BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2005 Omloop Het Volk (HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

58th edition: February 26, 2005

Omloop Het Volk podium history | 2004 edition | 2006 edition

Ghent-Lokeren, 201 km / 39.411 km/hr
176 starters / 75 classified finishers

Race story | Complete results | Course map

Nick Nuyens

Nick Nuyens finishes the 2005 Omloop Het Volk a quarter-minute ahead of his nearest chasers.

Weather for the Het Volk: It's a cold day today (Saturday, February 26) in Belgium. A little snow here and there and some very cold rain. It's up to 36F (2C) in Ghent at 2 PM, wind from the North at 2mph (kph).

Cycling's 50 Triumphs and Tragedies

The race: The day's break escaped after 15 kilometers of racing in the cold, but dry Belgian air. Jakob Piil, Kristof Trouvé, Benoit Vaugrenard eventually built a 4min 40sec lead, but Quick-Step started pulling the trio back at about kilometer 70.

Twenty kilometers later, Discovery's Stijn Devolder left the pack and was soon joined by Karsten Kroon and Bram Tankink. They caught and passed the early escapees.

Others bridged up to the Devolder trio and with 65 kilometers to go there were eight men 45 seconds ahead of the field. With only one Quick-Step rider in the break, the powerful Belgian team went to the front of the chasing field and started a serious effort to catch the eight. It worked. With almost 40 kilometers to go, the break was neutralized.

Of course, that was the signal for a new round of attacks. The move that mattered came with 18 to go. Ludo Dierckxsens took off and was quickly joined by Nick Nuyens and Johan Coenen.

Three kilometers later Nuyens hit the afterburners and was gone. He crossed the line alone, gaining his best win so far in his young career.

Fourteen second later, his Quick-Step teammate Tom Boonen led in the pack for second place

Complete Results:

1 Nick Nuyens  Quick Step-Innergetic 5hr 6min
2 Tom Boonen  Quick Step-Innergetic @ 14sec
3 Steven De Jongh  Rabobank s.t.
4 Nico Eeckhout  Chocolade Jacques-T Interim s.t.
5 Bert De Waele  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
6 Uros Murn  Phonak s.t.
7 Roy Sentjens  Rabobank s.t.
8 Max Van Heeswijk  Discovery Channel s.t.
9 Karsten Kroon  Rabobank s.t.
10 Ludo Dierckxsens  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
11 Andreas Klier  T-Mobile s.t.
12 Allan Johansen  Team CSC s.t.
13 Robbie McEwen  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
14 Anthony Geslin  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
15 Johan Coenen  Mr Bookmaker-Sports Tech s.t.
16 Christophe Detilloux  FDJ s.t.
17 Jimmy Casper  Cofidis s.t.
18 Stuart O'Grady  Cofidis s.t.
19 Jaan Kirsipuu  Crédit Agricole s.t.
20 Matthé Pronk  Mr Bookmaker-Sports Tech s.t.
21 Philippe Gilbert  FDJ s.t.
22 Nico Mattan  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
23 Maarten Den Bakker  Rabobank s.t.
24 Grégory Rast  Phonak s.t.
25 Sergey Ivanov  T-Mobile s.t.
26 Koen Barbe  Chocolade Jacques-T Interim s.t.
27 Aart Vierhouten  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
28 Cédric Vasseur  Cofidis s.t.
29 Thomas Voeckler  Bouygues Télécom s.t.
30 George Hincapie  Discovery Channel s.t.
31 Steffen Wesemann  T-Mobile s.t.
32 Mathew Hayman  Rabobank s.t.
33 Marc Lotz  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
34 Kevin Hulsmans  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
35 Bram Tankink  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
36 Marc Wauters  Rabobank s.t.
37 Kevin Van Impe  Chocolade Jacques-T Interim s.t.
38 Peter Van Petegem  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
39 Leon Van Bon  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
40 Stijn De Volder Discovery Channel 26sec
41 Jan Kuykx Davimaton-Lotto 3min 47sec
42 Paolo Longo Borghini  Barloworld s.t.
43 Sébastien Hinault Crédit Agricole 4min 6sec
44 Andy Flickinger  Ag2r s.t.
45 Thierry De Groote  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
46 David Boucher  Mr Bookmaker-Sports Tech s.t.
47 Aurélien Clerc  Phonak s.t.
48 Cyril Lemoine  Crédit Agricole s.t.
49 Michael Barry  Discovery Channel s.t.
50 Vladimir Gusev  Team CSC s.t.
51 Viatcheslav Ekimov  Discovery Channel s.t.
52 Pieter Ghyllebert  Chocolade Jacques-T Interim s.t.
53 Wim Vansevenant  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
54 Jan Boven  Rabobank s.t.
55 Glenn d'Hollander  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
56 Gorik Gardeyn  Mr Bookmaker-Sports Tech s.t.
57 Lars Michaelsen  Team CSC s.t.
58 Erwin Thijs  Mr Bookmaker-Sports Tech s.t.
59 Roger Hammond  Discovery Channel s.t.
60 Lilian Jégou  FDJ s.t.
61 Stephan Schreck  T-Mobile s.t.
62 Jeremy Hunt  Mr Bookmaker-Sports Tech s.t.
63 Daniele Contrini  Team LPR 6min 25sec
64 Cédric Coutouly  Agritubel s.t.
65 Ludovic Auger FDJ 7min 34sec
66 Denys Kostyuk  Jartazi Granville s.t.
67 Staf Scheirlinckx  Cofidis s.t.
68 Geert Verheyen  Landbouwkrediet-Colnago s.t.
69 Benny De Schrooder  Chocolade Jacques-T Interim s.t.
70 Wim De Vocht  Davimaton-Lotto s.t.
71 Christopher Baldwin  Navigators Insurance s.t.
72 Mikaël Delage  FDJ s.t.
73 Kirk O'Bee  Navigators Insurance s.t.
74 Rolf Aldag  T-Mobile s.t.
75 Nick Nuyens  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.

Course map:

2005 Het Volk course map