BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1978 Giro di Lombardia results
(Tour of Lombardy)

72nd edition: Saturday, October 7, 1978

Giro di Lombardia podium history | 1979 edition | 1977 edition |

149 starters, 31 classified finishers
Milano - Como, 266 km
Winner's average speed: 39.12 km/hr

Francesco in the 1984 Giro

Francesco Moser in the 1984 Giro d'Italia

Complete Results:

  1. Francesco Moser (Sanson) 6hr 48min 0sec
  2. Bernt Johansson (Fiorella-Mocassini-Citroen) s.t.
  3. Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane) s.t.
  4. Wladimiro Panizza (Vibor) s.t.
  5. Alfio Vandi (Magniflex-Torpado) s.t.
  6. Giambattista Baronchelli (SCIC) s.t.
  7. Joop Zoetemelk (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  8. Roberto Ceruti (Mecap-Selle Italia) s.t.
  9. Johan de Muynck (Bianchi-Faema) @ 8sec
  10. Michel Pollentier (Flandria-Velda) @ 3min 10sec
  11. Giuseppe Saronni (SCIC) @ 3min 48sec
  12. Clyde Sefton (Fiorella-Mocassini-Citroen) @ 5min 4sec
  13. Jean Chassang (Renault-Gitane) s.t.
  14. Claudio Corti (Zonca-Santini) s.t.
  15. Giuseppe Perletto (Magniflex-Torpado) s.t.
  16. Sven-Ake Nilsson (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  17. Roberto Visentini (Vibor) s.t.
  18. Franco Conti (Zonca-Santini) s.t.
  19. Stefano D'Arcangelo (Intercontinentale Assicurizioni) s.t.
  20. Jean-Claude Fabbri (Magniflex-Torpado) @ 12min 0sec
  21. Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  22. Godi Schmutz (Willora-Piz Buin) s.t.
  23. Glauco Santoni (Bianchi-Faema) @ 15min 0sec
  24. Dirk Heirweg (Flandira-Velda) @ 15min 20sec
  25. Jean-Raymond Toso (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  26. Bruno Wolfer (Zonca-Santini) s.t.
  27. Antonio D'Alonzo (Gis Gelati) s.t.
  28. Bernard Becaas (Renault-Gitane) s.t.
  29. Régis Ovion (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  30. Robert Alban (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  31. Bernard Vallet (Miko-Mercier) s.t.