BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2006 Challenge Illes Balears - Volta Ciclista a Mallorca (1.1)

February 5 - February 9

Challenge Illes Balears podium history

The Challenge Illes Balears is a series of five 1.1 races held in early February on the Balearic Islands in the western Mediterranean sea. While each race is an independent 1.1 ranked competition, there is a General Classification for an overall winner as well.


Thursday, February 9: 5th and final race, Trofeo Calvia, 149.3 km.

1. David Kopp (Gerolsteiner) 3hr 50min 11sec
2. Lorenzo Bernucci (T-Mobile) s.t.
3. Inaki Isasi (Euskaltel) s.t.
4. Julian Sanchez (Comunidad Valenciana) s.t.
5. Martin Elmiger (Phonak) @ 2sec

Final General Classification:

1. David Bernabeu (Comunidad Valenciana) 17hr 20min 5sec. 707.9 km ridden at an average speed of 40.837 km/hr
2. Antonio Colom (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 7sec
3. Julian Sanchez (Comunidad Valenciana) @ 16sec
4. Koos Morenhout (Phonak) @ 20sec
5. Frank Schleck (CSC) @ 28sec
6. Rodrigo Garcia (Kaiku) @ 31sec
7. Joseba Albizu (Euskaltel) @ 35sec
8. Jorge Azanza (Kaiku) @ 1min 3sec
9. Constantino Zaballa (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 1min 8sec
10. Francisco Cabello (Andalucia) @ 1min 17sec
11. Gorka Verdugo (Euskaltel) s.t.
12. Adolfo Garcia (Andalucia) s.t.
13. Jose Mario Almagro (Relax) s.t.
14. Victor Manuel Garcia (Grupo Nicolas Mateos) @ 1min 21sec
15. Dario David Cioni (liquigas) s.t.
16. Lorenzo Bernucci (T-Mobile) @ 1min 23sec
17. Gerardo Fernandez (Vina Magna) s.t.
18. Jesus Hernandez (Relax) s.t.
19. Jesus Del Nero (3 Molinos) @ 1min 49sec
20. Luis Perez (Andalucia) @ 2min 8sec

Wednesday, February 8: Stage 4, Trofeo Soller, 150.6 km.

Bernabeu leads the series.

1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 3hr 47min 10sec
2. Antonio Colom (Illes Balears) s.t.
3. David Bernabeu (Comunidad Valenciana) s.t.
4. Alejandro Valverde (Illes Balears) @ 25sec
5. Frank Schleck (CSC) s.t.

Tuesday, February 7: Stage 3, Pollença - Mirador Des Colomer, 149,6 Km.

1. David Bernabeau (Comunidad Valenciana) 3hr 47min 24sec
2. Julian Sanchez (Comunidad Valenciana) @ 1sec
3. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) @ 3sec
4. David Munoz (Comunidad Valenciana) s.t.
5. Koos Moerenhout (Phonak) s.t.

Monday, February 6: Stage 2, Trofeo Alcudia, 159.4 km.

1. Isaac Galvez (Illes Balears) 3hr 45min 53sec
2. Robert Forster (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
3. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) s.t.
4. Francesco Cicchi (Quick Step) s.t.
5. Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank) s.t.

Sunday, February 5: Stage 1, Trofeo Mallorca, 100 km.

1. Isaac Galvez (Illes Balears) 2hr 9min 17sec
2. Martin Elmiger (Phonak) s.t.
3. Heinrich Haussler (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
4. Javier Benitez (Grupo Nicolas Mateo) s.t.
5. Koldo Fernandez (Euskaltel) s.t.