BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour of Utah (HC), USA

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Tour of Utah is an American professional stage race currently held in early August.

Starting as the Thanksgiving Points Stage Race, it became the Tour of Utah in 2004 and was given UCI 2.2 classification after the 2006 edition.

Lack of sponsorship caused the 2007 edition to be cancelled.

Starting with the 2011 edition, the Tour of Utah has held a 2.1 status and been part of the UCI America Tour. With that 2.1 classification, Pro Tour teams can complete in the Tour of Utah.

Late in 2014 the UCI promoted the race to "HC" status

The Tour of Utah is decided by accumulated time. The leader gets to wear a yellow jersey.

The raece was not run in 2020 and 2021 bcause of the Covid pandemic.

Tour of Utah operations were licensed to Medalist Sports in 2021. The event was cancelled again for 2022. On December 22, 2021 Medalist Sports stated it is no longer pursuing the return of the tour of Utah.

Complete podium history

Year 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Distance Average
2004 John Osguthorpe Sandy Perrins Allan Butler    
2005 Andrew Bajadali Neil Shirley Burke Swindlehurst    
2006 Scott Moninger Glen Alan Chadwick Jeffry Louder    
2007 Race not held
2008 Jeffry Louder Blake Caldwell Glen Allan Chadwick    
2009 Francisco Mancebo Darren Lill Jeffry Louder    
2010 Levi Leipheimer Francisco Mancebo Ian Boswell    
2011 Levi Leipheimer
15hr 53min 12sec
Sergio Luis Henao
@ 23sec
Janez Brajkovic
@ 45sec
650.1 km 40.921
2012 Johann Tschopp
21hr 26min 32sec
Matthew Busche
@ 43sec
Leopold König 872.5 km 40.69
2013 Tom Danielson
23hr 5min 45sec
Chris Horner
@ 1min 29sec
Janier Acevedo
@ 1min 37sec
944.4 km 40.89
2014 Tom Danielson
30hr 18min 4sec
Chris Horner
@ 52sec
Winner Anacona
@ 1min 43sec
1,212.8 km 40.02
2015 Joseph Dombrowski
28hr 6min 48sec
Michael Woods
@ 50sec
Brent Bookwalter
@ 1min 5sec
1,225 km 41.220
2016 Lachlan David Morton
27hr 12min 49sec
Adrien Costa
@ 1min 9sec
Andrew Talansky
@ 1min 39sec
1,131 km 41.560
2017 Robert Britton
22hr 48min 3sec
Gavin Mannion
@ 22sec
Serghei Tvetcov
@ 32sec
979 km 42.937 km/hr
2018 Sepp Kuss
21hr 41min 12sec
Ben Hermans
@ 2min 9sec
Jack Haig
@ 2min 21sec
863.9 km 39.836 km/hr
2019 Ben Hermans
18hr 46min 9sec
James Piccoli
@ 50sec
Joseph Dombrowski
@ 1min 32sec
757.7 km 40.369 km/hr
2020 Race cancelled because of Covid-19 pandemic
2021 Race cancelled because of Covid-19 pandemic