BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2007 Omloop Het Volk (HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

60th edition: March 3, 2007

Omloop Het-Volk podium history | 2006 results | 2008 results

Ghent-Lokeren, 210 km / 41.361 km/hr
195 starters / 55 classified finishers

Race story | Complete results | Course map

Filippo pozzato

Filippo Pozzato timed his powerful move perfectly to win the race. Sirotti photo.

Filippo pozzato

The podium, from left: Tom Boonen (3rd), Filippo Pozzato and Juan Antonio Flecha (2nd). Sirotti photo

The race: It was a rainy morning in Belgium and the slippery cobblestones sent many riders to the ground and several to the hospital.

Despite one attack after another, a break didn't get away until the Oude Kwaremont, 50 kilometers into the race. The eight riders quickly went to work, but never built a large lead.

After the climbs were finished and the cobblestoned sectors began, about sixty kilometers from the finish, the eight riders were 2min 20sec ahead of the first chasers. Rabobank worked hard to catch the escapees, and with forty to go, they had succeeded.

As expected, that set things up for another round of attacks, and with fourteen kilometers left the best riders had made it to the leading group.

The final meaningful moves began when Stuart O'Grady got away. Juan Antonio Flecha quickly got on his wheel. Tom Boonen tried to bridge up to them, but didn't have the suds that day. As he chased, Boonen was joined by Filippo Pozzato, Baden Cooke and Nick Nuyens.

With five kilometers to race, O'Grady and Flecha had a twelve-second gap. They looked to have the race wrapped up, but as the duo got close to the line, they started slowing and jockeying for position in anticipation of the sprint. Nick Nuyens saw the opportunity and jumped after them. Pozzato let Boonen go after Nuyens. Pozzato was quickly on Boonen's wheel and with 300 meters left, Pozzato went around everyone to win the race alone.

Flecha was second, beating Boonen, Nuyens and O'Grady across the line.

Pozzato had already won the 2005 HEW Cyclassics and the 2006 Milano-San Remo. He would go on to other important victories, including the 2009 E3, Giro del Veneto and the 2013 Trofeo Laigueglia and Coppa Ugo Agostoni.

Complete results

1 Filippo Pozzato  Liquigas 5hr 4min 38sec
2 Juan Antonio Flecha  Rabobank @ 2sec
3 Tom Boonen  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
4 Nick Nuyens  Cofidis s.t.
5 Stuart O'Grady  Team CSC s.t.
6 Baden Cooke 30sec
7 Gorik Gardeyn 39sec
8 Stefan Van Dijk  Wiesenhof-Felt s.t.
9 Robbie McEwen  Predictor-Lotto s.t.
10 Steven De Jongh  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
11 Philippe Gilbert  FDJ s.t.
12 Andreas Klier  T-Mobile s.t.
13 Nico Eeckhout  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
14 Murilo Antonio Fischer  Liquigas s.t.
15 Mathew Hayman  Rabobank s.t.
16 Marcus Burghardt  T-Mobile s.t.
17 Gabriele Balducci  Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo s.t.
18 Jukka Vastaranta  Jartazi-Promo Fashion s.t.
19 Bastiaan Giling  Wiesenhof-Felt s.t.
20 Tomas Vaitkus  Discovery Channel s.t.
21 Laurens Ten Dam 0.45
22 Bert Roesems  Predictor-Lotto 0.49
23 Kevin Van Impe  Quick Step-Innergetic 0.50
24 Johan Van Summeren  Predictor-Lotto 1min 2sec
25 Roy Sentjens  Predictor-Lotto 1.20
26 Filip Meirhaeghe  Landbouwkrediet-Tönissteiner 3.13
27 Eric Baumann  T-Mobile s.t.
28 Christophe Laurent  Crédit Agricole 4.26
29 Lars Ytting Bak  Team CSC s.t.
30 Yuriy Krivtsov  Ag2r Prévoyance s.t.
31 Aurélien Clerc  Bouyges Telecom s.t.
32 Ralf Grabsch  Milram s.t.
33 Staf Scheirlinckx  Cofidis s.t.
34 Marcel Sieberg  Milram s.t.
35 Kevin Neirynck  Landbouwkrediet-Tönissteiner s.t.
36 Mathieu Heijboer  Cofidis s.t.
37 Frederik Veuchelen  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
38 Grégory Rast  Astana s.t.
39 Michiel Elijzen  Cofidis s.t.
40 Martin Müller  Milram s.t.
41 Sebastian Siedler  Milram s.t.
42 Frédéric Guesdon  FDJ s.t.
43 Roger Hammond  T-Mobile s.t.
44 Alessandro Donati  Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo s.t.
45 Steve Cummings  Discovery Channel s.t.
46 Leif Hoste  Predictor-Lotto s.t.
47 Alexandre Pichot  Bouyges Telecom s.t.
48 Max Van Heeswijk  Rabobank s.t.
49 William Bonnet  Crédit Agricole s.t.
50 Renaud Dion  Ag2r Prévoyance s.t.
51 Roberto Petito  Liquigas s.t.
52 Manuel Quinziato  Liquigas s.t.
53 Sébastien Chavanel  FDJ s.t.
54 Jimmy Casper s.t.
55 Allan Johansen  Team CSC s.t.
56 Wouter Weylandt  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
57 Arnaud Coyot s.t.
58 Peter Van Petegem  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
59 Dmitriy Muravyev  Astana s.t.
60 Serguei Ivanov  Astana s.t.
61 Guennadi Mikhailov  Astana s.t.
62 Gerben Löwik  Rabobank s.t.
63 Sebastian Lang  Rabobank s.t.
64 Nico Mattan DFL-Cyclingnews-Litespeed @ 6min
65 Alessandro Cortinovis  Milram s.t.
66 Gianni Meersman  Discovery Channel s.t.
67 Wilfried Cretskens  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
68 Aaron Kemps  Astana s.t.
69 Anders Lund  Team CSC s.t.
70 Maarten Tjallingii  Skil-Shimano s.t.
71 Wim Vansevenant  Predictor-Lotto s.t.
72 Servais Knaven  T-Mobile s.t.
73 Marco Zanotti s.t.
74 Lorenzo Bernucci  T-Mobile s.t.
75 Fabio Sabatini  Milram s.t.
76 Antonio Cruz  Discovery Channel s.t.
77 Matthew White  Discovery Channel s.t.
78 Laszlo Bodrogi  Crédit Agricole s.t.
79 Matthew Wilson s.t.
80 Alessandro Vanotti  Liquigas s.t.
81 Allan Davis  Discovery Channel s.t.
82 Jeremy Hunt s.t.
83 Julian Dean  Crédit Agricole s.t.
84 Greg Van Avermaet  Predictor-Lotto s.t.
85 Michael Schär  Astana 6min 25sec

2007 Omloop Het Volk map:

2007 Omloop Het Volk