BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1977 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

32nd edition: March 5, 1977

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1976 edition | 1978 edition

Gent - Gent, 201 km / 42.918 km/hr
154 starters / 38 classified finishers

Freddy Maertens

1977 Omloop Het Volk winner Freddy Maertens (rainbow jersey) and Jan Raas (Dutch champion's jersey) on their winning break.

Complete Results:

1 Freddy Maertens  Flandria-Velda-Latina 4hr 41min
2 Jan Raas  Frisol-Gazelle-Thirion s.t.
3 Ludo Peeters  IJsboerke-Colnago @ 1min 4sec
4 Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke  Peugeot-Esso-Michelin s.t.
5 Eddy Merckx  Fiat s.t.
6 Walter Godefroot  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
7 Patrick Sercu  Fiat s.t.
8 Roger De Vlaeminck  Brooklyn s.t.
9 Eric Leman  Carpenter-Splendor-Zeepcentrale s.t.
10 Wilfried Wesemael  Frisol-Gazelle-Thirion s.t.
11 Eric De Vlaeminck  Gios-Majerus s.t.
12 Herman Van Springel  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
13 Cees Priem  Frisol-Gazelle-Thirion s.t.
14 Marcello Osler  Brooklyn s.t.
15 Willy Planckaert  Maes Pils-Mini Flat s.t.
16 Luc Leman  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
17 Ronald De Witte  Brooklyn s.t.
18 Frans Verbeeck  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
19 Roger Rosiers  Frisol-Gazelle-Thirion s.t.
20 Ludo Delcroix  Fiat s.t.
21 André Dierickx  Maes Pils-Mini Flat s.t.
22 Michel Pollentier  Flandria-Velda-Latina s.t.
23 Dietrich Thurau  TI-Raleigh s.t.
24 Etienne Van Der Helst  Maes Pils-Mini Flat s.t.
25 Marc Demeyer  Flandria-Velda-Latina 2min 10sec
26 Willy Teirlinck Gitane-Campagnolo 9min 25sec
27 Geert Malfait Frisol-Gazelle-Thirion s.t.
28 Marc Dierickx Carlos-Gipiemme s.t.
29 Gustaaf van Roosbroeck IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
30 Johnny van der Veken Ebo-Superia s.t.
31 Jan Aling Ebo-Superia s.t.
32 Jan van Katwijk Carpenter-Splendor-Zeepcentrale s.t.
33 Ferdi van den Haute Ebo-Superia s.t.
34 Ronan de Meyer Ebo-Superia s.t.
35 Charles Rouxel Miko-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
36 Willem Peeters IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
37 Joseph Jacobs IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
38 Ad van den Hoeck TI-Raleigh s.t.