BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1989 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

56th edition: Sunday, August 27, 1989
Chambéry, France

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1990 edition | 1988 edition |

190 riders started, 42 classified finishers.
259.35 km. Winner's average speed: 38.33 km/hr

Greg LeMonds wins the 1989 World Road Cycling Championships

Greg LeMond wins the 1989 World Road Cycling championships

Complete Results:

  1. Greg LeMond (USA) 6hr 45min 59sec
  2. Dimitri Konyshev (Russia) s.t.
  3. Sean Kelly (Ireland) s.t.
  4. Steven Rooks (Netherlands) s.t.
  5. Thierry Claveyrolat (France) @ 3sec
  6. Laurent Fignon (France) s.t.
  7. Martin Early (Ireland) @ 10sec
  8. Gianni Bugno (Italy) s.t.
  9. Rolf Sorensen (Denmark) s.t.
  10. Claude Criquielion (Belgium) s.t.
  11. Marino Lejaretta (Spain) @ 14sec
  12. Raul Alcala (Mexico) @ 42sec
  13. Steve Bauer (Canada) s.t.
  14. Tony Rominger (Switzerland) s.t.
  15. Erik Breukink (Netherlands) s.t.
  16. Peter Hilse (Germany) s.t.
  17. Camillo Passera (Italy) s.t.
  18. Federico Echave (Spain) s.t.
  19. Charly Mottet (France) s.t.
  20. Pedro Delgado (Spain) @ 46sec
  21. Atle Kvalsvoll (Norway) @ 1min 14sec
  22. Maurizio Fondriest (Italy) s.t.
  23. Emanuele Bombini (Italy) @ 1min 20sec
  24. Andreas Kappes (Germany) s.t.
  25. Gilles Delion (France) s.t.
  26. Hartmut Bölts (Germany) @ 1min 24sec
  27. Eric Caritoux (France) s.t.
  28. Jesus Rodriguez-Magro (Spain) s.t.
  29. Gerhard Zadrobilek (Austria) s.t.
  30. Robert Millar (Great Britain) @ 1min 42sec
  31. Enrique Aja (Spain) s.t.
  32. Luc Roosen (Belgium) s.t.
  33. Mauro Gianetti (Switzerland) @ 2min 24sec
  34. Andrew Hampsten (USA) @ 4min 26sec
  35. Alvaro Pino (Spain) @ 7min 15sec
  36. Thomas Wegmüller (Switzerland) @ 7min 53sec
  37. Piotr Ugrumov (Latvia) @ 8min 31sec
  38. Johnny Weltz (Denmark) @ 10min 51sec
  39. Sammie Moreels (Belgium) @ 12min 11sec
  40. Inaki Gaston (Spain) @ 12min 27sec
  41. Thomas Dürst (Germany) s.t.
  42. Dariusz Kajzer (Germany) s.t.