BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1973 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

35th edition, April 3, 1973

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1972 edition | 1974 edition

250 km / 39.68 km/hr
191 starters, 57 classified finishers

Eddy Merckx and Frans Verbeeck

Eddy Merckx just outsprinting Frans Verbeeck to win 1973 Ghent-Wevelgem

Complete Results:

1 Eddy Merckx (Molteni) 6hr 18min
2 Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
3 Walter Planckaert (Watney-Maes Pils) @ 55sec
4 Walter Godefroot (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
5 Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
6 Frans Mintjens (Molteni) s.t.
7 Eric Leman (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
8 Roger Rosiers (Bic) s.t.
9 Joseph Abelshausen (Ijsboerk-Bertin) @ 6min 4sec
10 Eddy Peelman (Rokado) s.t.
11 Régis Delépine (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
12 Ronald De Witte (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
13 Englebert Opdebeeck (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
14 Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
15 Cyrille Guimard (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
16 Rik Van Linden (Rokado) s.t.
17 Barry Hoban (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
18 Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck (Rokado) s.t.
19 Joseph Bruyère (Molteni) s.t.
20 Noël Van Clooster (Ijsboerk-Bertin) s.t.
21 Régis Ovion (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
22 August Herijgers (Ijsboerk-Bertin) s.t.
23 Marc Lievens (Molteni) s.t.
24 Jacques De Boever (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
25 Wilfried David (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
26 Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
27 Adriano Passuello (Brooklyn) s.t.
28 Ludo Van Stayen (Watney-Maes Pils) 8'55"
29 Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) 9'55"
30 Dirk Baert (Novy-Romy Pils-Total) 10'10"
31 Johan Van Katwijck (Ijsboerk-Bertin) s.t.
32 Tony Gakens (Hertekamp) 10'35"
33 Georges Claes (Brooklyn) s.t.
34 Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
35 Julien Van Lint (Brooklyn) s.t.
36 José De Cauwer (Sonolor) s.t.
37 Frans Van Looy (Novy-Romy Pils-Total) s.t.
38 Gerry Catteeuw (Ijsboerk-Bertin) s.t.
39 Robert Mintkiewicz (Sonolor) s.t.
40 Alain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
41 Romain Maes (Hertekamp) s.t.
42 Willy Abbeloos (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
43 Franky Ebo (Goldor-Herka) s.t.
44 Adolf Huysmans (Goldor-Herka) s.t.
45 Daniel Verplancke (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
46 Hennie Kuiper (Rokado) s.t.
47 Ronny Vanmarcke (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
48 Charly Rouxel (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
49 Yves Hézard (Sonolor) s.t.
50 Dave Lloyd (TI-Raleigh) 15'10"
51 Dave Watson (TI-Raleigh) 15'20"
52 Jacques-André Hochart (De Kova-Lejeune) 21'10"
53 Bernard Masson (Gitane-Frigecreme) s.t.
54 Harry Van Leeuwen (Canada Dry-Gazelle) s.t.
55 Michel Roques (Sonolor) s.t.
56 Herman Van Der Slagmolen (Flandria-Carpenter-Shimano) s.t.
57 Giovanni Jimenez Ocampo (Hertekamp) s.t.