BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Cycling's World Championships: The Inside Story Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour de l'Eurométropole (1HC), Belgium

Formerly Circuit Franco-Belge

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Tour de l'Eurométropole was a professional stage race (2014) held late in the season on the Belgian-France frontier. Recent editions have had four stages held over four days. In 2016 ir became a single-day race,

First run in 1924 (that edition was won by Julien Perrain), it has been held continuously with the exception of the years 1940-1954 and 1968.

It was an amateur race from 1980 through 1995

The race's original name was Circuit Franco-Belge, but in 2011 it was renamed Tour de Wallonie-Picardie. That didn't last long and in 2012 it was given the title Tour de l'Eurométropole.

In 2005 the UCI classed it a 2.1 race and made it part of the UCI Europe Tour.

In 2016 it was classed 1.1 and in 2017 it was upgraded to "HC"

Complete modern professional podium history:

Year 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Distance Average
1996 Koos Moerenhout Mac Streel Frank Høj    
1997 Mario Aerts
12hr 41min 14sec
Hans de Clercq
@ 1min 23sec
Geert van Bondt
@ 1min 26sec
534 km 42.090
1998 Frank Høj
12hr 48min 27sec
Koen Beeckman
@ 32sec
Gzregorz Gwiazdowski
@ 1min 40sec
520 km 41.382
1999 Tayeb Braikia
11hr 55min 23sec
Bert Roesems
@ 18sec
Andreas Klier
@ 41sec
513.9 km 43.101
2000 Daniele Nardello
12hr 12min 48sec
Thierry Marichal
@ 37sec
Sylvain Chavanel
@ 3min 23sec
526.6 km 43.116
2001 Chris Peers
17hr 0min 13sec
Jacky Durand
@ 16sec
Remco Van der Ven
@ 2min 55sec
718 km 42.226
2002 Robbie McEwen
16hr 59min 29sec
Tom Boonen
@ 2sec
Christoph Von Kleinsorgen
@ 14sec
736 km 43.316
2003 Gerben Löwik
16hr 39min 48sec
Nico Mattan
@ 24sec
Dave Bruylandts
@ 34sec
734.2 km 44.061
2004 Jimmy Casper
17hr 19min 22sec
Steven de Jongh
@ 4sec
Nico Mattan
@ 15sec
713.4 km 41.183
2005 Marco Zanotti
17hr 17min 26sec
Jimmy Casper
@ 3sec
Sébastien Hinault
@ 4sec
724 km 41.873
2006 Kevin van Impe
16hr 24min 53sec
Danilo Hondo
@ 13sec
Olivier Kaisen
@ 15sec
690.8 km 42.084
2007 Gert Steegmans
16hr 58min 0sec
Mark Cavendish
@ 4sec
Philippe Gilbert
@ 14sec
738.8 km 43.544
2008 Juan Antonio Flecha
16hr 50min 49sec
Sébastien Rosseler
@ 12sec
Jürgen Roelandts
@ 18sec
736.4 km 43.711
2009 Tyler Farrar
18hr 27min 33sec
Tom Boonen
@ 8sec
Roger Hammond
@ 14sec
2010 Adam Blythe
15hr 37min 19sec
Sep Vanmarcke
@ 6sec
Jakob Fuglsang
@ 7sec
687.5 km 44.009
2011 Robbie McEwen
14hr 43min 44sec
Tom Veelers
@ 5sec
Christopher Sutton
@ s.t.
661.1 km 44.885
2012 Jurgen Roelandts
15hr 31min 48sec
Juan Antonio Flecha
@ 17sec
Guillaume van Keirsbulck
@ 19sec
671.8 km 43.258
2013 Jens Debusschere
15hr 39min 4sec
John Degenkolb
@ s.t.
Tyler Farrar
@ 9sec
683.3 km 43.786
2014 Arnaud Demare
15hr 5min 41sec
Jens Debusschere
@ 16sec
Theo Bos
@ s.t.
688.3 km 45.559
2015 Alexis Gougeard
15hr 31min 19sec
Martijn Keizer
@ 7sec
Jurgen Roelandts
@ 11sec
695 km 44.775
2016 Dylan Groenewegen
4hr 12min 55sec
Oliver Naesen
@ s.t.
Tom Boonen
@ s.t.
195.6 km 46.403 km/hr
2017 Daniel McLay
4hr 20min 20sec
Kenny Dehaes
@ s.t.
Anthony Turgis
@ s.t.
188.6 km 43.467 km/hr
2018 Mads Pedersen
4hr 57min 8sec
Jean-Pierre Drucker
@ s.t.
Oliver Naesen
@ s.t.
206 km 41.597 km/hr