BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2002 Tour of the Mediterranean
(Tour Méditerranéen
Cycliste Professionnel, 2.3)

February 13 - February 17

Tour of the Mediterranean podium history

Sunday, February 17: 5th and final stage, Rousset - Marseille, 120 km.

1. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) 2hr 57min 31sec. 40.57 km/hr
2. Mario Cipollini (Aqua Sapone) s.t.
3. Stuart O'Grady (Credit Agricole) s.t.
4. Luca Paolini (Mapei) s.t.
5. Robbie McEwen (Lotto-Adecco) s.t.

Final GC

1. Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) 15hr 18min 13sec. 621 km ridden at an average speed of 40.579 km/hr
2. Paolo Tiralongo (Fassa Bortolo) @ 1min 11sec
3. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 2min 5sec
4. Markus Zberg (Rabobank) @ 2min 12sec
5. Danilo Diluca (Saeco) @ 2min 39sec
6. Eddy Mazzoleni (Tacconi Sport) @ 3min 16sec
7. Guido Trenti (Acqua & Sapone) @ 3min 31sec
8. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) @ 3min 45sec
9. Oscar Camenzind (Phonak) @ 3min 51sec
10. Kevin Hulsmans (Mapei) @ 3min 55sec
11. Laurent Jalabert (CSC Tiscali) @ 3min 56sec
12. Andrey Kashechkin (Domo-Farm Frites) @ 4min 51sec
13. Laurent Brochard (Jean Delatour) @ 5min 24sec
14. Jean Cyril Robin (FDJ) @ 5min 26sec
15. Sylvain Chavanel (Bonjour) @ 5min 28sec
16. Felix Garcia (Bigmat-Auber93) @ 5min 32sec
17. Geert Verheyen (Rabobank) @ 5min 35sec
18. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) @ 5min 47sec
19. Cyril Dessel (Jean Delatour) @ 6min 10sec
20. Roger Beuchat (Phonak) @ 6min 19sec

Saturday, February 16: Stage 4, La Londe les Maures - Toulon Mont Faron (If my pathetic French can be trusted, Mt. Faron averages 8% and the last 3 km is 14 - 16%!), 147 km.

1. Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) 3hr 56min 22sec
2. Paolo Tiralongo (Fassa Bortolo) @ 1min 7sec
3. Denis Lunghi (Colpack) @ 1min 9sec

GC after Stage 4:

1. Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) 12hr 20min 42sec
2. Paolo Tiralongo (Fassa Bortolo) @ 1min 11sec
3. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 2min 5sec

Friday, February 15: Stage 3, Villaneuve Loubet - Hyeres, 153 km.

1. Giovanni Lombardi (Aqua & Sapone) 3hr 21min 43sec
2. Robbie McEwen (Lotto-Adecco) @ 2sec
3. Baden Cooke (FDJ) s.t.

GC after Stage 3

1. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) 8hr 24min 30sec
2. Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
3. Nicola Loda (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.

Thursday, February 14: Stage 2, Bouc Bel Air - Le Cannet, 168 km.

The organizers were having technical problems with the results Thursday. The podium seems to be straightened out now.

1. Mario Cipollini (Aqua Sapone) 4hr 24min 35sec
2. Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) s.t.
3. Gabriele Balducci (Tacconi) s.t.

GC after Stage 2:

1. Alessandro Petacchi (Fassa Bortolo) 5hr 2min 45sec
2. Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
3. Roberto Petito (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.

Wednesday, February 13: Stage 1: Salon-de-Provence - Berre 36 km. Team Time Trial.

1. Fassa Bortolo. GC leader is Michele Bartoli
2. Credit Agricole @ 7sec
3. Mapei @ 10sec