BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1973 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

40th edition: Sunday, September 2, 1973
Barcelona, Spain

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1974 edition | 1972 edition |

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

87 riders started, 39 classified finishers.
17 laps of 14.623 km totalling 248.6 km. Winner's average speed: 38.11 km/hr

Felice Gimondi

Felice Gimondi racing in 1974

Complete Results:

  1. Felice Gimondi (Italy) 6hr 31min 26sec
  2. Freddy Maertens (Belgium) s.t.
  3. Luis Ocana (Spain) s.t.
  4. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) s.t.
  5. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) @ 1min 46sec
  6. Pedro Torres (Spain) s.t.
  7. Gérard Vianen (Netherlands) s.t.
  8. Herman van Springel (Belgium) s.t.
  9. Roberto Poggiali (Italy) s.t.
  10. Régis Ovion (France) s.t.
  11. Walter Godefroot (Belgium) @ 2min 4sec
  12. Enrico Paolini (Italy) s.t.
  13. Ole Ritter (Denmark) @ 2min 38sec
  14. Franco Bitossi (Italy) s.t.
  15. Martin Emilio "Cochise" Rodriguez (Colombia) s.t.
  16. Antonio Martos (Spain) s.t.
  17. Leif Mortensen (Denmark) s.t.
  18. Vicente Lopez Carril (Spain) @ 3min 48sec
  19. Marcello Bergamo (Italy) @ 5min 9sec
  20. Joaquin Agostinho (Protugal) s.t.
  21. Giancarlo Polidori (Italy) s.t.
  22. Hennie Kuiper (Netherlands) s.t.
  23. Rik van Linden (Belgium) s.t.
  24. Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (France) s.t.
  25. Herculano Oliveira (Protugal) s.t.
  26. Fabrizio Fabbri (Italy) s.t.
  27. Marino Basso (Italy) s.t.
  28. Karl-Heinz Kuster (Germany) s.t.
  29. Jurgen Tschan (Germany) s.t.
  30. Giovanni Battaglin (Italy) s.t.
  31. Roger de Vlaeminck (Belgium) s.t.
  32. Italo Zilioli (Italy) s.t.
  33. José Pesarrodona (Spain) s.t.
  34. Cyrille Guimard (France) s.t.
  35. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  36. Cees Bal (Netherlands) s.t.
  37. Gerben Karstens (Netherlands) s.t.
  38. Jesus Manzaneque (Spain) s.t.
  39. Juan Zurano (Spain) s.t.