BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1938 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

28th edition: Sunday, May 11, 1938

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1939 edition | 1937 edition |

105 starters, 50 classified finishers.

Belgium, 211 km: 37.05 km/hr average speed

A small group was awarded a tie for 7th place.

Alfons Deloor

Alfons Deloor

Complete Results:

  1. Alfons Deloor (Helyett-Hutchinson) 5hr 41min 41sec
  2. Marcel Kint s.t.
  3. Félicien Vervaecke (Labor) s.t.
  4. François Dedonder s.t.
  5. Sylvère Maes (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  6. Jérôme Dufromont (Armor-Dunlop) s.t.
  7. Louis Janssens (F. Plissier-Mercier-Hutchison) s.t.
    Edward Vissers (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
    Louis Hardiquest (De Dion-Bouton) s.t.
    François Demondt s.t.
    Jozef Loopmans s.t.
  8. François Neuville (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  9. Maurice Clautier (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 1min 34sec
  10. Joseph Geets s.t.
  11. Corneil Decoster s.t.
  12. Pierre Mathys s.t.
  13. Albert Ritserveldt (De Dion-Bouton) @ 1min 57sec
  14. François Adam @ 2min 59sec
  15. Albert Gysen s.t.
  16. Théo Pirmez (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  17. Remi Raeyen (Labor) s.t.
  18. Théo van Oppen (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 4min 39sec
  19. Joseph Van Kerckhoven @ 5min 59sec
  20. René Pedroli s.t.
  21. Albert Perikel (De Dion-Bouton) s.t.
  22. Gustaaf Deloor (De Dion-Bouton) s.t.
  23. Karel Tersago (Labor) @ 6min 13sec
  24. Romain Maes (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  25. Lucien Vlaemynck (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  26. Albert Rosseel s.t.
  27. Albert Dubuisson s.t.
  28. Kamiel Beeckman s.t.
  29. Pierre Houbrechts @ 12min 22sec
  30. Frans Spiessens s.t.
  31. Robert van Raepenbusch s.t.
  32. Antoine Loncke s.t.
  33. Cyrille Dubois s.t.
  34. Joseph Dominicus s.t.
  35. Albert Beirnaert s.t.
  36. Albert van Wesemael s.t.
  37. Albert van Herzele s.t.
  38. Eloi Meyvisch s.t.
  39. Corneel Leemans s.t.
  40. Philémon Demeersman s.t.
  41. Arsène Mersch s.t.
  42. Roger Vandendriessche s.t.
  43. Alphonse Rombouts s.t.
  44. Frans Guerinckx s.t.
  45. Frans Binst s.t.
  46. Joseph Devos @ 27min 29sec