BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2004 Tour of the Mediterranean
(Tour Méditerranéen
Cycliste Professionnel, 2.1)

February 11 - February 15

Tour of the Mediterranean podium history

Sunday, February 15: 5th and Final Stage, La Garde - Toulon Mt. Faron Team Time Trial, 28 km. This team time trial is different. The riders don't get the team time, but their own time, so it should be a free-for-all up Mt. Faron. A side note, Marco Pantani was found dead in his apartment the night before the final stage started. There was a moment of silence before the stage started for the troubled rider.

1. Jorg Jaksche (CSC) 41min 14sec. 37.83 km/hr
2. Ivan Basso (CSC) s.t.
3. Jens Voigt (CSC) @ 41sec
4. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 1min 2sec
5. David Moncoutie (Cofidis) @ 1min 5sec

Final GC after Stage 5: CSC rules the podium!

1. Jorg Jaksche (CSC) 12hr 16min 31sec. 552 km ridden at an average speed of 44.968 km/hr
2. Ivan Baso (CSC) s.t.
3. Jens Voigt (CSC) @ 33sec
4. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 54sec
5. David Moncoutie (Cofidis) @ 1min 5sec
6. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) @ 1min 7sec
7. Laurent Brochard (Ag2r) @ 1min 12sec
8. Bobby Julich (CSC) @ 1min 17sec
9. Sylvain Chavanel (Brioches La Boulangere) @ 1min 18sec
10. Levi Leipheimer (Rabobank) @ 1min 25sec
11. Cyril Dessel (Phonak) @ 1min 31sec
12. Franco Pellizotti (Alessio) s.t.
13. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) @ 1min 48sec
14. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) @ 1min 55sec
15. Alexandre Botcharov (Credit Agricole) @ 2min 9sec
16. Simone Maschiarelli (Vini Caldirola) @ 2min 19sec
17. Sylvain Chavanel (Oktos) @ 2min 21sec
18. Benoit Salmon (Credit Agricole) @ 4min 2sec
19. Dmitroy Fofonov (Cofidis) @ 8min 4sec
20. Giampaolo Cheula (Vini Caldirola) @ 8min 20sec

Saturday, February 14: Stage 4, Greasque - Marignane, 147 km.

1. Mario Cipollini (Domina Vacanze) 3hr 14min 44sec
2. Andrus Aug (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
3. Marco Zanotti (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
4. Aurelien Clerc (Quick Step) s.t.
5. Alexandre Usov (Phonak) s.t.

GC Andrus Aug (Domina Vacanze) s.t. after Stage 4:

1. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) 11hr 35min 3sec
2. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) @ 2sec
3. Sylvain Chavanel (Brioches La Boulangere) s.t.
4. Jens Voigt (CSC) 2 6sec
5. Cyril Dessel (Phonak) s.t.

Friday, February 13: Stage 3, Rousset - Berre l'Etang, 122 km. Cookie beats Don Cipo.

1. Baden Cooke (FDJ) 2hr 17min 9sec
2. Mario Cipollini (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
3. Aurelien Clerc (Quick Step) s.t.
4. Berhnhard Eisel (FDJ) s.t.
5. Marco Zanotti (Vini Caldirola) s.t.

GC after Stage 3:

1. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) 8hr 20min 19sec
2. Sylvain Chavanel (Brioches La Boulangere) @ 2sec
3. Paolo Bettini (quick Step) s.t.
4. Laurent Brochard (Ag2R) s.t.
5. Jens Voigt (CSC) @ 6sec

Thursday, February 12: Stage 2, La Londe Les Maures - Hyers Les Palmiers, 130 km. Four climbs rated Category 1!

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 3hr 16min 40sec
2. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) s.t.
3. Sylvain Chavanel (Brioches La Boulangere) s.t.
4. Oscar Camenzind (Phonak) s.t.
5. Simone Masciarelli (Vini Caldirola) s.t.

GC after Stage 2:

1. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) 6hr 3min 10sec
2. Sylvain Chavanel (Brioches La Boulangere) @ 2sec
3. Paolo Bettini (quick Step) s.t.
4. Laurent Brochard (Ag2R) s.t.
5. Jens Voigt (CSC) @ 6sec

Wednesday, February 11: Stage 1, Le Cannet - Menton, 111 km. This stage starts just east of Monte Carlo and heads west towards Cannes. It heads up into the Maritime Alps, with 4 climbs and a downhill to the finish. Boogerd, Cipollini, Astarloa and Bettini are scheduled to start.

1. Baden Cooke (FDJ) 2hr 46min 36sec
2. Michele Bartoli (CSC) s.t.
3. Laurent Brochard (Ag2R) s.t.
4. Jens Voigt (CSC) s.t.
5. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) s.t.
7. Bobby Julich (CSC) s.t.
74. Mario Cipollini (Domina Vacanze) @ 7min 31sec