BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2004 Challenge Illes Balears - Volta Ciclista a Mallorca (1.3)

February 1 - February 5

Challenge Illes Balears podium history

The Challenge Illes Balears is a series of five 1.1 races held in early February on the Balearic Islands in the western Mediterranean sea. While each race is an independent 1.1 ranked competition, there is a General Classification for an overall winner as well.


Thursday, February 5: Trofeo Calvia, final race of the series, Magaluf - Palmanova, 149.5 km.

1. Unai Etxebarria (Euskaltel) 3hr 44min 2sec
2. Bram De Groot (Rabobank) @ sec
3. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
4. Alejandro Valverde (Kelme) s.t.
5. Jens Voigt (CSC) s.t.

Final overall standing after Trofeo Calvia:

1. Antonio Colom (Illes Balears) 16hr 20min 31sec. 701.2 km ridden at an average speed of 42.475 km/hr.
2. Carlos Garcia (Kelme) s.t.
3. David Blanco (Kelme) s.t.
4. Koldo Gil (Liberty Seguros) @ 4sec
5. Ruben Plaza (Kelme) @ 32sec
6. Ricardo Serrano (Cafes Baque) @ 41sec
7. Luis Pasamontes (Relax) s.t.
8. Aitor Osa (Illes Balears) s.t.
9. Inigo Landeluze (Euskaltel) s.t.
10. Javier Ramirez (Liberty Seguros) @ 1min 6sec
11. Denis Menchov (Illes Balears) @ 1min 35sec
12. Alberto Contador (Liberty Seguros) @ 2min 41sec
13. Ruben Lobato (Saunier Duval) @ 2min 45sec
14. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) @ 3min 24sec
15. Christian Werner (T-Mobile) @ 3min 40sec
16. Gorka Arrizabalaga (Euskaltel) @ 4min 9sec
17. Erik Dekker (Rabobank) @ 5min 27sec
18. Thorwald Veneberg (Rabobank) @ 7min 7sec
19. Jose Angel Gomez (Costa Almeria) @ 7min 33sec
20. Alex Zulle (Phonak) @ 9min

Wednesday, February 4: Trofeo Manacor (1.3), Cala Bona - Manacor, 159.8 km.

1. Allan Davis (Liberty Seguros) 3hr 29min 2sec
2. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) s.t.
3. Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
4. Steven de Jongh (Rabobank) s.t.
5. Carlos Garcia (Kelme) s.t.

Tuesday, February 3: Trofeo Cala Millor (1.3), Soller - Port de Soller, 156 km.

1. Alejandro Valverde (Kelme) 3hr 43min 28sec
2. David Blanco (Kelme) s.t.
3. Ruben Plaza (Kelme) s.t.
4. Antonio Colom (Illes Balears) s.t.
5. Koldo Gil (Liberty Seguros) s.t.

Monday, February 2: Trofeo Alcudia (1.3), Port D'Alcudia - Port D'Alcudia, 159 km.

1. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) 3hr 57min 39sec
2. Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) s.t.
3. Allan Davis (Liberty Siguros) s.t.
4. Sebastian Siedler (Wiesenhof) s.t.
5. James Vanlandschoot (Relax) s.t.

Sunday, February 1: Trofeo Mallorca (1.3), Palma - Palma, 82.5 kilometers, very flat.

1. Allan Davis (Liberty Siguros) 1 hr 35min 48sec
2. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
3. Erik Zabel (T-Mobil) s.t.
4. Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
5. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) s.t.