BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2024 Vuelta Ciclista a la Region de Murcia (1.1), Spain

44th edition: Saturday, February 10, 2024

Vuelta a Murcia podium history | 2023 edition | Course map & profile

Alhama de Murcia - Murcia, 198.7 km

Ben O'Connor enjoys his solo win. Photo: Getty Images.

Story of the Giro d'Italia volume 2

Bill and Carol McGann's book The Story of the Giro d'Italia, A Year-by-Year History of the Tour of Italy, Vol 2: 1971 - 2011 is available in print, Kindle eBook and audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at the finish city of Murcia at 1:30 PM, local time: 19C (66F), sunny, with the wind from the west at 27 km/hr (17 mph). There is just a 1% chance of rain.

The race: Here's the report from second place Jan Tratnik's Team Visma | Lease a Bike.

In the first European road race for Team Visma | Lease a Bike, the team proved themselves. On the mountainous course of the Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia, Sepp Kuss, and Tosh van der Sande attacked for a long time. Jan Tratnik came to the front in the closing stages and attacked on the final climb. The Slovenian finished second behind Ben O'Conner, who had escaped earlier.

The first race on European soil got off to a fast start. Soon, the traditional early breakaway appeared, including Van der Sande, who eventually made the podium as the mountain classification winner. The group gained up to six minutes on the peloton before the first categorised climb. On the second and longest climb of the day, the Collado Bermejo, the yellow and black peloton set the pace for the peloton, and the gap was steadily reduced.

In the final kilometres of the Spanish race, Kuss accelerated. He picked up the better climbers in the peloton, including O'Conner, and in no time, the gap to the lead group was closed. This left 13 riders, including Kuss and Van der Sande, heading for the final climb of the day. Just before the climb, O'Conner and Tim Wellens decided to attack, and the rest of the peloton caught Kuss and the rest of the group. It was in this peloton that Tratnik decided to attack on the final climb. He caught Wellens, who O'Conner had dropped, and eventually sprinted to second place.

Sport director Maarten Wynants on today's tactics. "We didn't have a declared favourite. The idea was to make the race hard on the first two climbs and send someone in the early breakaway, which worked. It was unfortunate that Wellens and O'Conner came out of the break at a bad time. Sepp got stuck behind someone's wheel and missed the decisive battle. We then decided to try and push from behind. With Jan, we still had an excellent result, but it could have been better. Congratulations to Mick van Dijke, who was with the best on the last climb and finished ninth.”

"It's a good start to the season”, a delighted Tratnik said. "The second climb was a bit too hard for me. The last climb was much better for me, and I still felt great, which allowed me to make a difference. I'm happy with this performance, and it's nice to start my season like this.”

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Complete results:

198.7 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.971 km/hr

1 Ben O'Connor Decathlon Ag2r La Mondiale 4hr 50min 59sec
2 Jan Tratnik Visma |  Lease a Bike @ 58sec
3 Tim Wellens UAE Team Emirates 0'59"
4 Michal Kwiatkowski INEOS Grenadiers 01'27"
5 Valentin Madouas Groupama-FDJ 01'45"
6 Sergio Andres Higuita Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
7 Alessandro Covi UAE Team Emirates s.t.
8 Steff Cras TotalEnergies s.t.
9 Mick Van Dijke Visma |  Lease a Bike s.t.
10 Gianluca Brambilla Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team s.t.
11 Mark Donovan Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team s.t.
12 Ion Izaguirre Insausti Cofidis s.t.
13 Igor Arrieta UAE Team Emirates s.t.
14 Daniel Felipe Martinez Bora-hansgrohe 01'47"
15 Matteo Trentin Tudor Procycling Team 02'28"
16 Hugo Page Intermarche-Wanty s.t.
17 William Barta Movistar Team s.t.
18 Bob Jungels Bora-hansgrohe 02'32"
19 Antonio Jesus Soto Equipo Kern Pharma 03'06"
20 Joan Bou Company Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
21 Gonzalo Serrano Rodriguez Movistar Team s.t.
22 Andrea Vendrame Decathlon Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
23 Sylvain Moniquet Lotto Dstny s.t.
24 Paul Lapeira Decathlon Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
25 Lewis Askey Groupama-FDJ 06'31"
26 Nicolas Prodhomme Decathlon Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
27 Omar Fraile Matarranz INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
28 Gorka Izagirre Insausti Cofidis 08'04"
29 Cedric Beullens Lotto Dstny 08'51"
30 Arne Marit Intermarche-Wanty s.t.
31 Joel Nicolau Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
32 Gregor Mühlberger Movistar Team s.t.
33 Per Strand Hagenes Visma |  Lease a Bike s.t.
34 Loe Van Belle Visma |  Lease a Bike s.t.
35 Jefferson Cepeda Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
36 Sepp Kuss Visma |  Lease a Bike s.t.
37 Jasper De Buyst Lotto Dstny s.t.
38 Mikel Iturria Segurola Euskaltel-Euskadi 11'47"
39 Xabier Berasategi Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
40 Tobias Ludvigsson Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team s.t.
41 Maximilian Schachmann Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
42 Orluis Alberto Aular Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
43 Alexander Krieger Tudor Procycling Team s.t.
44 Clement Russo Groupama-FDJ s.t.
45 Rémi Cavagna Movistar Team s.t.
46 Mathias Jorgensen Movistar Team s.t.
47 Thomas Gachignard TotalEnergies 11'58"
48 Ben Turner INEOS Grenadiers 12'35"
49 Dries Van Gestel TotalEnergies 13'01"
50 Sacha Prestianni Intermarche-Wanty 13'17"
51 Elias Maris Team Flanders - Baloise s.t.
52 Andrew August INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
53 Luis Angel Mate Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
54 Rubén Fernandez Cofidis s.t.
55 José María García Illes Balears-Arabay s.t.
56 Alezander Hajek Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
57 Ander Okamika Burgos-BH s.t.
58 Axel Mariault Cofidis s.t.
59 Robert Gesink Visma |  Lease a Bike s.t.
60 Jordan Labrosse Decathlon Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
61 Rafal Majka UAE Team Emirates s.t.
62 Enekoitz Azparren Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
63 Olivier Le Gac Groupama-FDJ s.t.
64 Salvatore Puccio INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
65 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team s.t.
66 Jose Manuel Diaz Burgos-BH s.t.
67 Eric Fagundez, Burgos-BH s.t.
68 David De La Cruz Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team s.t.
69 Tosh Van Der Sande Visma |  Lease a Bike 17'59"


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Course map & profile:

2024 Vuelta a Murcia map

2024 Vuelta a Murcia profile

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!