BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Tre Valli Varesine (HC), Italy

94th edition: Thursday, September 18, 2014

Tre Valli Varesine podium history | 2015 edition | 2014 Tre Valli Varesine photos |

Luino - Varese, 208 km

Michael Albasini wins 2014 Tre Valli Varesine

Michael Albasini beats Sonny Colbrelli to win the 2014 Tre Valli Varesine. Photo ©Sirotti

The Race: It was an aggressive day of racing on streets made slippery with rain. Crashes took down several riders, including Tour de France Champion Vicenzo Nibali.

Cycling Heroes: The Golden Years

The day's break was absorbed late in the race, but then six riders got away, only to also be caught. Enrico Gasparotto, who later fell, initiated the winning move that grew to eleven riders before crashes reduced their number.

From that move Bardiani rider Sonny Colbrelli jumped for the line, but Michael Albasini was able to get by the Italian sprinter to win the race.

Albasini had this to say after the race, “I’m super happy to win one of these important and well-respected Italian one-day races – and on top of that, the closest one to our base. The team rode perfectly all day and I’m happy to get a big morale boost leading into the worlds.

“It was a very tough race with proper bad weather at the end but we stuck to our plan and that worked out really well. We did a bit of work early on to pull back the first, big break-away group,” Albasini explained. “Then we had Christian Meier perfectly placed in the counter attack that went when they got caught. That meant the rest of us could save our legs a little for the final. It came down to a big attack by (Enrico) Gasparotto on the last climb. That split the group completely and I managed to get into an 11-man break that it created.”

“I knew this was the winning break as no one was pulling properly behind us and I tried to keep calm as my eyes were on the sprint,” Albasini said. “(Filippo) Pozzato (LAM) was in the group too and I mainly focused on him coming into the last kilometres. There were a few crashes coming into the last stretch and I was worried about opening to the sprint too early. Two riders went with 300 metres to go and I managed to close the gap and open my sprint very late.

“The road was so wet that I was even too scared to raise my arms as I crossed the line first!”

2014 Tre Valli Varesine photos |

Complete Results:

Winner's average speed: 39.663 km/hr

1 Michael Albasini Orica-GreenEdge 5hr 14min 39sec
2 Sonny Colbrelli Bardiani-CSF
3 Filippo Pozzato Lampre-Merida
4 Davide Rebellin CCC Polsat Polkowice
5 Damiano Caruso Cannondale
6 Mauro Finetto Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
7 Kristijan Durasek Lampre-Merida @ 4 seconds
8 Edoardo Zardini Bardiani-CSF 7"
9 Enrico Gasparotto Astana 22"
10 Antonio Parrinello Androni Giocattoli +1:23
11 Gregor Muhlberger NetApp-Endura +1:25
12 Maciej Paterski CCC Polsat Polkowice
13 Michel Kreder Wanty-Groupe Gobert
14 Gian Marco Di Francesco Vega-Hotsand
15 Jan Polanc Lampre-Merida
16 Marco Minnaard Wanty-Groupe Gobert
17 Karel Hnik MTN-Qhubeka
18 Eliot Lietaer Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
19 Patrick Konrad NetApp-Endura
20 Simone Petilli Area Zero
21 Rodolfo Andres Torres 
22 Miguel Angel Benito Diez Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
23 Simone Ponzi Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
24 Enrico Battaglin Bardiani-CSF
25 Ivan Santaromita Orica-GreenEdge
26 Eduardo Sepulveda Bretagne-Séché Environnement
27 Tiago Machado NetApp-Endura
28 Dennis Van Niekerk MTN-Qhubeka
29 Bartosz Huzarski NetApp-Endura
30 Giovanni Visconti Italy +1:30
31 Jens Keukeleire Orica-GreenEdge +1:34
32 Francesco Failli Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo +1:57
33 Davide Vigano Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
34 Sergei Pomoshnikov RusVelo +2:21
35 Kiryll Pozdnyakov RusVelo +2:21
36 Kevin Seeldraeyers Wanty-Groupe Gobert
37 Frederik Backaert Wanty-Groupe Gobert
38 José Joao Pimenta Costa Mendes NetApp-Endura
39 Paolo Longo Borghini Cannondale
40 Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo Colombia +2:56
41 Preben Van Hecke Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
42 Sergey Lagutin RusVelo
43 Andrea Pasqualon Area Zero
44 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez Colombia
45 Brice Feillu Bretagne-Séché Environnement +3:23
46 Cesare Ciommi Vega-Hotsand
47 Franco Pellizotti Androni Giocattoli
48 Andrea Vaccher Marchil-Emisfero
49 Pieter Weening Orica-GreenEdge +4:00
50 Antonio Molina Caja Rural-Seguros RGA +5:48
51 Angel Madrazo Ruiz Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
52 Marcos Garcia Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
53 Vegard Stake Laengen Bretagne-Séché Environnement
54 Anthony Delaplace Bretagne-Séché Environnement
55 Alessio Taliani Androni Giocattoli
56 Fabio Taborre Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
57 Paolo Ciavatta Area Zero
58 Cesare Benedetti NetApp-Endura
59 Ricardo Pichetta Idea
60 Andrei Nechita MG Kvis
61 Alessandro Tonelli
62 Federico Zurlo United Healthcare
63 Francesco Manuel Bongiorno Bardiani-CSF +6:25
64 Leopold Konig NetApp-Endura
65 Simone Antonini Marchil-Emisfero
66 Diego Rosa Androni Giocattoli +7:46
67 Luca Dodi Lampre-Merida
68 Gianluca Mengardo Area Zero
69 Igor Boev RusVelo
70 Mirko Tedeschi Idea
71 Otto Vergaerde Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
72 Fabricio Ferrari Barcelo Caja Rural-Seguros RGA +9:18
73 David De La Cruz Melgarejo NetApp-Endura

2014 Tre Valli Varesine photos:

Ivan Basso

Ivan Basso leads the pack. Photo ©Sirotti

Enrico Gasparotto

Enrico Gasparotto. Photo ©Sirotti

Simone Ponzi

Simone Ponzi. Photo ©Sirotti

Bruce Feillu

Brice Feillu. Photo ©Sirotti

David de la Cruz

David de la Cruz. Photo ©Sirotti

Filippo Pozatto

Filippo Pozzato. Photo ©Sirotti

Michael Albasini

Michael Albasini timed his sprint perfectly. Photo ©Sirotti

Michael Albasini after the race

Michael Albasini after the race. Photo ©Sirotti

Michael Albasini

Race winner Michael Albasini. Photo ©Sirotti

the podium

The podium, from left: Sonny Colbrelli, Michael Albasini, Filippo Pozatto. Photo ©Sirotti