BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2008 Challenge Illes Balears - Volta Ciclista a Mallorca (1.1)

February 10 - February 14

Challenge Illes Balears podium history

The Challenge Illes Balears is a series of five 1.1 races held in early February on the Balearic Islands in the western Mediterranean sea. While each race is an independent 1.1 ranked competition, there is a General Classification for an overall winner as well.


Thursday, February 14: 5th and final stage, Trofeo Calvia (Magaluf - Palmanova), 147.6 km.

1. Gert Steegmans (Quick Step) 3hr 55min 23sec. 37.624 km/hr
2. Tomas Vaitkus (Astana) s.t.
3. Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
4. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) @ 2sec
5. Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) s.t.

Final GC after Stage 5:

1. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 18hr 17min 37sec. 40.511 km/hr average speed over the race's 741.1 km.
2. Aitor Perez (Extremadura) s.t.
3. Haimar Zubeldia (Euskaltel) @ 3sec
4. Alberto Losada (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
5. Yon Bru (Euskaltel) @ 8sec
6. Antonio Colom (Astana) s.t.
7. Jesus Rosendo (Andalucia) s.t.
8. Ezequiel Mosquera (Karpin-Galicia) s.t.
9. Matteo Carrara (Quick Step) s.t.
10. Iban Mayoz (Karpin-Galicia) s.t.
11. Francisco Perez (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
12. Gorka Verdugo (Euskaltel) s.t.
13. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) s.t.
14. Rafael Valls (Selccion Espanola) @ 14sec
15. Javier Moreno (Andalucia) @ 16sec
16. Jose Carrasco (Andalucia) s.t.
17. Benoit Joachin (Astana) @ 34sec
18. Alberto Fernandez (Karpin-Galicia) @ 51sec
19. Eduard Vorganov (Karpin-Galicia) @ 12min 5sec
20. Johnny Hoogerland (Van Vliet) @ 12min 11sec

Wednesday, February 13: Stage 4, Trofeo Soller (Inca - Inca), 162.4 km.

1. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 4hr 24min 17sec. 36.87 km/hr
2. Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) s.t.
3. Maarten Wynants (Quick Step) s.t.
4. Antonio Colom (Astana) s.t.
5. Aitor Galdos (Euskaltel) s.t.

GC after Stage 4:

1. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 14hr 22min 12sec
2. Aitor Perez (Extremadura) s.t.
3. Haimar Zubeldia (Euskatel) @ 3sec
4. Antonio Colom (Astana) s.t.
5. Yon Bru (Euskatel) s.t.

Tuesday, February 12: Stage 3, Trofeo Pollenca (Pollenca - Port d'Alcudia), 168.4 km

1. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) 4hr 59sec. 41.928 km/hr
2. Giovanni Visconti (Quick Step) s.t.
3. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) s.t.
4. Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) s.t.
5. Aitor Perez (Extremadura) s.t.

GC after Stage 3:

1. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 9hr 57min 55sec
2. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
3. Aitor Perez (Extremadura) s.t.
4. Haimar Zubeldia (Euskatel) @ 3sec
5. Yon Bru (Euskaltel) s.t.

Monday, February 11: Stage 2, Trofeo Cala Millor-Cala Bona (Cala Millor - Son Servera), 162.7 km.

1. Graeme Brown (Rabobank) 3hr 53min 52sec. 41.742 km/hr
2. Danis Flahaut (Saunier Duval) s.t.
3. Gert Steegmans (Quick Step) s.t.
4. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) s.t.
5. Jose J. Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.

GC after Stage 2:

1. Graeme Brown (Rabobank) 5hr 56min 56sec.
2. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) s.t.
3. Denis Flahaut (Saunier Duval) s.t.
4. Gert Steegmans (Quick Step) s.t.
5. Jose J. Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.

Sunday, February 10: Stage 1, Trofeo Mallorca (Palma - Palma), 100 km.

1. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) 2hr 3min 4sec
2. Graeme Brown (Rabobank) s.t.
3. Robert Forster (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
4. Geert Steegmans (Quick Step) s.t.
5. Denis Flahaut (Saunier Duval) s.t.