BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 Sparkassen Münsterland Giro (HC), Germany

13th edition: Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Münsterland Giro podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition | Course map

Coesfeld - Münster, 210.8 km

Max Walscheid

Max Walsheid beats John Degenkolb in Münster.

The race: Here's the report from winner Max Walscheid's Team Sunweb.

Team Sunweb's Max Walscheid (GER) has sprinted to the win at the Sparkassen Münsterland Giro today, after fantastic team work saw him brought into perfect position to finish the team's hard work with the race victory.

After the podium celebrations Walscheid said: "I'm super happy to win one of my favourite races and it means so much to win while I'm in Germany. As a team we were really strong today and we had five riders in the first group after the crosswinds. We kept our nerves and kept the legs quiet to wait for the sprint. We trusted in my ability to win the sprint and in the end I'm super happy to finish it off."

Team Sunweb coach Tom Veelers (NED) added: “The guys all did a great job today. On the crosswind sections the team were really sharp and we ended up with five riders in the front group when the race split. We then focused on preparing for the sprint with Max [Walscheid] and the guys did a brilliant job bringing him into position. Mike, Edward and Max [Kanter] brought him to the front for the last kilometre and from there Max could finish off the team’s hard work to take the win.”

Complete Results:

210.8 kilometers raced at an average speed of 44.811 km/hr

1 WALSCHEID Max Team Sunweb 4hr 42min 15sec
2 DEGENKOLB John Trek-Segafredo s.t.
3 POLITT Nils Katusha-Alpecin s.t.
4 GREIPEL André Lotto-Soudal s.t.
5 ACKERMANN Pascal Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
6 SÉNÉCHAL Florian Quick-Step Floors s.t.
7 KRIEGER Alexander Leopard Pro s.t.
8 VAN GOMPEL Mathias Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
9 SAJNOK Szymon CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
10 CARSTENSEN Lucas Bike Aid s.t.
11 BENNETT Sam Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
12 MEIJERS Jeroen Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
13 RIESEBEEK Oscar Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
14 THEUNS Edward Team Sunweb s.t.
15 TEUNISSEN Mike Team Sunweb s.t.
16 DEBUSSCHERE Jens Lotto-Soudal s.t.
17 STUYVEN Jasper Trek-Segafredo @ 5sec
18 BOASSON HAGEN Edvald Dimension Data s.t.
19 DE KORT Koen Trek-Segafredo 0:17
20 MAES Nikolas Lotto-Soudal 0:21
21 BAK Lars Ytting Lotto-Soudal 0:31
22 SELIG Rüdiger Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
23 REINDERS Elmar Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij 0:52
24 GAVIRIA Fernando Quick-Step Floors s.t.
25 BAŠKA Erik Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
26 PALUTA Michał CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
27 SCHILLINGER Andreas Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
28 GRADEK Kamil CCC Sprandi Polkowice 1:17
29 PFINGSTEN Christoph Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
30 SCHWARZMANN Michael Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
31 KANTER Max Team Sunweb 1:43
32 PEÁK Barnabás Quick-Step Floors 3:03
33 PORSEV Alexander Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
34 MANDRYSCH John Dauner D&DQ | Akkon s.t.
35 VAN RENSBURG Reinardt Dimension Data s.t.
36 VAN ROOY Kenneth Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
37 BACKAERT Frederik Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
38 DE LAAT Jasper Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
39 HUPPERTZ Joshua Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
40 MINNAARD Marco Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
41 VERMOTE Julien Dimension Data s.t.
42 KUREK Adrian CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
43 INKELAAR Kevin Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
44 PLANET Charles Novo Nordisk s.t.
45 DÍAZ José Manuel Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
46 BANASZEK Alan CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
47 VAN POPPEL Boy Trek-Segafredo s.t.
48 SMIT Willie Katusha-Alpecin s.t.
49 TRUSOV Nikolay Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
50 BOEV Igor Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
51 THWAITES Scott Dimension Data s.t.
52 CAVAGNA Rémi Quick-Step Floors s.t.
53 REKITA Szymon Leopard Pro s.t.
54 NARVÁEZ Jhonatan Quick-Step Floors s.t.
55 VAN HECKE Preben Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
56 ZABEL Rick Katusha-Alpecin s.t.
57 KÄMNA Lennard Team Sunweb s.t.
58 NIV Guy Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
59 BIERMANS Jenthe Katusha-Alpecin s.t.
60 MARTIN Tony Katusha-Alpecin 3:09
61 MÜNSTERMANN Per Sauerland NRW 13:15
62 FRAHM Jasper Heizomat Rad-Net.DE s.t.
63 INTRA Felix Sauerland NRW s.t.
64 WESTMATTELMANN Daniel Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
65 BOUHANNI Nacer Cofidis s.t.
66 PERON Andrea Novo Nordisk s.t.
67 HODAPP Johannes Sauerland NRW s.t.
68 KULIKOV Vladislav Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
69 REYNDERS Jens Leopard Pro s.t.
70 THURAU Sven Dauner D&DQ | Akkon s.t.
71 HALLER Patrick Heizomat Rad-Net.DE s.t.
72 VALLÉE Boris Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
73 HENN Luca Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
74 TAEBLING Paul LKT Team Brandenburg s.t.
75 RUTSCH Jonas Lotto-Kern Haus s.t.
76 CURVERS Roy Team Sunweb s.t.
77 PONS Gaetan Leopard Pro s.t.
78 KEISSE Iljo Quick-Step Floors s.t.
79 WARNIER Antoine WB Aqua Protect Veranclassic s.t.
80 SPENGLER Mario Leopard Pro s.t.
81 HEIDERSCHEID Colin Dauner D&DQ | Akkon s.t.
82 BELKOV Maxim Katusha-Alpecin s.t.

Course map:

2018 Munsterland Giro