BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1979 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

34th edition: March 3, 1979

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1978 edition | 1980 edition

Gent - Gent, 215 km / 40.396 km/hr
176 starters / 30 classified finishers

Roger de Vlarmick

1979 Omloop Het Volk winner Roger de Vlaeminck rode for Gis Gelati in 1979 then again for the Gis Gelati-Tuc Lu team in his last season, 1984.

Complete Results:

Roger de Vlaeminck's two Omloop Het Volk wins came 10 years apart: 1969 and 1979. He also won Milano-San Remo in 1979.

1 Roger De Vlaeminck  Gis Gelati 5hr 19min 20sec
2 Jan Raas  TI-Raleigh-McGregor s.t.
3 Frank Hoste  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
4 Adri Jos Schipper  Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia @ 12sec
5 Michel Pollentier  Splendor-Euro Soap 14sec
6 Dietrich Thurau  IJsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios 16sec
7 Fons De Wolf  Boule d'Or-Lano-Colnago 56sec
8 Frits Pirard  Miko-Mercier-Vivagel 1min 42sec
9 Marc Demeyer  Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair s.t.
10 Sean Kelly  Splendor-Euro Soap s.t.
11 Ferdi van den Haute Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
12 Willem Peeters Safir-Ludo-St. Louis 2min 10sec
13 Herman van Springel Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
14 Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke Peugeot-Esso-Michelin s.t.
15 Roger de Cnijf Boule d'Or-Lano-Colnago s.t.
16 Alfons van Katwijk Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia 2min 15sec
17 Marc Renier KAS-Campagnolo 2min 26sec
18 Walter Planckaert Miniflat-VDB s.t.
19 Eric van de Wiele IJsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios s.t.
20 Rudy Pevenage IJsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios s.t.
21 Gerrie Knetemann TI-Raleigh-McGregor s.t.
22 Cees Priem TI-Raleigh-McGregor s.t.
23 Etienne van de Helst KAS-Campagnolo 4min 25sec
24 Herman van der Slagmolen Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair 4min 30sec
25 Willy Teirlinck KAS-Campagnolo 4min 55sec
26 Marcel Laurens Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia s.t.
27 Ludwig Wijnants Miniflat-VDB s.t.
28 Henk Lubberding TI-Raleigh-McGregor s.t.
29 Dirk Wayenberg Safir-Ludo-St. Louis s.t.
30 Jo Maas DAF Trucks-Aida s.t.