BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2003 Challenge Illes Balears - Volta Ciclista a Mallorca (1.3)

February 2 - February 6

Challenge Illes Balears podium history

The Challenge Illes Balears is a series of five 1.1 races held in early February on the Balearic Islands in the western Mediterranean sea. While each race is an independent 1.1 ranked competition, there is a General Classification for an overall winner as well.


Thursday, February 6: 5th and final race: Trofeo Calvia (Magluf - Palmanova), 149.4 km.

1. Remmert Wielinga (Rabobank) 3hr 55min 55sec
2. Gorka Gonzalez (Euskaltel) s.t.
3. Juan Antonio Flecha (ibanesto) @ 1min 18sec
4. Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner) @ 1min 52sec

Final General Classification, which carries no UCI points.

1. Alejandro Valverde (Kelme) 18hr 10min 7sec. 735.2 km ridden at an average speed of 40.465 km/hr
2. Joaquin Rodriguez (ONCE) s.t.
3. Francisco Cabello (Kelme) s.t.
4. Jose Ivan Gutierrez (iBanesto) s.t.
5. Francisco Perez (Milaneza) s.t.
6. Vicente Reynes (LA Pecol) @ 2min 31sec
7. Xavier Florencio (ONCE) s.t.
8. Gerhard Trampusch (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
9. Jose Cayetano (Kelme) @ 3min 6sec
10. Francisco Jose Lara (Coast) @ 3min 9sec
11. Gorka Gerrikagoitia (Euskaltel) s.t.
12. David Bernadeu (Milaneza) s.t.
13. Ivan Ramiro Parra (Kelme) @ 3min 52sec
14. Domingo Segado (Paternina) @ 4min 58sec
15. Patrik Sinkewitz (Quick Step) @ 5min 40sec
16. Luis Pasamontes (Colchon Relax) @ 7min 25sec
17. Miguel Martinez (Phonak) @ 7min 30sec
18. David Munoz (Kelme) @ 8min 8sec
19. Rafael Casero (Paternina) @ 8min 36sec
20. Alberto Contador (ONCE) @ 11min 27sec

Wednesday, February 5: Race 4, Manacor - Porto Cristo, 166 km.

1. Isaac Galvez (Kelme) 3hr 33min 56sec
2. Fabrizio Guidi (Coast) @ 1sec
3. Erik Zabel (Telekom) s.t.

Overall leader is Erik Zabel

Tuesday, February 4: Race 3, Trofeo Alcudia (Port d'Alcudia - Port d'Alcudia), 169.5 km.

1. Allan Davis (ONCE) 4hr 28min 15sec
2. Erik Zabel (Telekom) s.t.
3. Gerben Lowik (Bankgiroloterij) s.t.
4. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) s.t.
5. Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner) s.t.

Leader in the overal competition is Allan Davis.

Monday, February 3: Race 2, Trofeo Cala Millor (Cala Bona - Cala Rajada) 164.5 km.

1. Alexandre Usov (Phonak) 4hr 15min 34sec
2. Isaac Galvez (Kelme) s.t.
3. Erik Zabel (Telekom) s.t.

Sunday, February 2: Race 1, Trofeo Mallorca (Palma Mallorca Circuit Race, 82 km).

1. Isaac Galvez (Kelme) 1hr 35min 3sec
2. Allan Davis (ONCE) s.t.
3. Alejandro Valverde (Kelme) s.t.