BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2016 Tre Valli Varesine (HC), Italy

96th edition: Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Tre Valli Varesine podium history | 2015 edition | 2017 edition | Course map

Saronno - Varese, 192.9 kilometers

Sonny Colbrelli

Sonny Colbrelli wins the 2016 Tre Valli Varesine

The race: Winner Sonny Colbrelli's Bardiani-CSF team sent me this news:

Bardiani-CSF doesn't want to stop - The #GreenTeam and its stronger rider Sonny Colbrelli have won today Tre Valli Varesine, the fourth success in 15 days. Colbrelli won the small group sprint leaving behind Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) and Gavazzi (Androni-Sidermec). Besides this race, he won also the Trittico Lombardo challenge which includes Coppa Bernocchi and Coppa Agostoni.

“This is the most important victory of the season” said Sonny. “Heavy race and five stars contenders have made this race really hard. Two years ago I got very close to winning it, today I had my payback thanks to a great support of my team and a great team director, who managed the race in the best way”.

“Since the first kilometers we understood it should be a hard race. At five laps to the finish, few attacks opened the fire and race rhythm increased. Final action of Uran has been decisive. I followed him with Ulissi and Gavazzi, saved much energy as possible and waited for the sprints. Everything was perfect”.

Colbrelli has taken today its seventh success in 2016, personal record on wins in a single season. His success in five years as professional are now 16. For Bardiani-CSF is the victory number 13 in the season.

“I want to dedicate my win to the team and to Reverberi family. They have a big merit If I achieved this level of performances. It was not an easy choice change team next year, because I feel this group like a family, but I had a big chance to make a new quality step in my career”.

“Any chances to be part of Italian team at Qatar World Champ? Honestly, I did my best to persuade CT Cassani and I don’t want to think too much about this right now. If I’ll receive a call, I’ll be super-happy and proud to wear the Italian team. If not, I’ll be the first supporter”.

Complete Results:

192.9 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.146 km/hr

1 Sonny Colbrelli Bardiani CSF 4hr 48min 18sec
2 Diego Ulissi Lampre-Merida s.t.
3 Francesco Gavazzi Androni Giocattoli s.t.
4 Tom Jelte Slagter Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
5 Giovanni Visconti Movistar s.t.
6 Philippe Gilbert BMC s.t.
7 Jens Keukeleire Orica-BikeExchange s.t.
8 Gianluca Brambilla Italy s.t.
9 Fabio Aru Astana s.t.
10 Kristian Sbaragli Dimension Data s.t.
11 Franco Pellizotti Androni Giocattoli s.t.
12 Sébastien Reichenbach FDJ s.t.
13 Daniel Martínez Wilier Triestina s.t.
14 Kenny Elissonde FDJ @ 3sec
15 Rigoberto Urán Cannondale-Drapac +4''
16 Davide Villella Cannondale-Drapac +13''
17 Magnus Cort Orica-BikeExchange +16''
18 Enrico Barbin Bardiani CSF s.t.
19 Tanel Kangert Astana s.t.
20 Mauro Finetto Unieuro s.t.
21 Rasmus Guldhammer Stölting s.t.
22 Manuele Mori Lampre-Merida s.t.
23 Ángel Madrazo Caja Rural s.t.
24 Diego Rosa Astana s.t.
25 Warren Barguil Giant - Alpecin s.t.
26 Igor Antón Dimension Data s.t.
27 Davide Rebellin CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
28 Anthony Roux FDJ s.t.
29 Thomas Sprengers Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
30 Pello Bilbao Caja Rural s.t.
31 Sam Oomen Giant - Alpecin +19''
32 Richard Carapaz Movistar +23''
33 Preben Van Hecke Topsport Vlaanderen +36''
34 Simone Velasco Bardiani CSF s.t.
35 Floris De Tier Topsport Vlaanderen s.t.
36 Sergio Pardilla Caja Rural s.t.
37 Sergey Firsanov Gazprom RusVelo s.t.
38 Edoardo Zardini Bardiani CSF s.t.
39 Lorenzo Rota Bardiani CSF s.t.
40 Michael Woods Cannondale-Drapac +41''
41 Maciej Paterski CCC Sprandi Polkowice +44''
42 Matti Breschel Cannondale-Drapac +1' 02''
43 Quentin Pacher Delko Marseille Provence +1' 07''
44 Kanstantsin Siutsou Dimension Data s.t.
45 Rémy Di Gregorio Delko Marseille Provence +1' 12''
46 Marco Tecchio Unieuro s.t.
47 Alessandro De Marchi BMC +1' 20''
48 Cristián Rodríguez Wilier Triestina s.t.
49 Filippo Pozzato Wilier Triestina s.t.
50 Damiano Caruso BMC +1' 35''
51 Michele Gazzara Norda-MG.Kvis s.t.
52 Vincenzo Nibali Astana s.t.
53 Tobias Ludvigsson Giant - Alpecin s.t.
54 Simone Ponzi CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
55 Amets Txurruka Orica-BikeExchange s.t.
56 Jesper Hansen Tinkoff s.t.
57 Alberto Nardin Androni Giocattoli s.t.
58 Jack Haig Orica-BikeExchange s.t.
59 Daniele Bennati Tinkoff s.t.
60 Przemyslaw Niemiec Lampre-Merida s.t.
61 Paul Voß BORA - ARGON 18 s.t.
62 Simone Petilli Lampre-Merida s.t.
63 Fausto Masnada Lampre-Merida s.t.
64 Damiano Cunego Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
65 Gianfranco Zilioli Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
66 Fabian Wegmann Stölting +1' 52''
67 Pawel Poljanski Tinkoff s.t.
68 Adrian Honkisz CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
69 Rafael Andriato Wilier Triestina +2' 34''
70 Manuel Belletti Wilier Triestina s.t.
71 Romain Combaud Delko Marseille Provence s.t.
72 Jérémy Roy FDJ s.t.
73 Rubén Plaza Orica-BikeExchange +2' 35''
74 Jakob Fuglsang Astana s.t.
75 Kristijan Ðurasek Lampre-Merida s.t.
76 Ricardo Vilela Caja Rural +2' 55''
77 Michael Schär BMC +3' 28''
78 Manuel Senni BMC s.t.
79 Francesco Bongiorno Bardiani CSF s.t.
80 Salvatore Puccio Italy s.t.
81 Matteo Fabbro Italy s.t.
82 Jon Irisarri Caja Rural s.t.

2016 Tre Valli Varesine map:

There are 9 laps of a 12.8 km circuit after the riders reach Varese.

Tre Valli Varesine