BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1936 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

26th edition: Sunday, April 26, 1936

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1937 edition | 1935 edition |

94 starters, 53 classified finishers.

Belgium, 211 km: 36.07 km/hr average speed

A small group was awarded a tie for 14th place.

Albert Beckaert

Albert Beckaert

Complete Results:

  1. Albert Beckaert (Alcyon-Dunlop) 5hr 51min 0sec
  2. Gilbert Levae (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 46sec
  3. Jan-Jozef Horemans (Dossche Sport-Titan) @ 1min 5sec
  4. Antonio Fabris (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 1min 47sec
  5. Eloi Meulenberg (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 3min 6sec
  6. Louis Hardiquest (Di Dion-Bouton) s.t.
  7. Joseph Huts (Colin-Wolber) s.t.
  8. Jérôme France (Birma) s.t.
  9. Raymond Laplume (Delangle-Wolber) s.t.
  10. Arsène Mersch (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  11. René Pédroli (Helyett) @ 3min 53sec
  12. Lode Janssens (Oscar Egg) s.t.
  13. Georges Vandeweghe (Lea) s.t.
  14. Kamiel van Iseghem (La Français-Dunlop-Diamant) s.t.
    Rémy Wynants s.t.
    Adolphe Braeckeveldt s.t.
    Georges Christiaens s.t.
    Pierre Houbrechts (Colin-Wolber) s.t.
    Léopold Gerard s.t.
  15. Camille Muls (Thomann-Dunlop) @ 4min 5sec
  16. Albert Marchand (Helyett) @ 5min 40sec
  17. Henri Kneepkens s.t.
  18. Jean Wauters (Helyett) s.t.
  19. Armand Lambert (Dossche Sport-Titan) s.t.
  20. Constant Struyven @ 5min 52sec
  21. Noël Declercq s.t.
  22. Albert Perikel (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  23. Albert Beernaert s.t.
  24. Ernest Planckaert st.
  25. Louis Treckels @ 7min 5sec
  26. Robert van Grootenbruele (Terrot) @ 7min 30sec
  27. Maurice Croon s.t.
  28. Jean Oyen s.t.
  29. Pierre Lambert @ 7min 55sec
  30. Joseph Lambet @ 8min 34sec
  31. René Vietto (Helyett) s.t.
  32. Constant Capelle s.t.
  33. Frans van Hassel s.t.
  34. Emile Lievens s.t.
  35. Cyrille Sardeur s.t.
  36. François Adam s.t.
  37. Mathieu Cardinaels s.t.
  38. Joseph Palmans s.t.
  39. Joseph Loopmans s.t.
  40. Jules Geens s.t.
  41. André Defoort s.t.
  42. Lucien Verdyck s.t.
  43. Louis Desmet s.t.
  44. Joseph Harnal s.t.
  45. Gabriel Rouozzi s.t.
  46. Jules Coelaert s.t.
  47. Charles Van de Balcke s.t.
  48. Joseph Vanderhagen s.t.