BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2006 Omloop Het Volk (HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

59th edition: February 25, 2006

Omloop Het Volk podium history | 2005 edition | 2007 edition

Ghent-Lokeren, 202 km / 40.904 km/hr
186 starters / 95 classified finishers

Philippe Gilbert

Philippe Gilbert wins 2006 Omloop Het Volk

The race: It was a cold, windy morning when the riders began the Belgian racing season by starting the day's race in Ghent. The attackers were soon hammering away and after about twenty kilometers there were about twelve riders off the front.

The pack chased hard, but by kilometer 80, the escapees were 2min 38sec ahead.

Tom Boonen and his Quick-Step team worked hard to bring back the break and their efforts were finally rewarded with fifty kilometers to go when all were caught.

With the climbs behind them, that re-groupment meant the riders would begin a fresh round of attacks, with thirteen riders eventually getting away. Jumping from the pack to get up to the break were Philippe Gilbert, Joost Posthuma, Leon van Bon, Roger Hammond, Steffen Wesemann and Thor Hushovd. Meanwhile, up front, the break was splintering.

Gilbert jumped from the chasers and bridged up to the break. He worked with the break for a while. Then, after a couple of attacks, he went off the front, alone.

He had seven kilometers to go and never looked back. Gilbert was on fire and soloed in, 38 seconds ahead of second-place Bert de Waele.

Gilbert's career was just getting started. He would go on to become World Champion and win the Tour of Flanders, Amstel Gold (4 times!), Tour of Lombardy and a host of other important races.

Complete results:

1 Philippe Gilbert  FDJ 4hr 56min 18sec
2 Bert De Waele  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago @ 38sec
3 Leon Van Bon  Davimaton-Lotto 0.54
4 Koen Barbe  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
5 Filippo Pozzato  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
6 Gert Steegmans  Davimaton-Lotto 1.45
7 Joost Posthuma  Rabobank s.t.
8 Franck Renier  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
9 Wim De Vocht  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
10 Michele Maccanti  Team LPR s.t.
11 Steffen Wesemann  T-Mobile s.t.
12 Thor Hushovd  Crédit Agricole 2.01
13 Tom Boonen  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
14 Staf Scheirlinckx  Cofidis s.t.
15 Marc De Maar  Rabobank s.t.
16 Roger Hammond  Discovery Channel s.t.
17 Marco Serpellini s.t.
18 Andy Flickinger  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
19 Mark Scanlon  Ag2r-Prévoyance s.t.
20 Gorik Gardeyn 4.37
21 Kurt Hovelynck  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
22 Mathew Hayman  Rabobank s.t.
23 Guennadi Mikhailov  Discovery Channel s.t.
24 Filip Meirhaeghe  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 5.17
25 Maarten Tjallingii  Skil-Shimano s.t.
26 Ralf Grabsch  Team Milram s.t.
27 Matti Breschel  Team CSC 7.4
28 Steffen Radochla  Wiesenhof-Akud s.t.
29 Sébastien Hinault  Crédit Agricole s.t.
30 Marcus Burghardt  T-Mobile s.t.
31 Lars Michaelsen  Team CSC s.t.
32 Maarten den Bakker  Team Milram s.t.
33 Aart Vierhouten  Skil-Shimano s.t.
34 James Vanlandschoot  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
35 Frédéric Guesdon  FDJ s.t.
36 Jimmy Engoulvent  Crédit Agricole s.t.
37 Robby Meul  Jartazi-7 Mobile s.t.
38 Marcus Ljungqvist  Team CSC s.t.
39 Nicola Loda  Liquigas-Bianchi s.t.
40 Xavier Florencio  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
41 Pedro Horrillo  Rabobank s.t.
42 Cedric Coutouly  Agritubel s.t.
43 Laszlo Bodrogi  Crédit Agricole s.t.
44 Ronny Poelvoorde  Flanders s.t.
45 Bert Scheirlinckx  Jartazi-7 Mobile s.t.
46 Olivier Bonnaire  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
47 Wilfried Cretskens  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
48 Grégory Rast  Phonak s.t.
49 Serguei Ivanov  T-Mobile s.t.
50 Arnaud Gerard  FDJ s.t.
51 Benoît Joachim  Discovery Channel s.t.
52 Didier Rous  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
53 Walter Beneteau  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
54 Ludovic Auger  FDJ s.t.
55 Marco Milesi  Liquigas-Bianchi s.t.
56 Johan Coenen s.t.
57 Niko Eeckhout  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
58 Marco Zanotti s.t.
59 Marc Wauters  Rabobank s.t.
60 Baden Cooke s.t.
61 Maarten Wijnants  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
62 Michael Albasini  Liquigas-Bianchi s.t.
63 Robbie McEwen  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
64 Nico Mattan  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
65 Glenn d'Hollander  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
66 Leif Hoste  Discovery Channel s.t.
67 Andreas Klier  T-Mobile s.t.
68 Christophe Mengin  FDJ s.t.
69 Mirko Celestino  Team Milram s.t.
70 Aivaras Baranauskas  Agritubel s.t.
71 Jimmy Casper  Cofidis s.t.
72 Anthony Geslin  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
73 Sébastien Minard  Cofidis s.t.
74 Frederik Willems  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
75 Arnaud Coyot  Cofidis s.t.
76 Cyrille Monnerais  FDJ s.t.
77 Yannick Talabardon  Crédit Agricole s.t.
78 Frederik Veuchelen  Chocolade Jacques-Top Sport Vlaanderen s.t.
79 Paul Martens  Skil-Shimano s.t.
80 Tom Steels  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
81 Lorenzo Bernucci  T-Mobile s.t.
82 Geert Omloop s.t.
83 Thierry Marichal  Cofidis s.t.
84 Mikhaylo Khalilov  Team LPR s.t.
85 Stijn Devolder  Discovery Channel s.t.
86 Jeremy Hunt s.t.
87 Uros Murn  Phonak s.t.
88 Kevin Hulsmans  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
89 Kevin Van Impe  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
90 Nick Nuyens  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
91 Peter Van Petegem  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
92 Francis Mourey  FDJ s.t.