BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2022 Ronde van Drenthe (1.1), Netherlands

Formerly "Albert Achterhes Profonde van Drenthe" and "Dwars door Drenthe"

59th edition: Sunday, March 13, 2022

Ronde van Drenthe podium history | 2021 edition | 2023 edition

Assen - Hoogeveen, 198.1 km

Dries van Gestel finishes five seconds ahead of his nearest chasers.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels

Les Woodland's book Tour de France: The Inside Story - Making the World's Greatest Bicycle Race is available as an audiobook here. For the print and Kindle eBook versions, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race: Here's the report from second-place Barnabas Peak's Intermarch-Wanty-Gobert team:

For the second year in a row, a rider of Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux climbed on the second step of the podium in the Tour of Drenthe (1.1, 13/03). This classic of almost 200 kilometer between Assen and Hoogeveen was the first race of the World Team’s Dutch calendar this Sunday.

A trio escaped in the beginning, with the riders directed by Frederik Veuchelen staying united in the peloton to approach the seven cobble sections in the first race half. Kévin Van Melsen then took the lead of the bunch to reduce the advantage.

The final was opened during the second of five passages on the Col du VAM (0.4km at 4.6%) in the final 100 kilometer. The first echelon in the race, with Hungarian rider Barnabás Peák caught the escapees and raced with an advantage of one minute on the first chasing group.

In the final race hour, Barnabás Peák reacted to the multiple attacks of for example the quartet of Jumbo-Visma. Behind Van Gestel, who attacked in the final, Peák won the sprint for second place in a group of five, repeating what  Andrea Pasqualon did in the previous edition. Gerben Thijssen was the fastest of the chasing group and concluded the top fifteen.

“After celebrating the victories of Biniam Girmay and Alexander Kristoff in my first races with the team, I received the opportunity to step on the podium today. This Tour of Drenthe was particularly difficult, because in addition to the cobble sections and the Col du VAM we had to battle against the wind. Every kilometer costed energy to make the selection. In the final I had confidence in my fast legs. I'm a happy second, because Van Gestel showed several times that he was the strongest. With the Performance Team we determined that March would be an important month for me, so I'm happy to deliver according to the plan. After Gerben Thijssen's fourth place last week in the GP Monseré, I'm looking forward to accompany him in our next races, Nokere Koerse and the Bredene Koksijde Classic, two races we appreciate much.” - Barnabás Peák

Content continues below the ads

Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles

Complete Results:

198.1 kilometers raced at an average speed of 38.369 km/hr

1  Dries van Gestel TotalEnergies 5hr 8min 47sec
2  Barnabas Peak Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert @ 5sec
3  Hugo Hofstetter Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
4  Timo Roosen Jumbo-Visma s.t.
5  Joren Bloem ABLOC CT s.t.
6  Mick Van Dijke Jumbo-Visma s.t.
7  Kevin Vauquelin Arkéa-Samsic 0:23
8  Dries De Bondt Alpecin-Fenix 0:27
9  Rick Ottema Metec-Solarwatt s.t.
10  Rick Pluimers Jumbo-Visma s.t.
11  Casper Van Uden Team DSM s.t.
12  Benjamin Declercq Arkéa-Samsic 0:29
13  Pascal Eenkhoorn Jumbo-Visma 0:31
14  Tomas Kopecky ABLOC CT 0:32
15  Gerben Thijssen Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert 1:14
16  Milan Menten Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
17  Jakub Mareczko Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
18  Martijn Budding Riwal Cycling s.t.
19  Kenneth Van Rooy Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
20  Boy van Poppel Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
21  Thimo Willems Minerva Cycling s.t.
22  Guillaume Van Keirsbulck Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
23  Erik Resell Uno-X s.t.
24  Pierre Barbier B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
25  Markus Pajur Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
26  David Dekker Jumbo-Visma s.t.
27  Ruben Apers Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
28  Julien Vermote Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
29  Donavan Grondin Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
30  Pavel Bittner Team DSM s.t.
31  Peter Schulting VolkerWessels s.t.
32  Loe Van Belle Jumbo-Visma s.t.
33  Kevin Van Melsen Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
34  Fabien Grellier TotalEnergies s.t.
35  Stijn Daemen BEAT Cycling s.t.
36  Timo De Jong VolkerWessels s.t.
37  Christophe Noppe Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
38  Robbe Ghys Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
39  Thijs De Lange Metec-Solarwatt s.t.
40  Kevin Ledanois Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
41  Lars Loohuis ABLOC CT s.t.
42  Louis Blouwe Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces s.t.
43  Fabio Van Den Bossche Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
44  Julien Morice B&B Hotels-KTM s.t.
45  Niki Terpstra TotalEnergies s.t.
46  Tijmen Eising VolkerWessels s.t.
47  Soren Waerenskjold Uno-X s.t.
48  Ayco Bastiaens Alpecin-Fenix 1:23
49  Karl Patrick Lauk Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces 1:47
50  Bert-Jan Lindeman VolkerWessels 2:11
51  Abram Stockman Saris Rouvy Sauerland 2:15
52  Leon Heinschke Team DSM 2:32
53  Ludovic Robeet Bingoal-Pauwels Sauces 3:32
54  Jasper Schouten Allinq Continental 3:44
55  Lars Boven Jumbo-Visma 4:16
56  Casper Pedersen Team DSM s.t.
57  Elmar Reinders Riwal Cycling s.t.
58  Danny Van der Tuuk Netherlands s.t.
59  Arne Peters Allinq Continental s.t.
60  Jochem Kerckhaert BEAT Cycling 5:38
61  Bodi Del Grosso ABLOC CT s.t.
62  Antti-Jussi Juntunen ABLOC CT s.t.
63  Quentin Jauregui B&B Hotels-KTM 10:15
64  Lorrenzo Manzin TotalEnergies s.t.
65  Tibor Del Grosso Metec-Solarwatt s.t.


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!