BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2007 Challenge Illes Balears - Volta Ciclista a Mallorca (1.1)

February 11 - February 15

Challenge Illes Balears podium history

The Challenge Illes Balears is a series of five 1.1 races held in early February on the Balearic Islands in the western Mediterranean sea. While each race is an independent 1.1 ranked competition, there is a General Classification for an overall winner as well.


Thursday, February 15: 5th and final stage, Trofeo Calvia (1.1). Magallu - Palmanova, 149.3 km.

1. Unai Etxebarria (Euskaltel) 3hr 57min 45sec.
2. Francisco Jose Ventoso (Saunier Duval) s.t.
3. Murilo Fischer (Liquigas) s.t.
4. David Kopp (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
5. Vicente Reynes (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.

Final omnium series General Classification:

1. Luis Leon Sanchez (Caisse d'Epargne) 17hr 49min 24sec. 708.9 km ridden at an average speed of 39.734 km/hr
2. Vladimir Gusev (Discovery) @ 8sec
3. Ezequiel Mosquera (Karpin-Galicia) s.t.
4. Alberto Fernandez (Saunier Duval) s.t.
5. Vicente Reynes (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 18sec
6. Jose Bonilla (Fuerteventura) s.t.
7. David De La Fuente (Saunier Duval) @ 1min 13sec
8. Pueter Weening (Rabobank) @ 1min 18sec
9. Gustavo Dominguez (Karpin-Galicia) @ 1min 22sec
10. Diego Gallego (Vina Magna) @ 1min 45sec
11. Stijn Devolder (Discovery) @ 2min 8sec
12. Francisco Perez (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 2min 25sec
13. Xabat Ochotorena (Orbea) @ 2min 57sec
14. Jorge Ferrio (Andalucia) @ 3min 6sec
15. Juan Olmo (Andalucia) @ 3min 25sec
16. Joan Llaneras (Seleccion Espanola) @ 4min 33sec
17. Anton Luengo (Euskaltel) @ 4min 51sec
18. Fernando Torres (Extremadura) @ 4min 54sec
19. Juan Carlos Fernandez (Extremadura) @ 5min 30sec
20. Josu Mondelo (Extremadura) @ 5min 41sec

Wednesday, February 14: Stage 4, Trofeo Sóller (1.1), Sóller - Port de Sóller, 164.3 km.

1. Antonio Colom (Astana) 4hr 6min 13sec. 40.037 km/hr.
2. Luis Leon Sanchez (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
3. Alberto Contador (Discovery) s.t.
4. Vicente Reynes (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 13sec
5. Vicenzo Nibali (Liquigas) s.t.

Leading the omnium: Luis Leon Sanchez (Caisse d'Epargne)

Tuesday, February 13: Stage 3, Trofeo Pollença (1.1), Pollença - Mirador des Colomer, 149.6 km.

1. Thomas Dekker (Rabobank) 3hr 55min 43sec. 38.079 km/hr.
2. Vladimer Gusev (Discovery) @ 2sec
3. Alberto Fernández (Saunier Duval) s.t.
4. Ezequiel Mosquera (Karpin) s.t.
5. Luis Leon Sánchez (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 7sec

Leading the Omnium: Ezequiel Mosquera (Karpin)

Monday, February 12: Stage 2, Trofeo Cala Millor - Cala Bona (1.1), 159.4 km.

1. Vicente Reynes (Caisse d'Epargne) 3hr 52min 28sec. 41.2 km/hr
2. José Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
3. Tomas Vaitkus (Discovery) s.t.
4. Marcel Sieberg (Milram) s.t.
5. Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) s.t.

Leading after Stage 2: Jose Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne)

Sunday, February 11: Trofeo Mallorca (1.1), Palma - Palma, 100 km.

1. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) 1hr 57min 8sec
2. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
3. Guennadi Mikhailov (Astana) s.t.
4. Koldo Fernandez (Euskaltel) s.t.
5. Enrico Gasparotto (Liquigas) s.t.