BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1986 Clásica de San Sebastián, Spain

6th edition, August 13, 1986
Complete Results

Classica San Sebastian podium history | 1985 edition | 1987 edition

August 13, 1986: San Sebastian - San Sebastian, 244 km.

Inaki Gaston

Winner Iñaki Gaston in 1986

Sticky Buns Across America

The race: This was a fast race. Basque rider Iñaki Gaston of the KAS team finished the race a half-hour ahead of the organizer's schedule.

Rup¡rez, the director of the KAS team, set out to win this race from the start. He sent out one rider, Stephan Joho, at the gun, who soloed for 80 kilometers. Then KAS riders Ruiz Cabestany and Eduardo Chozas went away, at one point having a lead of four minutes.

But it was the duo of Iñaki Gaston and Marino Lejarreta who made their escape stick, with Gaston easily winning the sprint and the sixth edition of the Clásica de San Sebastián

Complete Results:

? starters, 66 classified finishers

244 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.370 km/hr

1 Iñaki Gaston KAS 5hr 53min 5sec
2 Marino Lejarreta Seat-Orbea s.t.
3 Juan Fernandez Zor-BH @ 43sec
4 Federico Echave Teka s.t.
5 Vicente Belda Kelme @ 4'00"
6 Acacio Da Silva Malvor-Bottecchia s.t.
7 Ludo Peeters Kwantum-Decosol s.t.
8 Carlos Hernandez Reynolds s.t.
9 Jokin Mujika Seat-Orbea s.t.
10 Anselmo Fuerte Zor-BH s.t.
11 Angel Ocaña Teka s.t.
12 Claude Criquielion Hitachi-Marc-Splendor s.t.
13 Antonio Esparza Seat-Orbea 5'05"
14 Jan Wijnants Hitachi-Marc-Splendor s.t.
15 Jesus Blanco Villar Teka s.t.
16 Jesus Rodriguez Zor-BH s.t.
17 Alirio Chizabas Kelme s.t.
18 Oscar Vargas Kelme s.t.
19 Philippe Bouvatier Zor-BH 7'55"
20 Vicente Barbera Colchon CR s.t.
21 Laudelino Cubino Zor-BH s.t.
22 Xavier Lukin KAS s.t.
23 Ricardo Zuniga Colchon CR s.t.
24 Ronan Pensec Peugeot-Shell s.t.
25 Angel De Las Heras Zahor Chocolates s.t.
26 Jaime Vilamajo Seat-Orbea s.t.
27 Pedro Delgado PDM s.t.
28 José Manuel Zeferino Lousa Trinaranjus s.t.
29 Julian Gorospe Reynolds s.t.
30 Enrique Aja Teka s.t.
31 Juan Carlos Rozas Zor-BH s.t.
32 François Lemarchand Fagor s.t.
33 Jaime Salva Teka s.t.
34 Celestino Prieto Reynolds s.t.
35 José Luis Laguia Reynolds s.t.
36 Alfonso Gutierrez Teka s.t.
37 José Claramunt Colchon CR 10'10"
38 Imanol Murga Seat-Orbea s.t.
39 Joaquin Faura Colchon CR s.t.
40 André Meuwissen Hitachi-Marc-Splendor s.t.
41 Hipolito Verdu Colchon CR s.t.
42 Manuel Guijarro Seat-Orbea s.t.
43 Jesus Cruz Martinez Kelme s.t.
44 Ricardo Martinez Kelme s.t.
45 Valentin Dorronsoro Colchon CR s.t.
46 Juan Tomas Martinez Zahor Chocolates s.t.
47 Jesus Arambarri Seat-Orbea s.t.
48 Jesus Rodriguez Colchon CR s.t.
49 Stephan Joho KAS s.t.
50 Eric Caritoux Fagor s.t.
51 Roland Leclerc Seat-Orbea s.t.
52 Jesus Alonso Zor-BH s.t.
53 Manuel Cardenas Teka s.t.
54 José Rafael Garcia Dormilon-Campagnolo s.t.
55 Twan Poels Kwantum-Decosol s.t.
56 Alfred Achermann KAS 12'21"
57 Jörg Müller KAS s.t.
58 Santiago Portillo Zahor Chocolates s.t.
59 Sabino Angoitia Zahor Chocolates 17'45"
60 Jesus Guzman Dormilon-Campagnolo s.t.
61 Stefan Morjean Hitachi-Marc-Splendor s.t.
62 Andoni Balboa KAS s.t.
63 Jesus Hernandez Reynolds s.t.
64 Philippe Christiaens Hitachi-Marc-Splendor s.t.
65 Frédéric Brun Peugeot-Shell s.t.
66 Juan Martinez or Jesus Martinez s.t.