BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1976 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

31st edition: March 6, 1976

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1975 edition | 1977 edition

Gent - Gent, 202 km / 42.377 km/hr
154 starters / 38 classified finishers

Willem Peeters

1976 Omloop Het Volk winner Willem Peeters has just dropped World Champion Hennie Kuiper as he approaches the line.

Complete Results:

The day was extremely cold, probably explaining the small number of classified finishers. In the final kilometers winner Willem Peeters sat on Hennie Kuiper's wheel and then close to the line, Peeters took off to win the race.

1 Willem Peeters  IJsboerke-Colnago 4hr 46min
2 Hennie Kuiper  TI-Raleigh 6sec
3 Patrick Sercu  Brooklyn 1min 4sec
4 Walter Planckaert  Maes Pils-Rokado s.t.
5 Luc Leman  Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia s.t.
6 Cees Bal  Molteni-Campagnolo s.t.
7 Frans Verhaegen  Flandria-Velda s.t.
8 Frans Verbeeck  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
9 Jan Raas  TI-Raleigh s.t.
10 Wilfried Wesemael  Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia s.t.
11 Walter Godefroot  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
12 Eric Leman  Zoppas-Splendor-Sinalco s.t.
13 Freddy Maertens  Flandria-Velda s.t.
14 Joseph Jacobs  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
15 Eddy Merckx  Molteni-Campagnolo s.t.
16 André Dierickx  Maes Pils-Rokado s.t.
17 Ludo Peeters  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
18 Willy Teirlinck  Gitane-Campagnolo s.t.
19 Roger De Vlaeminck  Brooklyn s.t.
20 Wilfried David  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
21 Dietrich Thurau  TI-Raleigh s.t.
22 Ferdi Van Den Haute  Ebo-Cinzia s.t.
23 Dirk Ongenae  Flandria-Velda s.t.
24 Guido Van Sweevelt  IJsboerke-Colnago s.t.
25 Dirk Baert  Carlos s.t.
26 Gerben Karstens TI-Raleigh s.t.
27 Marc Lievens Molteni-Campagnolo s.t.
28 Piet van Katwijk TI-Raleigh s.t.
29 Roger Swerts Molteni-Campagnolo s.t.
30 Michel Pollentier Flandria-Velda s.t.
31 Luis Balague Super Ser s.t.
31 Walter Dalgal Carlos s.t.
31 Gerrie Knetemann TI-Raleigh s.t.
31 André Mollet Maes Pils-Rokado s.t.
31 Luis Ocana Super Ser s.t.
31 Tino Tabak Flandria-Velda s.t.
31 Jurgen Tschan Peugeot-Esso s.t.
31 Johnny Van der Veken Ebo-Cinzia s.t.