BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2022 Primus Classic-Impanis-Van Petegem (1.Pro), Belgium

23rd edition (12th professional edition): Saturday, September 17, 2022

Primus Classic Impanis-Van Petegem podium history | 2021 edition | 2023 edition

Brakel - Haacht, 199.3 km

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

.Jordi Meeus

Jordi Meeus wins the Primus Classic.

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!
Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle

David L. Stanley's masterful telling of his bout with skin cancer Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle is available in print, Kindle eBook and audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at the finish city of Haacht at 2:00 PM, local time: 13C (55F), rain showers, with the wind from the northwest at 16 km/hr (10 mph). During the afternoon the chance for rain will drop, but still vary between 12% & 40%.

The race: Here's the report from winner Jordi Meeus' Team Bora-hansgrohe.

Another rainy day awaited the riders in Belgium at the Primus-Classic today. Even a sprint was expected, the quite undulated parkours offered plenty of option to attack. Right from the gun four riders went clear from the bunch and were joined from a strong chasing group with 25km remaining. But the sprinter teams worked well together and in the end, all was set for a bunch sprint.

Ide Schelling moved up with Jordi Meeus on the last three kilometers and as they were at the head of the bunch, both were able to avoid a crash with two kilometers to go. On the home straight Jordi proved to be the fastest guy today and took a close victory ahead of Arnaud Démare.

Here's another view of the sprint.

“With the rain in the end the finale was really hectic. Ide positioned me very well and due to his work, we avoided the crash. Also on the home straight he kept the speed high, which was important. Demare started his sprint early, it was close, but my timing was perfect, and I knew I could overtake him in the end. I am really happy with this victory but also about my shape today.” – Jordi Meeus

“We didn’t have too much luck yesterday and therefore this victory today tastes even sweeter. The team worked well together until the pre-final and the support for Jordi was really good. Martin and Marco kept him out from the wind in the beginning and after the first splits Patrick did a great job. In the final we had two riders in the first bunch and had to play a little poker. The boys moved up when it mattered, and Jordi was able to deliver a perfect sprint. Great teamwork and finished off perfectly from Jordi today.” – Jean-Pierre Heynderickx, Sports Director

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Complete results:

197.3 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.752 km/hr

1 Jordi Meeus BORA-hansgrohe 4hr 43min 32sec
2 Arnaud Démare Groupama-FDJ s.t.
3 Max Kanter Movistar s.t.
4 Kenneth Van Rooy Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
5 Guillaume Boivin Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
6 Anthony Turgis TotalEnergies s.t.
7 Simone Consonni Cofidis s.t.
8 Oliver Naesen Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
9 Dries De Bondt Alpecin-Deceuninck s.t.
10 Pierre Gautherat Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
11 Ramon Sinkeldam Groupama-FDJ s.t.
12 Erik Resell Uno-X s.t.
13 Ide Schelling BORA-hansgrohe @ 4sec
14 Arnaud De Lie Lotto Soudal s.t.
15 Jasper Philipsen Alpecin-Deceuninck s.t.
16 Luca Mozzato B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
17 Bryan Coquard Cofidis s.t.
18 Emils Liepins Trek-Segafredo s.t.
19 Dion Smith BikeExchange-Jayco s.t.
20 Fredrik Dversnes Uno-X s.t.
21 Piet Allegaert Cofidis s.t.
22 Mathijs Paasschens Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
23 Edward Theuns Trek-Segafredo s.t.
24 Sandy Dujardin TotalEnergies s.t.
25 Ward Vanhoof Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
26 Dries Van Gestel TotalEnergies s.t.
27 Lennert Teugels Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
28 Philippe Gilbert Lotto Soudal s.t.
29 Axel Zingle Cofidis s.t.
30 Thomas Joseph Minerva Cycling Team s.t.
31 Dimitri Peyskens Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
32 Jonas Rutsch EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
33 Lawrence Naesen Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
34 Tomas Kopecky Abloc CT s.t.
35 Greg Van Avermaet Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
36 Ben Healy EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
37 Kamiel Bonneu Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
38 Stefano Oldani Alpecin-Deceuninck s.t.
39 Florian Vermeersch Lotto Soudal s.t.
40 Milan Menten Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces 0:09
41 Olivier Le Gac Groupama-FDJ 0:19
42 Gianni Vermeersch Alpecin-Deceuninck 0:21
43 Cédric Beullens Lotto Soudal 0:25
44 Aaron Van Poucke Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
45 Casper Pedersen Team DSM s.t.
46 Andrea Vendrame Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
47 Sep Vanmarcke Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
48 Victor Campenaerts Lotto Soudal s.t.
49 Jan Bakelants Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
50 Lewis Askey Groupama-FDJ 0:36
51 Jens Keukeleire EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
52 Marijn Van Den Berg EF Education-EasyPost 0:46
53 Alexandre Delettre Cofidis s.t.
54 Stan Van Tricht Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl 1:05
55 Markus Hoelgaard Trek-Segafredo s.t.
56 Brent Van Moer Lotto Soudal s.t.
57 Dimitri Claeys Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 1:17
58 Alexander Kristoff Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 1:44
59 Ilan Van Wilder Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
60 Fabien Grellier TotalEnergies s.t.
61 Bert Van Lerberghe Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
62 Dries Devenyns Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl s.t.
63 Lionel Taminiaux Alpecin-Deceuninck 1:52
64 Thibaut Ponsaerts Minerva Cycling Team 2:10
65 Martin Urianstad Uno-X 2:25
66 Bram Welten Groupama-FDJ 2:28
67 Edward Planckaert Alpecin-Deceuninck 2:32
68 Ignatas Konovalovas Groupama-FDJ 2:54
69 Gonzalo Serrano Movistar 4:07
70 Niki Terpstra TotalEnergies 5:18
71 Jacob Relaes Tarteletto-Isorex 5:45
72 Tom Van Asbroeck Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
73 Stijn Appel Abloc CT s.t.
74 Andreas Goeman Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
75 Mathias Norsgaard Movistar s.t.
76 Imanol Erviti Movistar s.t.
77 Johan Jacobs Movistar s.t.
78 Martins Pluto Abloc CT s.t.
79 Tim Naberman Team DSM s.t.
80 Niklas Märkl Team DSM s.t.
81 Gijs Van Hoecke Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
82 Nolann Mahoudo B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
83 Baptiste Planckaert Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
84 Fabien Doubey TotalEnergies s.t.
85 Stanislaw Aniolkowski Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
86 Callum Macleod Abloc CT s.t.
87 Florian Dauphin B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
88 Niklas Larsen Uno-X 5:55
89 Owain Doull EF Education-EasyPost s.t.