BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1982 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

44th edition, April 7, 1982

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1981 edition | 1983 edition

255 km / 40.80 km/hr
234 starters, 62 classified finishers

Frank Hoste

Winner Frank Hoste

Complete Results

1 Frank Hoste (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) 6hr 15min
2 Eddy Vanhaerens (Safir-Marc) @ 12sec
3 Fons De Wolf (Vermeer-Thijs) s.t.
4 Eddy Planckaert (Splendor-Wickes) s.t.
5 Jan Bogaert (Europ Decor) s.t.
6 Johan Van Der Velde (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
7 Phil Anderson (Peugeot-Shell-Michelin) s.t.
8 Silvano Contini (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
9 Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
10 Gregor Braun (Capri Sonne) s.t.
11 Hans Langerijs (B & S-Elro Snacks) @ 1min 4sec
12 Greg LeMond (Renault-Elf) @ 1min 40sec
13 Stefan Mutter (Puch-Eurotex) s.t.
14 Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot-Shell-Michelin) s.t.
15 René Bittinger (Sem-France Loire-Campagnolo) s.t.
16 John Herety (Coop-Mercier) s.t.
17 Jan Jonkers (Beckers Snacks-Zeisner-Polyfoon) s.t.
18 Sean Kelly (Sem-France Loire-Campagnolo) s.t.
19 Ronny Van Holen (Safir-Marc) s.t.
20 Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (La Redoute-Motobecane) s.t.
21 René Martens (DAF Trucks-Teve Blad) s.t.
22 Roger De Vlaeminck (DAF Trucks-Teve Blad) s.t.
23 Ad Wijnands (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
24 Jonathan Boyer (Sem-France Loire-Campagnolo) @ 2min 33sec
25 Pol Verschuere (Vermeer-Thijs) @ 3min 34sec
26 Wayne Hildred (Mavic-Clemenso) s.t.
27 Patrick Onnockx (Beckers Snacks-Zeisner-Polyfoon) s.t.
28 Ludo Frijns (Boule d'Or-Sunair) @ 5min 9sec
29 Leo Van Thielen (Europ Decor) s.t.
30 Patrick Vermeulen (Masta-Puch-Marc) @ 5min 14sec
31 William Tackaert (DAF Trucks-Teve Blad) s.t.
32 Götz Heine (Kotter's-Bibione) s.t.
33 Valerio Piva (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
34 Marc Goossens (Kotter's-Bibione) s.t.
35 Bert Oosterbosch (DAF Trucks-Teve Blad) s.t.
36 Eric Van De Wiele (Capri Sonne) s.t.
37 Ludo Peeters (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
38 Tommy Prim (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
39 Frédéric Vichot (Coop-Mercier) @ 5min 24sec
40 Beat Breu (Cilo-Aufina) s.t.
41 Eric McKenzie (Capri Sonne) @ 8min 5sec
42 Gerhard Zadrobilek (Puch-Eurotex) s.t.
43 Gottfried 'Gody' Schmutz (Royal-Wrengler) s.t.
44 Bert Pronk (Kotter's-Bibione) s.t.
45 Benny Van Der Auwera (Masta-Puch-Marc) s.t.
46 Jean-Marie Grezet (Cilo-Aufina) s.t.
47 Willem Peeters (Safir-Marc) s.t.
48 Léo Van Vliet (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
49 Erich Maechler (Royal-Wrengler) s.t.
50 Maurice Le Guilloux (Renault-Elf) s.t.
51 Claes Goransson (Coop-Mercier) s.t.
52 Aad Van Den Hoek (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
53 Kim Andersen (Coop-Mercier) s.t.
54 Hubert Linard (Peugeot-Shell-Michelin) s.t.
55 Roger De Cnijf (Vermeer-Thijs) s.t.
56 Régis Clère (Coop-Mercier) s.t.
57 Graham Jones (Peugeot-Shell-Michelin) s.t.
58 Ronan Onghena (Sem-France Loire-Campagnolo) s.t.
59 Alessandro Pozzi (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
60 Gerrie Van Gerwen (DAF Trucks-Teve Blad) s.t.
61 Shane Sutton (Mavic-Clemenso) s.t.
62 Jack Van Hooydonck (Beckers Snacks-Zeisner-Polyfoon) s.t.