous FDJ s.t.
106 Zhihui Jiang LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
107 Julien Mortier Color Code-Arden Beef s.t.
108 Alexis Caresmel Veranclassic-Ago s.t.
109 Julien Morice Direct Energie s.t.
110 Iltjan Nika D'Amico-Bottecchia +7' 06''
111 Hugo De Winter Color Code-Arden Beef +7' 09''
112 Taylor Eisenhart BMC +7' 33''
113 Auxence Buntinx T.Palm-Pole +7' 53''
114 Matthias Legley Veranclassic-Ago +7' 57''
115 Giorgio Bocchiola D'Amico-Bottecchia +7' 59''
116 Lars Bak Lotto-Soudal +8' 03''
117 Jef Van Meirhaeghe Topsport Vlaanderen +8' 56''
118 Tomas Petit T.Palm-Pole +10' 20''
119 Maxime Vekeman T.Palm-Pole s.t.

2016 course map:

Binche-Chimay-Binche course map