BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1978 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

33rd edition: March 4, 1978

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1977 edition | 1979 edition

Gent - Gent, 218 km / 42.536 km/hr
172 starters / 31 classified finishers

Freddy Maertens

1978 Omloop Het Volk winner Freddy Maertens outsprints Alfons van Katwijk (mostly hidden, on left) and Jan Raas. Didi Thurau, fifth, is on the right

Complete Results:

1 Freddy Maertens  Flandria-Velda-Lano 5hr 7min 30sec
2 Fons van Katwijk  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
3 Jan Raas  TI-Raleigh s.t.
4 André Dierickx  IJsboerke-Gios s.t.
5 Dietrich Thurau  IJsboerke-Gios s.t.
6 Etienne van der Helst  C & A @ 5sec
7 Ronan De Meyer  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia 25sec
8 Guido Van Calster  C & A 38sec
9 Marc Demeyer  Flandria-Velda-Lano s.t.
10 Walter Godefroot  IJsboerke-Gios s.t.
11 Jos Jacobs  IJsboerke-Gios s.t.
12 Wilfried Wesemael  TI-Raleigh s.t.
13 Jean Vanderstappen  Mini Flat-Boule d'Or-Colnago s.t.
14 Eric Van De Wiele  IJsboerke-Gios s.t.
15 Rudy Pevenage  IJsboerke-Gios s.t.
16 Jan Aling  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
17 Walter Planckaert  C & A s.t.
18 Herman Van Springel  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
19 Ferdi Van Den Haute  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
20 Gerrie Knetemann  TI-Raleigh s.t.
21 Hennie Kuiper  TI-Raleigh s.t.
22 Michel Pollentier  Flandria-Velda-Lano s.t.
23 Patrick Lefevere  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia 4min 0sec
24 Cees Priem  TI-Raleigh s.t.
25 Jacques Bossis  Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo s.t.
26 José de Cauwer TI-Raleigh s.t.
27 Ad van den Hoek TI-Raleigh s.t.
28 Bernard Bourreau Peugeot s.t.
29 Rudy Colman Mini Flat-Boule d'Or-Colnago s.t.
30 Eddy Schepers C & A s.t.
31 Johan van der Velde TI-Raleigh s.t.