BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour of Qatar (2.1)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Tour of Qatar is currently (2012) a 6-stage race held in early February. The stages, being run in Qatar, are flat and favor sprinters. The race attracts a mix of top-tier continental teams. The race is organized by ASO which also runs the Tour de France. It was elevated to 2.1 status in 2005.


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

2002 Thorsten Wilhelms
16hr 1min 35sec
Damien Nazon
@ 5sec
Rudi Kemna
@ 14sec
676 km 42.180
2003 Alberto Loddo
15hr 29min 56sec
Olaf Polack
@ s.t.
Jan Svorada
@ 7sec
710 km 45.810
2004 Robert Hunter
17hr 33min 17sec
Robbie McEwen
@ 8sec
Tom Boonen
@ 12sec
822.5 km 46.853
2005 Lars Michaelsen
18hr 30min 6sec
Matti Breschel
@ 1min 14sec
Fabrizio Guidi
@ 1min 28sec
826.5 km 44.671
2006 Tom Boonen
17hr 2min 20sec
Erik Zabel
@ 11sec
Aurélien Clerc
@ 30sec
725 km 42.549
2007 Wilfried Cretskens
15hr 50min 58sec
Tom Boonen
@ 2min 9sec
Steven De Jongh
@ 2min 44sec
715.5 km 45.165
2008 Tom Boonen
15hr 27min 44sec
Steven De Jongh
@ 27sec
Greg Van Avermaet
@ 40sec
712.5 km 46.080
2009 Tom Boonen
12hr 55min 25sec
Heinrich Haussler
@ 8sec
Roger Hammond
@ 10sec
539.5 km 41.745
2010 Wout Mol
15hr 55min 17sec
Geert Steurs
@ 35sec
Tom Boonen
@ 1min 45sec
703.7 km 44.198
2011 Mark Renshaw
15hr 31min 4sec
Heinrich Haussler
@ 8sec
Daniele Bennati
@ 17sec
713.5 km 45.980
2012 Tom Boonen
15hr 42min 14sec
Tyler Farrar
@ 28sec
Juan Antonio Flecha
@ 33sec
727.3 km 46.313
2013 Mark Cavendish
15hr 55min 20sec
Brent Bookwalter
@ 25sec
Taylor Phinney
@ 26sec
732.5 km 46.049
2014 Niki Terpstra
15hr 53min 37sec
Tom Boonen
@ 17sec
Jurgen Roelandts
@ 20sec
714.4 km 44.949
2015 Niki Terpstra
17hr 36min 48sec
Maciej Bodnar
@ 6sec
Alexander Kristoff
@ 12sec
771.6 km 43.808
2016 Mark Cavendish
13hr 47min 23sec
Alexander Kristoff
@ 5sec
Greg van Avermaet
@ 8sec
625 km 45.324 km/hr
2017 Race cancelled