BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour of California (HC)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Tour of California was held in February for its first 4 years. The UCI changed it to May for 2010, which causes it to conflict with the Giro d'Italia.

The move to May allows the Tour of California to avoid the worst of the state's rainy season. With the Giro d'Italia now an exhausting race as difficult to complete as the Tour de France, the Tour of California has become attractive as a training race for Tour de France hopefuls.

Initially ranked as a 2.1 race, the Tour of California was upgraded to HC starting for the 2007 edition. In 2017 it became part of the World Tour.

The Tour of California is currently (2018) a 7-day race and is sponsored by Amgen

Tour of California Women's Race


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

2006 Floyd Landis
22hr 46min 46sec
David Zabriskie
@ 29sec
Bobby Julich
@ 34sec
959.6 km 42.125
2007 Levi Leipheimer
24hr 57min 24sec
Jens Voigt
@ 21sec
Jason McCartney
@ 54sec
1,031.7 km 41.339
2008 Levi Leipheimer
29hr 24min 32sec
David Millar
@ 49sec
Christian Vande Velde
@ 1min 8sec
1,072.5 km 36.468
2009 Levi Leipheimer
31hr 28min 21sec
David Zabriskie
@ 36sec
Michael Rogers
@ 45sec
1,256.7 km 39.930
2010 Michael Rogers
33hr 8min 30sec
David Zabriskie
@ 9sec
Levi Leipheimer
@ 25sec
1,303.8 km 39.339
2011 Christopher Horner
23hr 46min 41sec
Levi Leipheimer
@ 38sec
Tom Danielson
@ 2min 45sec
945 km 39.743
2012 Robert Gesink
30hr 42min 32sec
David Zabriskie
@ 46sec
Thomas Danielson
@ 54sec
1,184.1 km 38.56
2013 Tejay Van Gerderen
29hr 43min 0sec
Michael Rogers
@ 1min 47sec
Janier Acevedo
@ 3min 26sec
1171.3 km 39.42
2014 Bradley Wiggins
28hr 22min 5sec
Rohan Dennis
@ 30sec
Lawson Craddock
@ 1min 48sec
1,155.6 km 40.71
2015 Peter Sagan
28hr 13min 12sec
Julian Alaphilippe
@ 3sec
Sergio Henao
@ 37sec
1,140.3 km 40.43
2016 Julian Alaphilippe
31hr 47min 50sec
Rohan Dennis
@ 21sec
Brent Bookwalter
@ 43sec
1,253 km 39.431
2017 George Bennett
22hr 54min 38sec
Rafal Majka
@ 35sec
Andrew Talansky
@ 36sec
921.9 km 40.239 km/hr
2018 Egan Bernal
25hr 34min 19sec
Tejay van Garderen
@ 1min 25sec
Daniel Martinez
@ 2min 14sec
1,039.2 km 40.629 km/hr
2019 Tadej Pogacar
32hr 55min 12sec
Sergio Higuita
@ 16sec
Kasper Asgreen
@ 17sec
1,253.0 km 38.059 km/hr